2008 Chevrolet Malibu

Change Vehicle

2008 Chevrolet Malibu

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2008 Chevrolet Malibu 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$7,375–$16,103

Estimated MPG

17–22 city / 26–30 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

37 out of 52 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 52 reviews

NOT IMPRESSED

by Long time Chevy owner from Washington | June 5, 2014

I bought my Malibu in '08. At first I loved it. Then a couple of years later everything started going wrong. We've had to replace all the lock actuators, there have been several recalls done on the car, the passanger side air bag sensor sometimes works and the sun roof that was installed by the dealership will not open completely and if it does, it wont shut all the way. The front speaker have not worked in months and I've considered cancelling my onstar b/c I can not hear them when I call for directions. I was hoping that I could pass the vehicle to my daughter but now I want nothing more then to be rid of it. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!1

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Worst car I ever owned

by Lemon buyer from Central Ohio | April 6, 2013

My 2008 Malibu LT2 is a lemon and an example of why GM sought a government bail out. Drain from AC dumped into passenger back seat floor board. Rear defroster does not work. Sounds system cuts in and out. Alarm system sounds are so soft you can barely hear them. Service engine light comes on frequently. Loud rattle near front when brakes are applied gently and vibration when braking until 25mph. Brakes and tires have been checked and check fine. No one can find the sound. GM refuses to admit problem. Compass display does not work when it rains--gets stuck in whatever direction you were heading when it started raining. Disappointed in mileage for a 4 cyclinder car. Gets about 27 mpg. I would not recommend this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


probablyfordnexttime

by probablyfordnexttime from wi | January 9, 2013

only 60k miles and already had 3 lock cylinders replaced.car needs both lower ball joints replaced.i just picked up a low beam headlight to replace a faulty one. turns out that the only way you can access the headlight lamp is to REMOVE THE FRONT BUMPER. it will involve 29 screws,bolts or fasteners being removed and the dealer reportedly charges people 300 smackers for the job. what a joke. ford here i come.seats also very uncomfortable on long trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Love Driving Hate the Reliability

by HatemyMalibu from Schoharie, NY | May 7, 2012

I have a 2008 fully loade Malibu LTZ with a V6. It is a super fun car to drive but I have had nothing but problems since the day I bought it. I bought it certified preowned with 43,000 miles on it. Within the first year I have had the following replaced : Tie Rod, both front wheel bearings, steering shaft, tire pressure monitor and all four rotors and all four brakes. I now have owned it for about a year and a half and the door locks won't work on the drivers side the tire pressure monitor is gone on another tire and the tempreature of the engine is now acting up. Future models may be good but stay away from the 2008. Also it is horrible in the snow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Too Much engine for the car

by Golf Driver from Kentucky | March 29, 2012

Love the car's performance, V6-6 Speed. The front end is most appealing (Sporty) the back of the car looks like grandmas car. 23 MPG around town I am guessing I will get around 30 on the Highway. I would buy one again!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


sepisllib

by sepisllib from cresco iowa | February 6, 2012

These are GM approach to glitz. Looks good going down the highway, but by the time you reach 90,000 miles you had better be ready to dish out the bucks to keep it running. This car is NOT a quality vehicle - good mileage but way short on nearly everything else. Poor design interior, no way cup holders function as such.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


The Good, The Bad, the Ugly

by Fastfred from Davenport, IA | January 9, 2012

The good; I have the LTZ model and I must say the looks are great both inside and out. The paint on mine is the red pearl tint coat. The paint looks nice but won’t match if you get chips and try to fix it. Other than that it looks and cleans up great. Nice lines all the way around. The interior is sporty and two tone and “It looks great”. The leather is nice and looks extremely well. The engine has plenty of power and the transmission has two modes. If you want the standard automatic then just drive but if you want some fun and performance then shift to M and have some fun. The BAD: Some little annoyances, No Bluetooth for your phone. The transmission sometimes seems to slip. Some of the rubber/plastic dash parts don’t line up or are warped during hot or cold weather. Only two cup holders in the back and not place for an IPOD or MP3 player. The Ugly: The door locks will go bad. They are electric and cost about $300 each to replace. I have never had one go bad on any other car I have owned except for this model. I would expect this part to last the life of the vehicle. Not so on this model and I am not the only one who had this problem. I researched it and found thousands of owners have the same problem. The steering has the same clunk GM is known for. Nothing serious, but an annoying clunk at slow speeds will drive you crazy and cost you thousands to get rid of if you choose to have it fixed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


no resale

by unhappy trader from | November 11, 2011

enjoyed my malibu but when necessity said I had to trade it back I found out that chevy floods the market with rental cars of this model making trade ins valueless and when you go to the dealership they will offer you less than toyota or ford for your car because they " allready have a lot full of them" after years of chevy it appears to be time to find someone else who will actually stand behind what they sell.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great on the outside but...

by Carl from Columbus, OH | September 28, 2011

The exterior styling is great. I got this car used for 11900 and it is a good car for a to b driving. However, it is still a 4 cylinder and is still an american car. There is no effort on the interior design aspect and and everything is plastic, of course. But... the I-4 engine is THE WORST engine that has ever been shoved into a car. There is absolutly no acceleration and since there is none, you have to mash your foot into the floor to get anyware, ergo it's not very economic, maybe 18 mpg city. For an american car though, it is better than most, just dont buy the 4 cylinder please. Infact, just buy a rwd used bmw or something, you'll be much happier in the end, trust me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


good but not perfect

by Miky from Fort Worth, TX | July 25, 2011

Nice looking car, looks more expansive than it really is Rides comfortably, 6cyl engine performs well. However, turn radius is insufficient, there is no armrest on the back seat, steering wheel is too large. Steering tends to be ackward at low speed in tight turns. Poor visibility especially with the rear window ( when backing up. Visibility is poor in general - not enough glass area, windows are too narrow, pillars to large so are the headrests. I take care 'of my cars and maintain them according to the owner's manual. Yet the ac is giving out on me. Oh well GM the Malibu is a step in the right direction but youre not there quiet yet !!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 52 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Malibu

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.