2012 Chevrolet Malibu

Change Vehicle

2012 Chevrolet Malibu

Available in 6 styles:  2012 Chevrolet Malibu 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$16,550–$18,900

Est. MPG

17–22 city / 26–33 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

24 out of 30 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 30 reviews

Reliable American Made Car LTZ

by Back to the Basics from Atlanta | February 12, 2014

have not owned American for 20 years, until now. Rides way better than Altima, Camry or Sonota. Excellent finish, very quiet, and the LTZ V-6 or turbo 2.0 are peppy, Mine is the 3.6 V6 in 2012 last year they offered it, this engine will run forever, know many people with 150,000+ on their 3.6. Really happy to be back in an American made vehicle and will buy them from now on moving forward

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car

by carguy from Oklahoma | December 21, 2013

We bought a 2012 LT and almost immediately drove from Oklahoma to Cali. Got 32 MPG out and back running 80mph average. It was a smooth, tight and comfortable ride.I love all of the options and Onstar. Will recommend to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Solid !!

by Mississippi Mudd from Virginia | November 13, 2013

Recently purchased a used 2011 Malibu and so far it has met or exceeded expectation. The interior is typical Chevy, so if you like the Chevy ergonomics over the past half-decade or so, the Malibu feels immediately comfy. The back seat borders on cavernous, but may be sacrificing a little trunk volume to achieve it in this size. Styling is unpretentious, with few needless doodads or superfluous gizmos, but some may find it rather a bit bland. Performance and mechanically it is impressive – I wanted this drive-train because it is just a modern iteration of a car I put 210K miles on (with little or no maintenance of than oil-changes, one set of plugs, filters…). Brakes and steering are solid and confidence inspiring – handles nicely, but this isn’t a race car. Fuel mileage is everything I’d hoped for – comes in marginally better than the EPA projections on my 150 mile-a-day commute (50% country roads, 50% DC sit-and-stop stuff) . Normal seems about 32-33mpg traveling as fast as traffic allows, and have seen as high as 38mpg over one stint of pure highway driving. I think 32mpg is a reasonable lower estimate of long-term fuel mileage – based on my experience… It’ll scoot nicely for a 2.4 liter when you punch it, but mostly it’s just a consistent, down-to-earth family sedan so far…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good car!

by driver from | November 9, 2013

We have had no issues with our Malibu, gets good mileage, it's comfortable, quiet enough, I would recommend one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very Happy

by Barnegat Lady from Barnegat, NJ | October 30, 2013

I am we happy with my Chevy Malibu which I purchased through Auto Lenders. They were wonderful to deal with.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


So far, so good

by Pidguy from Hampton, VA | August 24, 2013

Purchased Malibu LTZ sedan used w/ 18K miles. Only had about a month or so. As expected, no issues at all. Ride is smooth, low interior noise. Sound system very nice. Haven't touched the on-star yet. Probably won't. Afraid that the wife is enjoying the Sirius satellite. Probably be baring that monthly expense soon. Engine seems to be running smooth. No issues there. Mileage is as expected for the larger six cylinder. Nice tight construction; doors clunk shut nicely. Trunk is a bit smaller than I'd like, but okay for up to three travelers bags.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


BAD car

by Manufacturer from | June 6, 2013

Purchased 2012 Malibu LT in March 2012 and have been into dealership half a dozen times for moisture on the inside of front windshield, whistling noise on the passenger side door and water residue on the headliner. This car seems to have consistent problems and I have feel I have a Lemon. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR CAUSE YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


WORST vehicle I have owned.

by cvk1127 from greensboro nc | May 28, 2013

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT WASTE your money on a 2011 Malibu! It looks pretty but doesn't drive well at all. it doesn't do well on curves and you have to slam of the breaks for it to stop in a reasonable amount of time. I had mine for 6 months and 2 of the window motors went out, and there was a huge transmission leak. I am trading it in for a more trustworthy and reliable car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Reliable but boring

by Simple cars are better from Grand Forks, ND | May 7, 2013

This Malibu LS (lowest model) is the fist car I have ever purchased. My first car however was my parents 2002 Chevy Cavalier 5 speed manual, coupe, and it was simple (roll down windows manual lock/unlock). At first i thought the Malibu was a great car is has some really neat features: one is that the center arm rest has 2 separate compartments one is perfect for little things and the other for big things, another neat feature is that when your driving at night there are two green lights that light up your center console so you can see everything you need to yet it isn't to bright that it bothers your driving. I also liked how even though i bought the lowest model it still comes with power locks, power windows, xm radio, and an audio jack. However there are a lot of things i do not like about this car. First if your driving and let off the gas and a little later get back on it, it will not engage for atleast a second and then it jolts you back (not smooth at all). Also it is supposed to get 22 mpg town and 33 mpg highway but when i drive it in town even if i really try to drive cautiously i get 21 (which was worse then the 02 cavalier) and when i have taken it on trips averaging 70 mph i only get 30 mpg. Don't get me wrong 30 is good but it isnt what they advertise and that makes me upset. But the two biggest problems i have with the car is that the seats (although said to be really comfortable) are extremely bad even on short trips maybe 8-10 minutes my back aches and on long trips i'm constantly moving in my seat to try and get comfortable and i'm only 20 so its definitely not just me, and the worst of everything is how boring it is to drive. it comes with the option of manual which is not manual at all its just push a button to change the gear. to put it simply its a decent looking car that is sort of cheep both in dealer price (got mine for $18,700) and cost to own, but it is not going to be as good as you expect it to be and your going to wish you bought a different car after about a month of owning it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


I've had worse...

by Car Killer from North East Arkansas | April 19, 2013

Let me start by saying this was a fleet car. I bought it with 20K miles on it. The first thing was hub assemblies. Both of the front ones have been replaced. Which as a long time GM owner is not an uncommon problem. I have put 33K miles on this car in 9 months. It has also had the rack and pinion steering replaced. The dealership would not replace the power steering pump, which was the original problem, so now the new rack is grinding again and will have to be replaced soon. Since the car is out of warranty, I will fix it right this time and see if it will last longer than 5 months. I have noticed the unusual RPM changes that others have trouble with on earlier modles but its not bad enough for me to worry yet. Hopefuly it will not be a big issue later on. Now for the good. I do love to drive this car. It gets good MPG's for a V6. I was getting 32-35 @ 64 mph this morning. It is quick, not a sports car, but good enough for a daily driver. It is comfortable for me, but im not a big person. Im 5'4 and small built, So the getting in a low vehical is no problem. I have had no engine or transmission issues so far. So overall its a good car but like all it does have its quirks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 30 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Chevrolet Malibu.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Malibu

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.