2012 Chevrolet Malibu

Change Vehicle
2012 Chevrolet Malibu
Available in 6 styles:  2012 Chevrolet Malibu 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$11,105–$18,825
Estimated MPG

17–22 city / 26–33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

25 out of 32 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 32 reviews

We love our Chevy Malibu LTZ

by Chevyluver from State College, PA | May 28, 2014

This car is just another awesome chevy period. We have three Malibu's spaning 4 decades. Of course none of the cars are made or look as well as the old models, but this just fits well. The car is easy to work on yourself, if you are handy. The maintenance cost is quite low thus far, but then I am always on top of the maintenance of my cars and know when there may be an issue. The leather holds up pretty well with care. Otherwise definately buy an LTZ model loaded and you should be quite happy. Its not a caddilac, but it is a loaded chevy. Everyone comments on the roominess and the interior styling. Don't wait, just do it. Please do make sure there aren't any recalls on the specific vehicle that haven't been taken care of before purchasing however.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


piece of junk

by concerned from | April 21, 2014

6 speed transmission is terrible. Hard shifts, failure to shifts. Throttle is erratic, extreme hesitation. Air Bags have numerous failure to deploy complaints. Not safe to drive in my option. Don't take my word for it, there are plenty other people out there stating the same things.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Reliable American Made Car LTZ

by Back to the Basics from Atlanta | February 12, 2014

have not owned American for 20 years, until now. Rides way better than Altima, Camry or Sonota. Excellent finish, very quiet, and the LTZ V-6 or turbo 2.0 are peppy, Mine is the 3.6 V6 in 2012 last year they offered it, this engine will run forever, know many people with 150,000+ on their 3.6. Really happy to be back in an American made vehicle and will buy them from now on moving forward

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car

by carguy from Oklahoma | December 21, 2013

We bought a 2012 LT and almost immediately drove from Oklahoma to Cali. Got 32 MPG out and back running 80mph average. It was a smooth, tight and comfortable ride.I love all of the options and Onstar. Will recommend to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Solid !!

by Mississippi Mudd from Virginia | November 13, 2013

Recently purchased a used 2011 Malibu and so far it has met or exceeded expectation. The interior is typical Chevy, so if you like the Chevy ergonomics over the past half-decade or so, the Malibu feels immediately comfy. The back seat borders on cavernous, but may be sacrificing a little trunk volume to achieve it in this size. Styling is unpretentious, with few needless doodads or superfluous gizmos, but some may find it rather a bit bland. Performance and mechanically it is impressive – I wanted this drive-train because it is just a modern iteration of a car I put 210K miles on (with little or no maintenance of than oil-changes, one set of plugs, filters…). Brakes and steering are solid and confidence inspiring – handles nicely, but this isn’t a race car. Fuel mileage is everything I’d hoped for – comes in marginally better than the EPA projections on my 150 mile-a-day commute (50% country roads, 50% DC sit-and-stop stuff) . Normal seems about 32-33mpg traveling as fast as traffic allows, and have seen as high as 38mpg over one stint of pure highway driving. I think 32mpg is a reasonable lower estimate of long-term fuel mileage – based on my experience… It’ll scoot nicely for a 2.4 liter when you punch it, but mostly it’s just a consistent, down-to-earth family sedan so far…

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good car!

by driver from | November 9, 2013

We have had no issues with our Malibu, gets good mileage, it's comfortable, quiet enough, I would recommend one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very Happy

by Barnegat Lady from Barnegat, NJ | October 30, 2013

I am we happy with my Chevy Malibu which I purchased through Auto Lenders. They were wonderful to deal with.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


So far, so good

by Pidguy from Hampton, VA | August 24, 2013

Purchased Malibu LTZ sedan used w/ 18K miles. Only had about a month or so. As expected, no issues at all. Ride is smooth, low interior noise. Sound system very nice. Haven't touched the on-star yet. Probably won't. Afraid that the wife is enjoying the Sirius satellite. Probably be baring that monthly expense soon. Engine seems to be running smooth. No issues there. Mileage is as expected for the larger six cylinder. Nice tight construction; doors clunk shut nicely. Trunk is a bit smaller than I'd like, but okay for up to three travelers bags.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


BAD car

by Manufacturer from | June 6, 2013

Purchased 2012 Malibu LT in March 2012 and have been into dealership half a dozen times for moisture on the inside of front windshield, whistling noise on the passenger side door and water residue on the headliner. This car seems to have consistent problems and I have feel I have a Lemon. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR CAUSE YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


WORST vehicle I have owned.

by cvk1127 from greensboro nc | May 28, 2013

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT WASTE your money on a 2011 Malibu! It looks pretty but doesn't drive well at all. it doesn't do well on curves and you have to slam of the breaks for it to stop in a reasonable amount of time. I had mine for 6 months and 2 of the window motors went out, and there was a huge transmission leak. I am trading it in for a more trustworthy and reliable car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 32 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Chevrolet Malibu.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Malibu

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.