2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Change Vehicle
2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Available in 5 styles:  2006 Chevrolet Monte Carlo 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$4,104–$13,832
Estimated MPG

18–21 city / 28–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

23 out of 28 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 28 reviews

monte carlo SS

by collin from md | April 2, 2014

I have owned an 06 SS for a little over a year now and use it as my every day driver to work puting up to 100 miles on it a day. I have not expierienced any serious issues. The 5.3 liter ls4 provides plenty of power. This car can easily spin wheels at 30 mph with traction control off, and with a cold air intake installed you will see even more power gains. I have heard stories about ls4's in the Impala's and monte carlo's where blowing the transmissions at low mileage but mine is at 55k and I havent noticed any issues yet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


A nice ride

by Monte Carlo fan from Grand Ledge, MI | August 28, 2013

I really enjoy my 2006 Monte Carlo LS. It has a lot of additional features that I was not expecting, such as the computer that calculates your MPG and your fuel range. Plus it is OnStar equipped. The V6 engine has plenty of power as well as great gas mileage. It is a great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Middle of the Pack

by Sensible from Scranton, Pa | June 25, 2013

Chevy redesigned the Monte Carlo for 2006, and I really like what they've done with it. Kept the unique rear end but updated the front with a sportier looking impala front end. Purchased at 57000 miles LT with the 3.9L engine. Interior is very comfortable and ergonomically designed and remained simple. Rear passenger seating is on par with an Impala, sliding passenger seat provides easy back seat access. As far as performance is concerned, the car is very well balanced. I'm sure the SS model would provide a much more exciting experience, but my model with the 3.9L engine has plenty of power for the daily driver. Feels very solidly built. Stiffer drive is to be expected with such a large car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


car runs great

by HAPPY CAR OWNER from NY | March 27, 2013

THE LTZ FUN TO DRIVE AND GOOD ON GAS. A GREAT COMBINATION OF LUXURY AND SPORTY FEEL TO THE CAR. I LOVE IT.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Problem Car

by BC from Slidell La | March 12, 2012

I got my 06 Monte Carlo in 07 used GM certified and has had problems with it every since. power sterring pump will go out the starter went bad the Dual Zone climate control had to get fixed three time, it would only blow cold air, and the Transmission will go out and will not be able to be fixed right no matter were you take it. This will be my 3rd time getting the Trans fixed in this car. Dont beleave me just google this car about the trans. This is the worist car i have ever owned and i would not recommend this car to a dogg Avoid Avoid Avoid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. That also goes for the chevy impala, same powertrain same problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


BEST CARS EVER

by MONTE CARLO, LOVE THEM!1 from TENNESSEE | July 29, 2011

I HAVE OWNED 3 MONTE CARLOS, THEY ARE ALL GREAT, THE 2006 IS A DREAM, ALL THE COMFORT AND SPACE ANYONE COULD ASK FOR. AND IT WILL GET UP AND GO WHEN NECESSARY.... GREAT CARS!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Coupe

by A2 Beep! from Ann Arbor, MI | April 3, 2011

I bought my 2006 Monte Carlo LT as a GM Certified Used vehicle in 2008. I've had it over 3 years now and I've really enjoyed this car. It has the upgraded 3.9L V-6 and I must say it has plenty of power - I would not consider the small-block V8 because the hit in fuel economy outweighs the advantages of the slightly more powerful engine. It's very comfortable for two people (though some passengers have complained the passenger seat is too firm) and the back seat is usable but would not recommend grown adults back there for very long. I really love the heated seats and the dual-climate control (albeit manual) is very useful. The heat and A/C is always powerful. The radio is good for a base factory stereo. The only major repairs engine-wise is the water-pump had to be replaced around 85k miles. My two qualms so far have been (1) when the fan is run on it's lowest setting, a very high-pitched whir/buzz/noise can be heard (especially from the passenger seat) which is very annoying on road trips, and (2) I've had issues with the 4-speed automatic transmission slipping. My dealership has looked at it and they say it's just getting old - replace the fluids. We'll see if that does anything when it's brought in for it's 100k tune-up in the next month or so. With appropriate tires, the big coupe does quite well in winter driving - though I've gotten stuck many times in Lower Michigan (on side roads). I would not recommend this car because it's really not very practical unless you only ever have 2 people in the car (including yourself). The doors have this jack-in-the-box reaction when opened and since it's a coupe the huge heavy doors have pinched quite a few ankles. Also there's just better options from GM, Ford, and all the others nowadays. Regardless - the Monte Carlo was discontinued after the 2007 model year and replaced by the Chevrolet Camaro. My next vehicle will be a small crossover SUV or AWD wagon (Subaru anyone?)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Amazing car!!!!!!!!!!

by monte carlo 101 from | January 1, 2011

This car is amazing i have a 2006 Monte Carlo ss and i wish they kept making it. I will keep this car as long as i live! I would recomend this car to any one that wants a fast comfortable car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great car.

by Dee25157 from Glendale, CA | November 30, 2010

My car was totaled by a drunk driver but while I had it, GREAT GAS MILEAGE, comfortable, nice styling and awesome stereo. I will buy this car again soon enough. Good buy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


REMINDS ME OF YEARS AGO

by SS LS4 5.3 from Minneapolis, MN | October 23, 2010

Drives like a HP Car should. Mileage not bad but with a 300 hp. plus engine WHO CARES. I am 62 years young, every time I get behind the wheel I suddenly am reverted back to when I was 17, driving my '63 Plymouth Street & Strip Belvedere. Without any after market modifications it drive awesome! Great Silver Color, wish it was 2 tone. Too bad they did not use the Holden Platform. At that point it would be a monster, especially with a 6 Liter. GM has my vote but they better get their act together. One issue I do have is the heater controls. It is like when they first came out with the new body Lesabre and the heater controls were too small.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 28 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Monte Carlo

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.