1999 Chevrolet S-10

Change Vehicle
1999 Chevrolet S-10

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 10 styles:  S10 Regular Cab shown
Asking Price Range
$1,212–$8,840
Estimated MPG

17–23 city / 21–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Okay truck

by Dimeowner from Morristown, TN | February 6, 2013

I own a 1999 s10 and it was an okay truck up until about 156,000 miles. By then I had to have a new fan clutch, it was fine for another 4k miles, then had to have a water pump. Drove for another 10k miles then I had to replace my blower motor, my heater coil, AC Relay, and 2 of the 3 switches on the inside of the vehicle, dash is falling apart, drove it another 300 miles and it needs a new fuel pump, drove it for another 3k miles, had to replace my clutch and slave cylinder, drove it another 500 miles and it spun a rod bearing and is going to need a rebuild or new engine. If you need a dependable vehicle with minimal mechanical issues a S-10 is not for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


junk s-10

by 1999chevys-10 from Lincoln, NE | December 3, 2010

I recently test drove this chevy s-10 and it was a piece of S#$%. It rattled, tires were worn out and the engine vibrated when you let off the gas. Driving it on the interstate was a bad idea, it would not accelerate like it should, I would not buy this pickup.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Good value

by Average Driver from Lees Summit, MO. | November 20, 2009

I have the 4.3 liter, 4x4, X-cab. Bought used 7 years ago with 22K miles; now have 95K. Really like the truck, but it's had it's share of problems... Replaced catalytic converter, ball joints, idler arm, water pump, oil cooler lines, left wheel bearing, and the brakes. The float on the fuel gauge is bad but haven't replaced it yet. Oh yeah, the seat adjuster handles for both seats have broken and I'm looking for replacement handles. May sound like a lot of problems, but considering that it's a work truck and I don't baby it, it's not so bad. Runs and drives great, doesn't use oil, and gets good gas mileage (18 city, 22 highway.)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best Truck

by The Bandit from | July 30, 2009

I have owned two s-10's and they were better then any other vehicles I have ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Awesome Truck

by mlsouth from Arkansas | June 14, 2009

I have the 2.2 4 cyl. step side, and it is one of the most reliable vehcles I have ever owned. It has 150,500 miles on it and at least the much more to go.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best truck ever

by JW from KY | May 12, 2009

I have a 1988 s10 2wd i bought when i was 16, i am now 28 and i still have the truck and drive it weekly. it has jus shy of 600,000 miles on it and still has same motor, has never been rebuilt. the trans has been replaced but i have really beat on the truck and hauled stuff that most people would use a 3/4 ton for. i will recommend anyone to buy a s10. they are very much worth the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Gets me to Work on Time Everytime

by Rich from Pittsbugh PA | March 18, 2009

Great truck No issues used for work and side jobs never left me hanging got a smal exhaust prob right now but in 3 years only prob I ever had besides normal maint like brakes and oil changes I run mid grade gas and use castrol gtx Oil Very Depandable!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great first car

by iloves10s from | February 28, 2009

These cars last forever. I've had one for 4 years and never had trouble. They also look great! Great for new drivers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


most terrible vehicle ever

by oguno from og, ms | December 16, 2008

my truck was and probably still is the worst truck evver. that guy hopefully modified it. i would run from the truck if you are looking for one. i know its negative, but oh well i just absolutely hated it...........................................................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


good truck

by john262 from topeka kansas | December 6, 2006

iv had this truck for almost 8 years an has 200,000 miles with little problems . bought it used with 32k for 13 k spent 2k for repair off an on way down the road . its an awesome truck , 4.3 2wd 99

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet S-10

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.