See Also: 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500HD

Change Vehicle

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500HD

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab LS shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,982–$12,354

Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Bought a 2001 in 2013

by Stelcom66 from Vernon, Ct. | October 23, 2013

I Bought a 2001 Silverado with 176k miles on it in September 2013. The radiator was bad, the dealership gave me a new one which I installed. The heater motor only worked on the last 2 settings, I replaced the resistor circuit. Also replaced the ignition cylinder lock that usually would not turn. All of these were not difficult to do. There's a lot of online resources for assistance. I can't really rate reliability accurately since I just bought the truck. I love this truck, it rides great. Compared to other trucks I've had it's hard to believe it's a truck. The engine is the 4.8 V8, it's quiet, smooth and plenty powerful for me. My first gas mileage calculation was 15.7 mpg, very good for a truck this size and age. This truck will only be used occasionally, when a truck is needed but I can see why others would make this their daily driver.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most dependable vehicle I owned

by Josh from Phoenix | July 16, 2013

I have taken this Vehicle from northern Wisconsin to Phoenix, Arizona 4 times in the middle of winter with a trailer. Snow, ice, mountains, wind, rain, mud, dirt roads, anything mother nature has thrown at this vehicle it has handled without causing concern. I average about 17-18 mpg with mostly highway driving with a pick up shell on. It fits 6 adults in a very snug fashion. I'm 6'1" and the back seat is not ideal for long trips. I've filled the bed with rocks, full pallet of concrete, and even used it as a camper. My biggest complaints would be ABS, as on steep down hill descents can be rather scary when you need to slow down and the vehicle thinks you're slipping. I currently have 220,000 miles on mine and have had to repair the A/C once and just recently replaced the water pump and hoses. I'll say I'm not for the little trinkets in vehicles, I am more interested in what my vehicle can do and where it can go. It's not a luxury ride, but you can go pretty much any place you want and bring anything you want with. I have the LT model. Having steel bumpers is a nice as I'm not worried about denting or cracking my front or back end when hitting something. It's a tank. A women hit my truck in a parking lot totaling her little saturn, I had a scuff on the bumper. This truck has driven in 117 degrees to -50 degrees and has never had any issues. No highway complaints and zero off road complaints. I drive the vehicle as I got it, no altercations, no enhancements.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Overall Vehicle

by voice940 from Nebraska, NE | February 15, 2013

I have lots of needs that this truck meets. First of all, I have a 3 year old, and the 4 doors make getting him into and out of the truck a snap. Second, I heat my home with firewood, which I cut myself. The truck does a great job of getting off road, and hauling the loads. And finally, the truck has a great deal of power to haul both my travel trailer for vacationing, and my flatbed to haul demolition derby cars to and from events. This truck comes with a long list of comfort options, and has been a great investment for me and my family.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


ITS SCARY AGAIN !

by ITS SCARY AGAIN !MY from jersey shore | December 25, 2012

My 01 1500 4.8l w/ 208,000 . runs so good , that i just put a $2400 AAMCO transmission in it . A pure "BEAST "

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Love My Chevy Truck

by Constructionpig from Dallas, Texas | December 12, 2012

I got this 2001 Chevrolet truck after my last 2001 Chevrolet truck was wrecked. I hit a 60' tall telephone pole head on at 50mph and suffered no injuries. What sold me on this truck was the CARFAX report I saw that it was a 1 owner and where it got registered every year so i figured it was in pretty good shape. I was right this 11 year old truck is a cream puff and I absolutely love it! Thanks CARFAX

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best Truck on the Road

by Educarated from Philadelphia | January 23, 2012

Between the US big three, you can't beat the reliability of the Silverado. Yes, they all have there maker specific bugs, but the Chevy/GMC have the least of them all. If you are a backyard mechanic you can fix most things on the Chevy. They are engineered to be serviced as well as lasting long. Have owned all of the Big three US and a Toyota and the Chevy is the best.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Chevy Silverado 1500

by mike from South Carolina | December 28, 2011

The Silverado 1500 is probably the world's best overall family vehicle. Every possible comfort option is available and there is not a more reliable mechanical form of transportation available. I love this truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Inherent Engine Woes Common to THis Year Model

by Tacoma Hater from Lee County, Alabama | October 25, 2011

Overall, this truck is what I would expect from a Chevy truck, having owned three of them before buying this used one. My only complaints are with the engine and cheap interior switches. The engine has a piston slap that, from what I have read, is a common malady with the 2000 - 2002 5.3 L engines, because the bean counters had the engineers remove too much piston skirt material to save a few bucks per unit. 2. The plastic intake manifold is a design mistake too, because it warps over time and causes leaks that require new corrective gaskets (the green ones). That should have been a recall issue just as the Pontiac head gaskets were in the past. Also there are fuel control valve issues inherent in this model that I have yet to correct (minor). Overall, it is a Chevy truck, and I am just happy to have one over the 1993 Ford F-150 I just got rid of. I will probably just pull and rebuild the engine and cure all of its ills when I get time, and put better aftermarket parts in it to correct all of GM's design shortcommings.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best Truck

by Mark from Boise,ID | January 9, 2011

Bought this truck used with only 17,000 and now have 116,000. I added ram air and dual exhaust which added power and mileage. I have the 4.8 V8 and it has good power along with decent mileage for truck. Have not had in shop other than routine maintenance. Has a ticking sound when first started but I have heard this is normal for this year. Handles great on snow or bad road conditions. Best truck I have ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


BEST TRUCK EVER

by Jose from Riverside, CA | April 13, 2009

I ACTUALLY HAVE 2 OF THESE ONE IS A WHITE EXTENDED CAB SLT WITH 5.3 ENGINE AND THE LEATHER IS GREAT AND THE OTHER ONE IS A DOUBLE CAB 1500 HD WITH THE 6.0 ENGINE THEY ARE GOOD ON GAS COMPARED TO OTHER TRUCKS THE SAME YEAR I LOVE CHEVY IT IS THE BEST THATS ALL I OWN AND THEY BOTH HAVE A GOOD PAYLOAD THE 1500 HAS A PAYLOAD OF 1800 POUNDS AND THE 1500HD HAS A PAYLOAD OF 3660 POUNDS AND ALSO THE RIDE IS GREAT THEY ARE GREAT HARD WORKING TRUCKS CHEVY RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500HD.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Silverado 1500HD

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.