See Also: 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500HD

Change Vehicle
2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500HD

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD 4x2 Crew Cab 8' box 167" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$5,865–$19,473
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 23 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 23 reviews

Room for improvement

by Rusty in Ky from Cave City. Ky | May 6, 2014

All good except rust and more rust oozing out to many places. GM can do better. Also why can't they make a door hinge that will hold up?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


what a great investment.

by A guy who needs a tough truck. from McEwen, TN | June 28, 2013

This is my second Chevrolet truck and this has been a good one too. It has the 4.3L v6 engine mated to the nv3500 5 speed manual transmission. It got me through schools that ranged from Mooresville, NC to Avondale, AZ and now has 152,000 miles on it and is still daily driven and is used at the dealer where I work to tow broken down cars into the shop to be worked on such as Land Rovers and Jaguars. The V6 is surprisingly powerful enough to do most anything you need (except for heavy towing demands 5000lbs and up). Only had the check engine light on once for the thermostat in all this time. Averages highway at 23mpg and city 17mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Truck

by Truck Owner from Kentucky | November 24, 2012

I own a crew cab Z71 and my dad owns an extended cab 4X4, both have been great trucks, no complaints.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Truck to Own

by GM Man FCB from Dallas | October 9, 2012

I've owned one for 5 years and have had no issues with it. My wife really loves, it too. We can fit the whole family in it and tow our boat to the lake. Nice truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Built Chevrolet Tough

by OUTDOOR GUY from Myakka City, FL | February 6, 2012

2005 Chevy Silverdo 1500 with 141,000 miles, great truck, very dependable and very confortable. Since I have had it has only had 1 issue with the traction control system. Very dependable and powerful for the 5.3L V8. Can't go wrong with it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Solid truck

by haulin trailer from Near Bethlehem, Pa | January 2, 2012

All the power needed to pull trailer and very well built, comfortable and well maintained. Price was reasonable considering the condition, gas mpg are about the same as my 6cyl Dakota that I traded was getting!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Pile of Junk

by NS Homer from Nova Scotia, Canada | November 4, 2011

Where do I start? Bought this truck used from dealer. 1. Engine warning light on and can not be turned off apparently. (many trips to dealer) 2. AC Fan motor caught fire and smoked out the passenger compartment. ($400) 3. Right side wheel bearing seized making the truck UN-driveable. Had to have it towed. ($1200) 4. Hose that goes to the gas tank collapsed so fuel could not be put in the tank. ($400) 5. Speaker in drivers door failed a month after purchase. (Did not have it repaired) 6. Ventilation fan control knob does work in positions 2 and 5. (fan turns off in those positions.)(Did not have it repaired) 7. Rear right tail light does not work. Replaced bulb and still does not work. It has a wiring problem somewhere inside the truck.(Did not have it repaired) 8. Drivers door leaks when it rains and water drips on you arm.(Did not have it repaired) I will never in a million years will I ever buy another GM product!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Why won't Chevy fix this repeated problem

by Chevy does not treat the customer right. from minneapolis mn | October 22, 2011

The 2005 Chevy Silverado has a history of having the ABS sensors malfunction due to the rust build-up on the hubs. The ABS kicks on at slow speed because the computer cannot read the wheels turning...it thinks you are going into a skid and it applied the ABS. This is common on all vehicles from 2002 through 2007. They did a recall in it for the earlier models but won't for the others. Another common problem is the notorious "clunk" sound in the steering wheel. No, Chevy will not step up and replace the intermediate steering shaft. You have to do it on your own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Cheaply built

by BuilderBob from Richmond, Va | July 21, 2011

Good average truck, well glued together, lots of excess epoxy adjacent to joints. Dampens noise. Oil saver feature good. Nimble truck for construction sites. Speedometer stopped working just after warranty was up(known issue with most GM vehicles), Service Airbag light stays on, things like check gas cap or hot air blowing in summer thru vents both random occurences. Safety warning sounds, key in ignition and door open, over speakers died in first 20,000 miles. Little to no warranty support by GM, and none thru dealer at a reasonable price. Best support locally thru mojor chain repair shop. Tires from dealership hardly lasted 40,000 miles. Worries about Dextron2 radiator fluid turning to jello.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Chocolate engine

by Dejected from San Antonio Tx | June 4, 2011

Engine ate itself at 54000 miles just beyond the time limit on the power train warranty. Was serviced at chevy dealer only and attended accordingly.. Will never own a chevy car again. I will not let my friends make the same mistake without due warning.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 23 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Silverado 1500HD

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.