2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD

Change Vehicle

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 38 styles:  2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD 4x4 Regular Cab 8' box 133" WB shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$6,365–$30,737

Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Would not go back

by Dad and son from San Diego | June 16, 2014

The dealer was so rude. We had been shopping for a this year, make and model. Bingo found it. The truck would not turn over. The battery was dead. Priced above what was listed on cars.com. Asked for the lowest price, the guy actually quotes 1,000. More then the truck is listed on the internet, " the best I can do ". He tried to make us feel stupid. Only work with people you like .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does not recommend this car


Hate this truck

by geo1367 from Clearfield, PA | August 11, 2012

Was supplied to me for work with odem. reading 42000 but the shifting leaver is messed up, the drive train has noises, has crack windows (how cheap!) I haven't seen a crack window since the early 1980's. I hate this truck so bad I might quit my job to get out of it! Rides like a rock, 8' bed means it spins really easy on gravel roads. Most disgusting vehicle I've ever driven! If you're use to an extended cab and think that power options should be standard, stay a way from this old regular cab truck..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Siverado

by Truck Guy from Indiana | July 25, 2012

The Chevy duramax diesel silverado has to be the best truck on the market. They are comfortable, have all kinds of power and with a few inexpensive upgrades get good milage. This is the second one I have owned and will have one for as long as I can drive. I use my truck for everything from hauling the kids around to getting to that good hunting spot way off the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The Best

by Truck Enthusiast from Louisiana | December 28, 2011

The truck is everything I was looking for. The 6.6 duramaxx is great. The truck handles well and drives well also. I would recommend this truck to anybody.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Silverado 2500HD

by hankster from Sk. | May 22, 2011

Great pickup for trailer towing. Has good fuel economy as well. Will probably buy another pickup with the Duramax engine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


just love a chevy

by chevy lover from | October 19, 2010

have a duramax diesel and just bought a gmc envoy love them is there anything else then a CHEVY i think not lol

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


GREAT TRUCK

by BD from Plano, TX | July 1, 2010

I purchased this truck new in Aug 2004. 4wd, crewcab, longbed, duramax. After the first year of ownership I put a 4" rancho lift and 35" tires, ranchhand front and rear bumpers and custom stereo/nav in it. It now has 170,000 miles on it and the only thing I've done to the engine is replace the glow plug module ($200) last week. Because of the bigger tires I have replaced 1 hub/bearing assembly and the ball joints in Feb of this 2010. Still has original brakes. The biggest/only gripe about this truck is the intermediate steering shaft causes a rattle in the steering wheel. I did just replace that last week for the 3rd time ( first 2 under warranty). I change the oil/air filter every 4k, flush the tranny every 50k, fuel filter 10k and still going strong. I do have the itch for a new one and will look at the new 2011 duramax when they're in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


great work truck

by farmerjim from Michigan | March 19, 2010

I bought my 2500HD brand new and ordered it with the 6.0 a 5 sp trans 4wd and 4.11 posi. It has unbelieveable power, more fun to drive than most sports cars. The milage is better than my old one (a 92 2500 with a 350 engine) if you can keep your foot off the happy pedal. It tows great handles excellent and easily handles 2700# in the box. My two complaints are that the windows ALWAYS freeze shut in the winter (which is a pain for a smoker) and the lack of lumbar support in the seat which makes you stiff on long rides. My next truck will probably be a newer version of the same thing, and probably a duramax, but it will be many years before this one wears out. Great truck, Id reccomend it to anyone that needs an HD for towing or hauling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great truck

by DD from Gulf coast | March 2, 2010

This is just a super overall truck. The duramax diesel is strong and the allison transmission is super-smooth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great for towing lots off room

by gummby from Los Angeles, CA | May 21, 2008

this is one of the best truck we ever had. i mean we try the the hemi and the lincon truck (ford) and even the f-350 we were not happy with the way they drive the hemi had power but it lack in acceleration up top is good the lincon truck its just for looks THATS IT the f-350 rough ride no control what so ever now with the silverado 2500hd its great towing execlent in highway city driving, good lots of room for the family in the back the best part is the long bed go anywere with all your toys. engine powere exelent(just to brag a lil bit i can keep up with the chargers) and not the v-6 the v-8

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.