2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD

Change Vehicle
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 28 styles:  2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD 4x4 Regular Cab 8' box 133.7" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$22,345–$51,037
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

4 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

so-so truck duramax 4x4

by ken from el paso tx | July 2, 2013

Great for a work truck because of power, fuel mileage is awful , 12 in town, 15 on hiway, seats hard, no interior storage, info center hard to read, uses 1 gallon of exhaust fluid every 1000 miles. Won't buy another G M product

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great Truck thus far, stacks well against others

by E_HILLMAN from Leesburg, KY | January 8, 2013

Have only had truck a little over a month. I have the Duramax Diesel 4x4 Crew Cab LT. Have had Dodge Ram Diesel Trucks of the same spec for the last 10 years prior. This truck does the same job they did and has more power than my 2010 Ram Diesel I traded in. I LOVE how much better the traction is on this truck no spinning or wheel hopping. I towed my 28' Cabin Cruiser boat on rain and sleet roads a couple weeks ago and had plenty of power and felt secure and stable while towing. Sure the truck rides like a 3/4 ton truck but it is smoother than some 3/4 ton trucks I have had but it handles like a car. VERY easy to drive and sticks to the road and curves quite well. Fuel Economy seems better than the last two Dodge trucks I have had. Dual Zone climate control very nice Crew Cab has pleny of room for adults Recommend getting aftermarket underseat storage for rear seat to keep cabin tidy. Exhaust brake works great and even though truck is a automatic it downshifts quite well helping slow you down when bringing a large load to a slower speed or halt. Even when not plugged into block heater truck starts very well on cold days for a diesel. With Remote start it gets even easier and it will be ready when you are. LOVE OnStar and will resubscribe. Dislike (very much so) that customer service is through the Philippines. And wish that GM would see that people that want to buy a truck made in the USA (Flint Michigan) and pay that much to have it also want their customer service to be in the USA. Interior could be better. The displays etc. on my Dodge Trucks were better but the ones on the Chevrolet get the job done and provide some new functionality as well with the OnStar system. Overall a great made in USA truck. The Allison Transmission is known to be durable and I look forward to many many trouble free miles ahead.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Outstanding!

by Tom from Tampa FL | October 9, 2012

Love this truck. 6.0L has tons of power for towing. Not great off the line 0-30. However, 30-65 MPH time is great. And both are unchanged when pulling a 6000lbs trailer. Drive it before you buy it. If you think you are getting a sport truck...Try the 1500 6.2L MPG could be better 12 City.19 Highway (after 2000 miles) It not a truck bought for MPG--is it? Dealer was great--If planning any dealer mods get them added added to the deal to save 20-25%

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable and Powerful pickup out there.

by HotShot from Permian Basin,Texas | September 24, 2012

Duramax Diesel has only been out since 2001 and all i can say is that they sure do beat ford and dodge. Out of only 4 years of doing heavy hotshoting and drove all 3 trucks nothing beats a chevy, Smooth, great design, quite trucks. Ford will never get a great truck if they keep changing the engine every two years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


truck sucks, awful!!!!!!!

by Dan from Jonesville, AK | August 15, 2012

i have driven this truck quite a lot lately and it is by far the worst suckiest truck in the whole freaking world. i would rather walk than drive this truck. interior have terrible quality and seats are hard as rocks. gas mileage is 2-3 miles per gallon through empty street!!!!!!!!!! have to fill every 4 hours on a GOOD day. and not to mention its over-priced by $420,000. GET F-150!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does not recommend this car


great truck

by ronnieb from Leavenworth, KS | August 11, 2012

This truck replaced a 1500 LTZ because I needed more towing ability. What a great decission to buy this truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


best truck ever

by truck guy from erie,PA | August 3, 2012

the 2012 chevy 2500hd is the best truck i ever had and is better than any ford or dodge because of the great power and reliability

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does not recommend this car


Tired

by Bad dodge from | June 10, 2012

Under appraised trade....also tried to pressure me into a speedy decision and we totally uninformed about model I was looking at

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


not recomended

by jim from | June 5, 2012

i would not recomend this truck to anyone. The truck was OK, but sorry to say, but the competitors, Ford/Dodge are just way better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


bad gas milage

by vic from 97045 | April 30, 2012

empty highway up to 12 MPG pulling a trailer 7 to 8 MPG It has plenty of power but my dads 72 3/4 ton got better mileage than this does

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.