2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT

Change Vehicle
2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT
Available in 4 styles:  2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$3,859–$10,543
Estimated MPG

15 city / 19–20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

This SUV goes and goes with our family

by CoolMomma from Oklahoma | October 23, 2011

Bought this SUV new in 2004. It has been a great car! I've changed the oil, fluids and tires as part of normal maintenance but it just keeps going. We have over 160,000 miles on it now and it still runs great. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It has grown up with my kids and taken us to 5000 ballgames. Just love this vehicle. The only cons I have is that it is terrible on the ice and snow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Money pit

by Ron from Cleveland, Ohio | July 22, 2010

Bought it new, good at first then one thing after another needed repair. Repairs are expensive, it's not a well designed vehicle to work on and labor is extensive. Repairs included: rear wiper, power steering, differential, ball joints, a/c, 4wheel drive, etc... Gas mileage poor It does ride well in the snow I have 5 GM vehicles in my name. I did my best to keep GM out of bankrupcy and this vehicle did it's best to drive me into bankrupcy.I am very disappointed with this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Ugly Ducking Turns Into Swan

by jwoodie from | March 13, 2010

I purchased a new TB EXT in 2004 with the North Face option, V8, 4WD and 3.73 axle ratio. My initial reaction was that it was a sloppy handling, ungainly utility vehicle that could tow my 6000# boat. Six years later, it has become one of my all-time favorite vehicles, reliably performing in an amazing variety of uses. Although a couple of minor cosmetic touches has improved its appearance, the most significant change occurred when I replaced the terrible OEM Continental tires with decent GY (and now General) tires. Suddenly, its limo-like ride was matched with reasonable handling for vehicle of its size. It has also turned out to be an excellent tow vehicle, and has averaged 16 mpg over the past 100k miles, Tires have lasted 50k miles, and I just replaced the brakes at 90k! Too bad they aren't made any more, and used ones (especially V8's) are hard to come by...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


it is a great SUV for a family

by Ghost of Sparta from anchorage, AK | January 24, 2009

This is the first Sport Utility Vehicles that I bought and I got brand new at the age of 21 and I still got it and I have five kids and it is great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I love this truck

by freerider8 from fairview pa | November 5, 2008

I have just made my purchase recently and i have to say that i am happy with it. I think that the ride is great and its also quiet compared to some of the other suv's that I test drove. It has plenty of power and I love all of the features in the interior and the six disc cd changer is an extra bonus. thank you general motors!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


it start everyday.....

by gas'er 04 from cinti.ohio | November 4, 2007

if you like to put gas in this thing every other day,other than that ,it;s a smooth ride,very road noisy,window's let air in really bad(dealer said that they could notfind problem's with that)lucky for me mine is a lease ...so in 08 gm can have it back.........after three year's i should know about this vehicle.think twice before you buy.p.s. i only get about 13 mpg in the city maybe 18 on the highway.i think it use's gas sitting in the driveway :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Not pretty but comfy and reliable

by Curt from Mesa, AZ | September 22, 2007

We've owned one for 3 years and find it to be quite satisfactory. The features inside are nice and the AC which is critical in our desert climate is always up to the job. Power is excellent with the single exception of leaving a stop light. Its doesnt want to go very well till it gets to just shy of 3000 RPM and then it shifts and things are fine, but I hate to hold traffic back. We have done a few long trips (300+ miles) and the economy is reasonable, comfort is excellent. So far its been just oil changes and a set of tires. We're happy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best 7passenger vehicle available

by Chevrolet Enthusiast from San Antonio,Tx | November 8, 2006

The only problems we have had were minor-rear wiper wouldn't activate,heater wouldn't work in rear if front wasn't on heat(were told they are not independent)//surprised we get same highway mpg as advertised for Inline 6 engine//I6 engine performance doesn't come close to V8//

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Ugly Duckling Gets Rave Review

by jwoodie from Folsom, CA | July 27, 2006

I purchased (new) a 2004 Trailblazer EXT V8 North Face edition. Despite its somewhat ungaimly appearance, due to being a stretch version of the regular Trailblazer, it has turned out to be an excellent SUV in the best sense of the term. Due to its long wheelbase, ride and 3rd seat comfort are unmatched by anything short of a limosine. The 5.3 liter V8 (with 3.73 rear axle ratio) provides great towing capacity while returning a consistent 16 mpg in mixed driving. The 4WD system is easy to use and provides excellent snow traction, even though the stock Conti's leave much to be desired. Overall, the EXT probably represents the best modern interpretation of the all-purpose family wagon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Ugly Duck Gets Rave Review

by jwoodie from Folsom, CA | May 23, 2006

The Trailblazer EXT is another GM afterthought which, despite its ungainly appearance, turned out to be an outstanding and comfortable family utility vehicle. I own a 2004 4WD North Face model which has more features than my wife's 2005 MB CLK. With the V8 engine and 3.73 rear axle ratio, it gets 14-18 mpg and can tow a 7500 lb boat or trailer. Due to its long wheelbase, the third row seat is comfortable for two adults, although some maneuverability is sacrificed as a result. On the other hand, it has a low step-in and seat height which eliminates the need for running boards. Too bad it has been discontinued in favor of the 2007 Tahoe, since it represents the best modern interpretation of the all-purpose family wagon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.