2013 Chevrolet Traverse

Change Vehicle
2013 Chevrolet Traverse
Available in 8 styles:  2013 Chevrolet Traverse FWD shown
Asking Price Range
$17,312–$33,116
Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 23–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

24 out of 31 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 31 reviews

Good vehicle that is almost great

by Austin from Provo, UT | February 10, 2016

I really like my 2013 Traverse LS. I got an amazing deal on it. I bought it used and it looked great when I bought it (still does) The SUV is a good one. I would of given it 5 stars if it wasn't for a few things. I will first start with the Pros - Really comfortable -Great ride, takes bumps well -AWD Works great in the snow - A lot of space, Plenty of leg room in the second and third row. I'm 6'2" and can fit comfortably in the third row. No other SUV in it's class comes close to the space. Cons Disclaimer first, I bought this used in 2015. It was two years old with 18,000 miles. - The transmission is not as smooth as other vehicles I've driven. I'm not sure if there is something wrong with it. But it's not very smooth -The door handles on the inside are squeaky. Those are really the only two issues I have with it. It's a great SUV, and my issues with it might be just a used SUV problem. I recommend this vehicle. Very comfortable and a lot of room.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2013 Traverse second one

by trey from jacksonville fl. | October 11, 2015

I bought a chevy Traverse for my wife to surprise her.What a surprise it was it made it 6500 miles motor started knocking gm worked with us and we got another one this one seemed better until the cluster went out when the warranty expired and now at 45000 miles the engine has locked up in this one it has only been serviced by the dealer at recommended services so we will see who gets stuck with this repair. we all know that when you pay nearly xxxx dollars for a vehicle it should well exceed this mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Good looking car - Lousy Manufacturing

by Auntiemamel from Phila, Pa. | February 25, 2015

I have a 2012 Traverse. Took it for all suggested maintenance. Around 38, 000 miles it really started to cost in repair dollars. Amplifier has gone twice - seals on sunroof separated - motor in heater died ( tough in winter especially without defrost) as well as other understandable repairs ( battery). Has gotten very expensive and would not recommend. Currently has 44,000 miles and will trade in next year once paid off. No chevy for me after this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great Car and Something To Be Proud Of Too Boot!

by Mike from Missouri from Park Hills, Missouri. | April 8, 2014

Decided to buy our last new vehicle before we retire, I have three Chevys in the drive and as always this Chevy Traverse lives up to our expectations! We got the eight passenger option and absolutely love it. It drives and handles like you can only hope one would. It is Quiet, Smooth, Comfortable and has all the creature features that one needs to feel pampered. The overabundance of AIR BAGS keeps you safer than almost all the other SUVs out there, and that is based on the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. Onstar makes me feel at ease when my wife is out and about by herself. I have had the Traverse ten months now and would buy it again in a heart beat. It really helped to have such a great dealer experience also.(Turnner Chevrolet - Park Hills, Mo.) Thanks GM for rounding out my driving history with another great product!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Traverse - Dont get one

by AdamB from Texas | March 27, 2014

I’ve had 4 Chevy vehicles. All good experiences, until I bought the 2012 traverse for my wife and kids. It’s been problematic since day one. Problems include vibration noises from the exhaust (it took 3 tries to fix that), front speaker works sometimes (not fixed yet), air bag light comes on often (6 attempts, still not fixed), it’s had motor mounts replaced… etc. Tried to get some help from GM to get trade-in assistance to by another new chevy traverse, they offered ZERO dollars. Asked for to extend the warenty as it will expire at 36000 miles and I have 30,000… they said no to that too. Asked for a loaner while it in the shop… no to that too, only if it stays over night. The worst customer service I have ever had. They lost a loyal customer for life.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


unbelievable ride and drive

by lebo from La. | March 6, 2014

was expecting a standard ride when I was about to drive this vehicle,but boy was I surprised when I got behind the wheel.It drove very well and the surfaces were not that hard plastic.Lots of options on this vehicle,even on the base LS model.We opted for the LT1.It fit in our budget fine.We are very happy with our purchase. If you are looking for an SUV you need to look at this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent handling and comfort -AC design not good

by bubba from Portland, OR | February 15, 2014

I'm an avid renter of cars to go on road trips. What that means is I have experienced many new cars. The 2013 Traverse (LT1) Automatic with AWD I bought (and comes with M+S tires, meaning it's basically all weather, mud and snow), my number one praise is handling. I love the turn radius, the comfortable seating, the comfortable handling on the roads, both in snow, ice, rain etc., the quietness. During snow time, I watched a bunch of people get stuck and slide all over. I drove without chains, just with the traction tires that came with my Traverse, and it was so nice not getting in trouble like others. Other SUVs I've rented such as Ford Explorers, Ford Escape, Toyota 4Runner, Toyota RAV4, Honda Pilot, etc. do not compare to the handling the Traverse offers. I especially hated the RAV4's handling. The Honda Pilot was ok. I even drove it up and down a steep rocky road, about a quarter mile in length, with boulders the size of computer monitors. It handled that just fine. The only thing I noticed was the temperature went up to about 70% or so while I was driving slowly upwards. I only have three beefs, all related. First beef: The junk AC turns off when it gets cold (close to freezing temp). That means you turn on the heater to clear the fogged up windows and you can't turn on the AC to help. Japanese cars are designed to use the AC to help with the heater in the winter time so you don't get into an accident because you can't see through your windows. I read that this is by design, to protect the AC unit, but what the khell GM, learn how to design a better unit. I miss my Honda's AC unit. 2nd Beef: The entire air unit (AC/Heat etc.) suddenly did not work at all twice. It was random times. You turn the knobs and NOTHING happens. NOTHING. This can go on for 10 mins or so. Then it magically comes back on by itself. Again, twice now after a year of owning the car, and after about 13k miles. Seriously? 3rd Beef: American cars are not-so-smartly designed so you can smell the stink outside, the smog, the smelly cars, everything. Once you turn the knob on the air unit to defrost the windshield, it automatically turns the RECYCLE air off and lets air come from outside. I know it does this to help defrost, but that's not the point. So if you need to defrost the windows and there's a smelly car in front of you, or you're traveling in an area that smells, you've got to choose between your life and driving with fogged up windows, or smell it. American car designers are not that smart I swear. I miss my Honda. My Honda did that too, but I was able to OVERRIDE the button and press it. The Traverse does not allow you to override. If you have no sense of smell, then ignore this part of the review. This stupid "feature" is enough to make me not want to purchase an American car. The only reason I'm keeping the Traverse is due to the good handling. If it were not for that, I wouldn't take a glance at this car or any American cars. GM, learn how to make your AC units. That can mean the difference between $40k or not

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


HORRIBLE TURN OFF PROBLEM

by CourtneyVW from oxford PA | February 6, 2014

My 2013 traverse LT has turned off for no reason multiple times.. There are no same factors, it can be hot or cold .. long or short trips.... it will turn off for a second or just wont turn back on for 20 minutes.. i am furious with GM. i have owned a gm all my life and never had a problem until now .. The dealership i have been working with has done above and beyond to try to help me .. but gm is not helping i dont know what to do anymore i am hoping this is just a fluke thing... The whole point of a new vehicle is safety and reliability. i have never been so disapointed in a vehicle and gm call center.. but i will say the dealership has been excellent

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Get one NOW!

by Mike loves his family hauler! from FL | January 7, 2014

Ok it came down to the 2013 Dodge Citidel vs the 2013 LT Chevy Transverse. Chevy had a more areo dynamic shape, More passenger room, and was just more comfortable. I tradded in a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4 wheel drive. I only used plus gas and it was horrible 14-20. So now I have something way more nicer and bigger that uses regular gas and gets 17-24. This SUV drives itself. My family loves it. I really drives like a car! The only changes I see chevy needs to do in the future is make the fancy day time running lights the other SUV'S have. I highly reccomend this vehicle!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


sadly disappointed for a second time

by uptown48009 from michigan | December 22, 2013

This is our second traverse. GM bought first one back do to quality issues. Where that one excelled despite its problems this one fails in opposite ways. The interior materials are so cheap and don't last. At 40,000 miles the carpet is worn beyond belief, seat stitching is separating, drivers seat is almost worn through along the edges, just a joke. Sadly this is my last GM vehicle. Sad thing is GM has not changed. They could care less. Make it cheap and hope it lasts til the warranty runs out then it's the customers problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 31 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2013 Chevrolet Traverse.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Traverse

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.