We've given this page a whole new look

View the new design

2013 Chevrolet Traverse

Change Vehicle
2013 Chevrolet Traverse
Available in 8 styles:  Chevrolet Traverse 2013 shown
Asking Price Range
$16,772–$31,720
Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 23–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

27 out of 34 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 34 reviews

MYLINK and emergency flasher

by Dee from Traverse city, mi. | August 24, 2016

My traverse does everything but bake bread EXCEPT only one USB port which is stupidly put up in the dash near the window. A car of this caliber should have several ports and not in the dash. Also the buttons for the emergency flasher and some other items I don't want going off while I drive are located by the radio and I'm always touching these buttons setting off things I don't want set off while I'm driving. Also my navigation voice level goes down to nothing when I turn off the car and resume my trip. So I have to find the volume again before I get back on the highway. AWFUL planning.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2013 Chevrolet Traverse LT

by Smooth Sailing from Charleston,SC | August 1, 2016

I bought my car 3 weeks ago and it's been smooth sailing thus far. The car is spacious and I love the interior lighting at night. My only dislike is this crossover is a gas guzzler, but I did go from driving a 4 cylinder to a 6 cylinder. Other than that, I have no complaints. I'd recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice ride so far

by FJB from Phila, Pa | July 4, 2016

I purchased this 2013 Traverse LS, a month ago. I did a lot of research before buying it, I never owned an SUV before. I wanted something with power and some room inside. I liked that the Traverse has a 3.6L DOHC engine, 280HP. It handles very nice, I had to get use to the steering, it's very responsive. One thing I did notice, that someone else mentioned on the reviews, is the Transmission does jerk, when first stepping on the gas, not sure what that's about. Everything else functions well. The exterior is a nice design, the interior is nice, the seats are material, I hope they hold up well through the years. I don't know if I can do a follow up review after a few more months of driving the Traverse, but so far so good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good vehicle that is almost great

by Austin from Provo, UT | February 10, 2016

I really like my 2013 Traverse LS. I got an amazing deal on it. I bought it used and it looked great when I bought it (still does) The SUV is a good one. I would of given it 5 stars if it wasn't for a few things. I will first start with the Pros - Really comfortable -Great ride, takes bumps well -AWD Works great in the snow - A lot of space, Plenty of leg room in the second and third row. I'm 6'2" and can fit comfortably in the third row. No other SUV in it's class comes close to the space. Cons Disclaimer first, I bought this used in 2015. It was two years old with 18,000 miles. - The transmission is not as smooth as other vehicles I've driven. I'm not sure if there is something wrong with it. But it's not very smooth -The door handles on the inside are squeaky. Those are really the only two issues I have with it. It's a great SUV, and my issues with it might be just a used SUV problem. I recommend this vehicle. Very comfortable and a lot of room.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2013 Traverse second one

by trey from jacksonville fl. | October 11, 2015

I bought a chevy Traverse for my wife to surprise her.What a surprise it was it made it 6500 miles motor started knocking gm worked with us and we got another one this one seemed better until the cluster went out when the warranty expired and now at 45000 miles the engine has locked up in this one it has only been serviced by the dealer at recommended services so we will see who gets stuck with this repair. we all know that when you pay nearly xxxx dollars for a vehicle it should well exceed this mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Good looking car - Lousy Manufacturing

by Auntiemamel from Phila, Pa. | February 25, 2015

I have a 2012 Traverse. Took it for all suggested maintenance. Around 38, 000 miles it really started to cost in repair dollars. Amplifier has gone twice - seals on sunroof separated - motor in heater died ( tough in winter especially without defrost) as well as other understandable repairs ( battery). Has gotten very expensive and would not recommend. Currently has 44,000 miles and will trade in next year once paid off. No chevy for me after this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great Car and Something To Be Proud Of Too Boot!

by Mike from Missouri from Park Hills, Missouri. | April 8, 2014

Decided to buy our last new vehicle before we retire, I have three Chevys in the drive and as always this Chevy Traverse lives up to our expectations! We got the eight passenger option and absolutely love it. It drives and handles like you can only hope one would. It is Quiet, Smooth, Comfortable and has all the creature features that one needs to feel pampered. The overabundance of AIR BAGS keeps you safer than almost all the other SUVs out there, and that is based on the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. Onstar makes me feel at ease when my wife is out and about by herself. I have had the Traverse ten months now and would buy it again in a heart beat. It really helped to have such a great dealer experience also.(Turnner Chevrolet - Park Hills, Mo.) Thanks GM for rounding out my driving history with another great product!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Traverse - Dont get one

by AdamB from Texas | March 27, 2014

I’ve had 4 Chevy vehicles. All good experiences, until I bought the 2012 traverse for my wife and kids. It’s been problematic since day one. Problems include vibration noises from the exhaust (it took 3 tries to fix that), front speaker works sometimes (not fixed yet), air bag light comes on often (6 attempts, still not fixed), it’s had motor mounts replaced… etc. Tried to get some help from GM to get trade-in assistance to by another new chevy traverse, they offered ZERO dollars. Asked for to extend the warenty as it will expire at 36000 miles and I have 30,000… they said no to that too. Asked for a loaner while it in the shop… no to that too, only if it stays over night. The worst customer service I have ever had. They lost a loyal customer for life.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


unbelievable ride and drive

by lebo from La. | March 6, 2014

was expecting a standard ride when I was about to drive this vehicle,but boy was I surprised when I got behind the wheel.It drove very well and the surfaces were not that hard plastic.Lots of options on this vehicle,even on the base LS model.We opted for the LT1.It fit in our budget fine.We are very happy with our purchase. If you are looking for an SUV you need to look at this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent handling and comfort -AC design not good

by bubba from Portland, OR | February 15, 2014

I'm an avid renter of cars to go on road trips. What that means is I have experienced many new cars. The 2013 Traverse (LT1) Automatic with AWD I bought (and comes with M+S tires, meaning it's basically all weather, mud and snow), my number one praise is handling. I love the turn radius, the comfortable seating, the comfortable handling on the roads, both in snow, ice, rain etc., the quietness. During snow time, I watched a bunch of people get stuck and slide all over. I drove without chains, just with the traction tires that came with my Traverse, and it was so nice not getting in trouble like others. Other SUVs I've rented such as Ford Explorers, Ford Escape, Toyota 4Runner, Toyota RAV4, Honda Pilot, etc. do not compare to the handling the Traverse offers. I especially hated the RAV4's handling. The Honda Pilot was ok. I even drove it up and down a steep rocky road, about a quarter mile in length, with boulders the size of computer monitors. It handled that just fine. The only thing I noticed was the temperature went up to about 70% or so while I was driving slowly upwards. I only have three beefs, all related. First beef: The junk AC turns off when it gets cold (close to freezing temp). That means you turn on the heater to clear the fogged up windows and you can't turn on the AC to help. Japanese cars are designed to use the AC to help with the heater in the winter time so you don't get into an accident because you can't see through your windows. I read that this is by design, to protect the AC unit, but what the khell GM, learn how to design a better unit. I miss my Honda's AC unit. 2nd Beef: The entire air unit (AC/Heat etc.) suddenly did not work at all twice. It was random times. You turn the knobs and NOTHING happens. NOTHING. This can go on for 10 mins or so. Then it magically comes back on by itself. Again, twice now after a year of owning the car, and after about 13k miles. Seriously? 3rd Beef: American cars are not-so-smartly designed so you can smell the stink outside, the smog, the smelly cars, everything. Once you turn the knob on the air unit to defrost the windshield, it automatically turns the RECYCLE air off and lets air come from outside. I know it does this to help defrost, but that's not the point. So if you need to defrost the windows and there's a smelly car in front of you, or you're traveling in an area that smells, you've got to choose between your life and driving with fogged up windows, or smell it. American car designers are not that smart I swear. I miss my Honda. My Honda did that too, but I was able to OVERRIDE the button and press it. The Traverse does not allow you to override. If you have no sense of smell, then ignore this part of the review. This stupid "feature" is enough to make me not want to purchase an American car. The only reason I'm keeping the Traverse is due to the good handling. If it were not for that, I wouldn't take a glance at this car or any American cars. GM, learn how to make your AC units. That can mean the difference between $40k or not

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 34 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2013 Chevrolet Traverse.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Traverse

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.