2002 Chevrolet Venture

Change Vehicle

2002 Chevrolet Venture

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 9 styles:  2002 Chevrolet Venture FWD Extended Passenger Van shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,087–$7,275

Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 24–26 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Great Van

by Lou from Indiana | March 5, 2014

We bought this van in 2002. It had 17,000 miles when we bought it. Have had very few problems. Just regular upkeep no major repairs .As a women it is very comfortable for me to drive and I felt very safe driving it. It is getting some age on it and I would love to find another one just like it in a newer model.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Disaster

by vghost from Easton Md | February 25, 2014

Bought this van with 43,000 miles on it. Very noisy and you feel every bump in the road. Can't even listen to the radio. Now at 55,000 miles the #1 cylinder has 40psi. Possibly valves, but could be worse. It would cost a minimum of $1,900 to fix if I decide the rest of the car is worth it. Reading other revues and the van's lack of comfort I think it is best to junk this van.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Jeff Benson Car Company---Fantastic!

by Mom from Garden City | February 20, 2013

Jeff Benson Car Company--great people! Bought a work van back in August, super clean and runs awesome. We're back to look for another vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Absolute Junk!

by Aircraft Mechanic by day, Car mechanic by night! from | February 24, 2012

I owned my 2002 Chevrolet Venture WB Edition since brand new and it almost has 100,000 miles now. Over this journey the van has had nothing but problem after problem! Luckily im a mechanic and I have not had to pay for labor co$t!!! Problems have included cheap interior panels breaking and falling off, bad wheel bearings/wheel speed sensors, horn button stuck on, engine oil leak, transmission oil leak, coolant leaks, engine intake manifold gasket ruptured (twice now), cheap leather seats cracking, cheap dashboard plastic cracking, A/C Freon Leaks--A/C Stopped working... All routine maintenance was accomplished, oil changed every 3000, miles, tires rotated and balanced, coolant flushed, spark plugs changed, you name it I accomplished it!!! And nothing helped, something new breaks every month! Please avoid this vehicle if you are shopping for a used Mini-VAN

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


BELOW AVERAGE

by GROUNDHOG from WATERVILLE NY | February 21, 2011

WHERE DO I START, IVE OWNED 2 VENTURES. THEY ALL ROT OUT UNDER THE DOORS, THEY HAVE ALMOST NO HEAT, THE AIR COND STOPPED WORKING EVERYTIME IT GOT HOT OUTSIDE,DOORS AND WINDOWS ARE ALL NOISEY FROM THE WIND,THEY BOTH ATE A SET OF TIRES A YEAR, VERY POOR ON FUEL, AND DONT EVEN TRY TO CHANGE A SET OF SPARK PLUGS ON THEM.[ THEY BUILT THE CAR AROUND THEM] .. REAR WIPER MOTORS ARE JUNK .. WORST VAN EVER OWNED...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


It's been a good run

by chris from Currie, MN | February 19, 2010

I didn't like this van when I bought it - my first time as a van owner, and I was used to driving something flashier. I had test drove a few Chrsyler Town and Countries, and they were so much more comfortable. We bought the base model, and the bells and whistles just weren't there. It had 44,000 miles when we bought it. We now have 185,000 miles on it. I consider it an extremely reliable vehicle. Somewhere around 140,000 miles I had to replace the intake manifold gasket for about $450. A month later a spark plug cracked (on the front thankfully, so it was a cheap replacement). The AC condensor had to be replaced (another $450) at about 165,000. For putting 140,000 miles on a a vehicle, I think we did pretty well on repairs. Only major complaint would be the placement of the battery. It's buried under a bunch of stuff, so the replacement time adds up - but, it's not buried under anything critical, so if you know how to run a screw driver and a wrench and have an afternoon off, you can do it yourself. We live in Minnesota and have driven it on some big trips (South Carolina, Upstate New York), and probably on average 50+ miles a day. It's never left me stranded yet. Looking back, I'm having a hard time remembering why I didn't like it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Hate to let this van go!!

by Bob, builder of bridges for yard and garden from Sanger, CA | October 8, 2009

We have enjoyed this van on short trips, and for hauling a small work trailer. Great gas mileage, the DVD for kids in the back is a real plus! Never any problems and performed great on a 4,000 mile trip to MO a short time ago. Plenty of room for guests and cargo. Husband got a work truck and we have another passenger car, so have to let it go. :(

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Excellent vehicle - very reliable

by Impalavair from SC | August 18, 2009

Bought new in 2002 and hated to get rid of mine, but needed a truck. Had 70k+ miles and needed very little work - rear wheel cylinders leaked and brake light sockets corroded (bulletin on this) - all things I could fix myself. Other stuff was normal maintenance. Minivans are not exciting but their good value for the money - especially used - given that they can haul people and/or cargo. It's too bad people look down on them. My Venture was a workhorse and a confortable and reliable one at that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Big dissapointment

by kris from akron, OH | December 24, 2008

This is the first Chevy van we have owned and it has been nothing but trouble. THe gas gauge stopped working, the interior door panel on the drivers side is falling off and the speaker on that door does not work, and the AC stopped working. This all on a van with less than 100,000 miles. We bought it for the ability to seat 8 people but would not repeat this mistake.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


good van

by Regular Joe from Wyoming | May 16, 2008

This has been a good vehicle for us. Plenty of cargo room. Mileage is between 18 and 25 generally. In Yellowstone last summer we did get 30 mpg, but that's due to the slower speeds. Has been very reliable, decent power. Exterior not real exciting. Overall very solid, but probably the least sexy minivan in a category of vehicles known for not being sexy. Will tow a small camper. Soft ride. Traction control kicks in slow and then doesn't disengage fast enough for my taste. ABS is good. Transmission is really smooth. The 6 disc CD player is nice. The best part has to be the price-these are probably the cheapest vehicles around on a price to passenger/cargo hauling ratio.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Venture

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.