2006 Chrysler Crossfire

Change Vehicle
2006 Chrysler Crossfire

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2006 Chrysler Crossfire 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$6,729–$17,149
Estimated MPG

17 city / 24–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

I love my crossfire!!!

by crossfiregirl06 from Kerrville Texas | March 22, 2014

I have had my car almost 6 years. Brought it used and with only 3,000 miles on it. I now have 65,000 miles. it is a daily driver and I travel in my job. Take it everywhere. We took in on a out of state trip a couple of years ago. handled great, no problems. Maintenance can be pricey. But she is paid for and I don't care. She is the best, most solid car I have ever owned. And she has been hit twice by other drivers. After repairs, no rattles or leaks from the convertible top. I sometimes look at newer cars, and think about getting a new one. But why? This car still drives like a new car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most fun driving ever

by Happy Crossfire Owner from Indianapolis, IN | November 11, 2013

Cars.com had more choices, Found my Crossfire in less than a week. Great fun and loads of performance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


having it for the last 5 years says something

by mark from Apple Valley, MN | March 20, 2013

I bought my 2006 Limited coupe in Dec 2008 with only 10K on the clock. Drove it that first winter here in Minnesota and had little trouble because of the ESC and traction control systems. The wide tires would push snow in front but that's part of the deal. Good snow tires would go along way if you need it as a daily driver in the north. after that first winter I putit away until Spring because I was more concerned sombody else would hit me, as the insurance would total it because of the repair to value cost. I now have 40K on it, still think it's the most fun and beautiful car I have ever owned. Not one single problem with it, maintenance is not that expensive, reliability has been awesome, head turner all the time. Steering is almost but not quite true sports car, ride is fully acceptable, power fine to give you a rush but not overwhelming, very driveable and fun, but if you're looking to kill "vettes, get the SRT, that one will. The limited though will pull V8 camaro's at the light I have proven. cabin room, for two, is just fine, I'm 6-2 200 and fit great. Luggage space better than you'd think. have carried 2 large dogs back there-they loved it. 25 mpg in general use, 29 on the highway at 70mph, good eenough for me. I plan to never give up my Cross for the unique factor, overall fun and reliability and it just gives me so much pleasure to have. There will be certain repairs needed, few issues like RCM's and key system failures but there is a wonderful community of owners out there who have helped each other out immensely and these are all relatively easy fixes. It has just been such a great car at a reasonable price. Always wanted a Porsche Cayman but every time I think of the cost of maintenance, as well as it's overall price I say nah, I already have about 75% of that at 25% of the cost and aggravation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Crossfire 06

by raceguy239 from Berwyn | September 3, 2012

Grate little car. Looks,drives, handels, and runs GRATE!!!! Can be pricey to mantane but woth it Just love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love my Car

by kwalker1108 from Kansas City, Mo | September 2, 2012

I have had my 06 xfire since it was new. I have 68,000 miles on it. The only thing I have had an issue with is the cup holder has broken multi times. This is a Touring rear wheel drive car. The tires are a little expensive, but they are low profile high performance. You will not get lots of life out of your tires, but is it fun to drive. This wonderful car runs on 8.5 qts of synthic oil. Oil changes are ever 7500 miles or less depending on the computer. I have enjoyed every mile I have put on this car. I will keep it for a very long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A Mercedes in a Chrysler Costume

by Traveler4k from Beverly Hills, CA | January 30, 2012

This car is so much fun to drive. If you are OK with premium fuel and synthetic oil, get this car and just enjoy! I LOVE the performance of it and it is COMPLETELY European in feel. Since the price of the roadster limited was over $40,000, today I am able to buy it (mine only had 25,000 miles on it) for $16,000. It was in excellent condition! You may want to get any used car checked fully by a mechanic and get a full report on it! Many nationwide companies offer this. I purchased my car in El Cerrito, CA and live in Los Angeles. I LOVE this car! It is way cool and very fun! I HIGHLY recommend it! It is an eye-turner!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


High pain tolerance

by I love cars and buy what I like, not what's smart from Tampa, FL | December 28, 2010

First let me say I loved my Crossfire! It was super-fun, cute, attention-grabbing and impractical. Basically the perfect car for me at the time :) But you have to have a high tolerance for pain and disappointment. Once the warranty expired, things started breaking...and HOW! Alternator belt, tires, battery, alternator belt and the entire ROOF went over the span of a year. Be prepared to hear "well, it's built on a Mercedes frame" a LOT because it is used as an excuse for expensive parts. I miss the tight handling, the stick shift and the power. I don't miss the headaches. In fact, when I went to trade it in, a dealer actually asked if I wanted to see his service department because it was so nice! I replied that I'd be thrilled to never see another one as long as I lived. What a weird question! I now own a Nissan Xterra, mostly because I want something I can rely on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


A future classic

by Chris from Overland Park, KS | October 14, 2010

My previous car was an 03 Mustang, a tough act to follow. The Crossfire is a brilliant case study in design. The cab-back stace reinforces the art deco feel of the car which starts at the spine along the roof, oozes down through the strakes in the long hood and out of the giant styling rims. I really cannot think of another current car which so effectively exudes this type of style, save for the Crossfire Roadster. There is no question that Chrysler went "all in" on the styling, which rightfully begs the questions "Is there substance?" In my opinion, there is. Most people looking to buy this car have all heard the same speal, "It's not as fast as a Z, it doesn't handle like a boxster, the Mercedes frame the car was built on is quite dated." These things may all be objectively true, however this car isn't necessarily built to be on a track. The car inspires confidence as the wide rear tires grip in most cases can keep up with any amount of acceleration the engine can throw at them. The ride is tight but not uncofortable. Long-distance trips are immensley comfortable as the leather bucket seats have great bolsters for both one's hips and shoulders. The manual transmission is capable of shifting smoothly and actually does a good job of giving driver feedback, though the cluch seems to be very "big" so there is some "ca-clunking" that goes along with learning the car's shift points/revs. Once these melt away, you are left with a beautifully styled car built on a frame that has never drawn critisism until it was placed in this car, and even then it was more people pointing out that it was "old" rather than bad. This car is extremely ridged and the suspention works dillagently in the small amount of travel that the large wheels afford it. The car was indeed an expensive proposition for someone cruising a Chrysler dealership, but in 2010 they have depreciated to a point bordering on cheap, which is amazing for any coach-built sports car that isn't riddled with reliability issues. This car is one of the first and perhaps the only, good example of Daimler-Chrysler partnership. The engine and many of the parts are Mercedes ans the Detroit-penned body-panels were manufactured by the coachbuilder Karmen in Germany, where the car was assembled. Although there weren't a large volume of these cars built, the engine is identical to that in the SLK of slightly earlier vintage, making parts and service options readily available. Properly maintained, this car has better realiability than average cars. One thing that must be noted is that things on this car are unmistakably "German" in that specialized through over-thought "German" sort of way, which can make things slightly more expensive, not a shock to people who have owned European marks before, but may shock people expecting a thoroghly Chrystler experience. For example, the engine takes 8 quarts of 0W-40 oil, a brand new set of tires rus about $700, and the windshield wiper blades have little spoilers on them to keep them penned to the windshield at speed. Luckily the car is neither a garage queen or loosely built, so these costs are mitigated through reliability. Overall this car is very unique and styling that evokes the art-deco era is unlikely to look dated any time soon. The car is unapologetially stylish, which means that there will be people who do not like it. I say, "Who cares about these people!" if they want safe or conservative let them be! Everytime I climb into my Crossfire I am smiling and have never thought, "I wish I had bought..." For a car who style champions the machine, harking back to an era of steel and glass, it evokes an an amazing amount of emotion. You cannot go wrong with this future classic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great 2 seater...for the price...but.....

by Roundhead from Gresham, OR | June 7, 2010

I'm satisfied with the purchase price, and the car itself is a definate head turner. The power is awesome, and the ride is smoother than I expected, however, I have to say I wish Chrysler had added more features to the base, such as power windows, and seats (passenger seat sits lower than the driver's seat with no adjustments available), and a sunroof. I've also had problems finding accessories for the vehicle such as window deflectors, and a security guard for the trunk, to hide items. Overall, I am satisfied with my purchase, and the comments I receive from people range from "Nice car." to "What a nice car....what is it?"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Awesome Car

by BlueChip from Georgia | April 21, 2010

These drive like a dream and turn every head in the process.... i love mine... if your looking for a sports car and don't want to break the bank this baby is right for you... why buy a mustang or vette when you can get something rare and stylish for half the price.... you won't regret this little dream....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Chrysler Crossfire

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.