2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Change Vehicle
2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Available in 4 styles:  2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser 4dr FWD shown
Asking Price Range
$1,787–$7,911
Estimated MPG

21 city / 27–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

Practical, reliable and economical

by Karter from Kelowna, BC | February 9, 2014

Bought my car used, 2yrs old, and it has served me well in our 9 yrs together Maintained it regularly and at 200,000 km had to do some major repairs, radiator, water pump, timing belt, and rotors but not unexpected at that point. Unfortunately after all that the transmission went at 208,000 km so I'm saying goodbye to a really great auto that served me very well. Excellent value for the price and comfortable for my 5ft 3 frame. Loved my PT!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Fantastic 2003 Dream Cruiser 2

by CJ from San Francisco, Ca | February 4, 2014

Our 2005 blue PT Cruiser High Output Turbo GT was totaled in a hit and run, we were so sad, it had been a fantastic car for us for 9 years. We were not ready to give it up. We found our "new" 2003 Tangerine Dream Cruiser 2 on cars.com, we bought it and love it. The 5 speed stick is fun and the standard turbo has plenty of power and gets great mileage. We found the car to be just as advertised and are just thrilled with it, in fact we like it even better than our 2005 PT Cruiser, perhaps because of the seat heaters and great color.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


One Cool PT

by hemidart from Fairborn, Ohio | June 3, 2013

I believe that with it's retro 40's styling the PT Cruiser is going to be one of those cars that only come along every once in a while with a timeless design. And since it's demise at the end of 2010 it might be temporally on the wane, but I also believe it will make a strong resurgence in collector car guise. That is especially true for the very limited 2003 Tangerine Dream (about 1800 units), the Series 2 Dream Cruiser is generally believed to be the most desirable of them all. State Farm is already writing policies as agreed value collector car insurance, a status given only to the Dream Cruiser, and very rare for a 10 model year old car. This is yet another indicator of future status as a collectable. Great driver, Great performance, and even respectable gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


most lemon of a car I've ever owned

by jaup2 from New york | March 11, 2012

What i thought I was getting a great car turned out to be nothing but a lemon.... I bought this for a get a round car.... looked nice lots of room esp for my husband whose 6' but that is all the good I can say about it... I bought it for $8,000. had 53,000 miles on it. In June 2011 to Nov. of 2011 I had 58,000 on it. My husband put an additional $2000. into the car for repairs... not happy at all... Sure I did get the extra warranty at the time I purchased the car, but it didn't cover for what was wrong...grrrrr so I'm now looking for a new 2012 car to trade the piece of junk in for and see if I can re-coupe some of the loss....I wouldn't recommend this to a friend at all...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Number 3

by sailingzeek from Washington | March 7, 2012

I bought this PT used because I have two others that I bought new. They are both stick shifts. I wanted an automatic to be used as my primary car while I remodel an old home. Besides normal usage the PT will be used as a truck and as a long distance tourer. No other vehicle compared nor stacked up to this little hard working wonder.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


So far, so good...

by Car Jones from Seattle, WA | December 12, 2011

Only owned for a couple of months, so I cannot comment on reliability too much. We have had an electrical glitch with the remote lock/unlock, but nothing serious. I can tell you that for a small car, the inside is very roomy, very versatile and cool looking! Ride is also smooth and quiet. With only a 4 speed tranny, the MPG is not great...mid 20's. Seeing as you can buy these pretty cheap, I think they are a great value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


decent car

by kid-car guy from san jose, ca | October 31, 2011

There was nothing fancy about the car, but interior & exterior were in great condition. It had plenty of room for someone 6'6" and easy storage for a bike or kids in the back. Mine was a standard transmission and I get great mileage from it. IAcceleration is ok not great, at speed it drives and handles well. Buying used I ended up putting almost another $1000 into it to get some details fixe: timing belt, exhaust gas recirc-relays, brakes & one wheel bearing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It's not what I thought it would be.

by LJ Penguin from Chicago, IL | July 5, 2010

I got my PT Cuiser in 2003. It was fine the first year or so, but then things went wrong. I've been told that there are a whole bunch of problems with my suspension system. The parts that I have replaced are very expensive. I really liked the way this car looked. Whatta ya goin' do? I told Chrysler that they're not getting my business.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Greatest car I have ever owned

by Arizona Cruiser from Arizona | January 23, 2010

Great on mileage, comfortable , great looking and can move things in back like a small pick-up truck. Take out the back seat completly and even more room. Very easy to do. Best versatile car on the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


All i can say is WOW

by My Baby from Marietta, Pa | June 30, 2009

I got my 03 PT Limited about 3 weeks ago and i love it. I got it on my 18th brithday after having an 05 PT base i had to upgrade and i love it. i plan on keeping this car for awhile til another Pt comes along there will always have my heart!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

Featured Services for this Chrysler PT Cruiser

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.