Jim Tidwell Ford

Jim Tidwell Ford

2205 Barrett Lakes Blvd, Kennesaw, GA 30144

New 866-589-1460
Used 888-466-0171
Service 888-372-0559

You'll Do Well at Jim Tidwell Ford

Average Ratings

4.1 out of 5.0
27 out of 35 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 36 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

BUD IS AWESOME!

by from Kennesaw, Georgia |

Just bought a 2010 mustang here & had been searching for months for the right car. I was to the point of giving up because I was so stressed. Stopped by Jim Tidwell one day & a salesman named Bud greeted me & was so friendly & helpful. He got my contact information to call me when the right car came in for me. He didn't call me obnoxiously or email me 24/7 like most dealerships do. He got me in my dream for a GREAT price. I highly recommend everyone to go to Jim Tidwell & ask for Bud! He's great & will take the best care of you!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

1.0 out of 5.0

Confused service

by from Atlanta, GA |

I would STRONGLY recommend buying a vehicle at another dealership. Aside from the main issue, explained below, my car was $1400 over market value, which we were able to get down to a reasonable price. After selling me the car, I left the lot on an empty gas tank. They didnt even offer to fill it. I purchased that used car from Jim Tidwell about 6 weeks ago. The car only came with one key. Being that it is a used vehicle, I can understand that. I requested we have a second key made through Honda Carland who I have used for about 10 years now. At the table, when purchasing the vehicle, there were a lot of courtesies in which my sales rep explained I would receive. He agreed to purchasing the key from Honda Carland at Jim Tidwell Ford's expense and I would pay for the programming. That sounded fair. He told me the key would be ready to be cut that Thursday (72 hours later). When that Thursday arrived, I called my sales rep to investigate the spare key situation. He began sputtering, hesitating and blaming others for not even getting started on the process. He assured me everything would be arranged by that following Monday. When I called him the following Monday, he began making excuses again. As an apology, he said they would pay for both the key and the programming because it had taken so long. But in order for him to pay for all of the key services I had to go to Cars.com and write 3 positive reviews using his name and Jim Tidwell Ford's name in the reviews. To me, that sounds very dishonest. Blackmail-ish even. I told him I would get back with him on how I wanted to approach the situation. When I called again, I left 3 messages over a span of 3 days expressing my concern for the status of the key arrangements. About two weeks ago, I called one final time and explained I was going to have to speak with the used cars manager instead of him. He said he had been in the hospital for a couple of weeks. The dates didnt match up because the last call I made where I actually spoke with him would have lined up with when he was "in the hospital." I spoke with a used cars manager at Jim Tidwell about 10 days ago. He was very apologetic about everything that had gone on. He wrote up a contract for reimbursement of my costs if I got the key made myself. So I had a key made at Honda. The contract stated that upon arrival with the receipt from Honda I would receive reimbursement for the key. So I just drove up there, about 30 miles from my home, after calling to notify them I was on my way to receive the reimbursement check for Jim Tidwell. When I got there no one knew anything about the contract the gentleman wrote up with me. I spoke with another used cars manager, Dan, and he said they would process it and i would have my check soon, but not today. That is an immediate violation of contract. I drove 30 miles to be told I would receive my payment at their convenience, after getting approval to receive the check today. I asked for a copy of my contract, which should be on file. Dan explained how difficult it would be to get it, How long it would take him to do it, and he told me it wasn't his issue. He said you can speak with someone else if you want. I was treated SO poorly throughout this whole experience. If I were able to give them no stars, I would. This place is dishonest, inconsiderate, and not welcoming. Apparently, I am not the first person who has had this experience, according to other reviews and a family friend who found us the car there shortly after he purchased his Ford Focus.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

June 15, 2014

Mr. Windham, Thanks for taking a minute to speak with me this afternoon. I can't thank you enough for sharing the details of your experience with me. We try to learn and improve each day, and your welcomed feedback teaches us important lessons. I look forward to meeting you in person. Sincerely, Jeremy Smith General Manager Jim Tidwell Ford 404-983-7585


1.0 out of 5.0

Service Department needs improvement...

by from Marietta, GA |

We purchased an F350 Power Stroke Diesel brand new from this dealership in 2012. The buying process was fairly simple, and we have no complaints there. Had a great selection to choose from, and we got the truck we wanted. The service department here is another story. I don't know if it that they have so much work, and not enough time to get to everyone, or what the deal is....but dealing with them is always frustrating. The truck had a serious issue last week, and I needed to speak with someone in service. I was told everyone was unavailable, and that someone would call me back in approx.15 minutes. No problem! I understand that things get busy...however that was 4 days ago, and I am still waiting for a call back. I called another Ford dealer in the area, and someone picked up immediately, answered my questions, and seemed honestly interested in helping me rather than taking a message and having someone "get back to me."

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience last week. It's obvious there was a breakdown in our call handling process. We would like to try to make this up to you and begin the process of earning your trust again. Please give me a call directly at 678-784-1235 if you have time. Jeremy Smith, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Extremely friendly and courteous

by from Smyrna, GA |

Just recently purchased a used Mazda CX-7 from this dealership and the process was extremely fast and efficient. The car had a major crack throughout the entire windshield and the dealership agreed to replace at no charge. I would definitely come back here in the future to purchase a car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

February 28, 2014

Hi Shane, Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you had a great car buying experience with us. I hope you are enjoying your Mazda CX-7! If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Jeremy Smith, General Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

Beyond Bad

by from Kennesaw Ga |

Bought a used car from JTF(3rd one in a year), and where do I begin explaining why you should not buy a used car from them. Communication between departments, plain and simple it doesn't exist. Finger pointing and claiming ignorance seem to be the method of choice here. Below is a breakdown of the first few weeks with my recently purchased car. December 20th Bought a 2011 used car December 23rd turned the car over to the Sales Manager(Dan Higgins) for a nail in the tire. Not going to even go into how that could have been missed by their multipoint inspection they claim to do. Asked Dan to pass to the service department to check the rear sunshade and seal on the window. December 28th : Receive an email from the service department saying the car is done (no call from sales) December 29th: Go in to find nail still in tire(was told an alignment was done) Rear shade and seal on back window were not addressed. Everyone I spoke with acted as if it was the first time hearing these problems. Dan I personally told you about these issues! Dan suggested that the nail shouldn?t present a problem and that I could take the car to a Dodge/Chrysler dealership myself(Should have done this) Since I bought the car from them I saw that it should be their responsibility to fix it so I left it with them. I was assured that my car would go into the service department first thing Monday(30th). December 30th: Happen to drive by the dealership, car still in the same parking spot. December 31st: I called for an update, was told they had an appointment with Chrysler dealership in Canton(Don?t go to Cherokee Chrysler Dodge in Canton, but that?s a different story). Come to find out that wasn?t the case. As I was told by Tina in the service department, the sales department casually gave her the keys on the 31st presumably after I called asking the status of my car. January 6th: Still don?t have car back and find out that the dealership in Canton was never told about the rear window seal. Told the dealership to finish what they were currently working on and that I was picking the car up tonight. If this is how they treat their repeat customers I fear for you if this is the first time you buy from them and you run into an issue. I will now be taking my car to a dealership that has a service department that can handle the workload.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

January 16, 2014

I can't thank you enough for your feedback. I appreciate you taking time out of your day to let me know about your experience with us. I want to sincerely apologize that your experience at Jim Tidwell Ford was anything besides excellent. Please contact me at Jssmith@group1auto.com or give me a call at 678-784-1235. I would like to discuss your experience further, and I would also like to see if there is anything we can do to make this up to you. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Jeremy Smith, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Fantastic Experience

by from Cartersville, GA |

Work with Mike Mckenzie on a used car sale. Mike was very helpful and informative. He wasn't pushy either which made us comfortable dealing with him.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

December 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that Mike was both helpful and informative. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Jeremy Smith, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Very helpful and went way above to help me.

by from Ball Ground GA |

I came in to Jim Tidwell Ford late Saturday with a problem with my 2011 F 150 Ecoboost. I did not think the truck would make it home. I was afraid I would cause more damage by driving it. I tried to get a rental car so that I could make it home. Unfortunately all of them were closed. The salesman Patrick McCloud asked me how I was doing. I told him I was not too happy and informed him of my situation. He asked that I come inside and he would see what he could do. He then brought the General Sales Manager George Figueroa over and I explained my situation. Mr. Figueroa said that they could loan me a vehicle to get home, he asked that I treat it as my own and returned it with the same amount of fuel that it currently had. Again I was not buying a vehicle, just getting mine fixed. These two went above and beyond to make sure I was satisfied and got home safely. My next vehicle purchase will be at Jim Tidwell Ford.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

December 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that both Patrick and George did what they could to make sure you arrived home safely. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Jeremy Smith, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service!!

by from Marietta, GA |

Mike Mckenzie was a great big help in selecting the perfect used car i was looking for. The 2013 Ford Taurus i selected is fantastic and got it at a great price with a great extended warranty. There selection of certified used cars is tops in the area.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

November 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, Nick. I am really pleased to hear that Mike was of great help in the search for the perfect pre-owned car. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Jeremy Smith, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great buying experience!

by from canton, ga |

Great buying experience! Mike McKenzie was and continues to be extremely knowledgeable and helpful!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

November 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Jeremy Smith, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Buying Experience

by from Woodstock Ga |

I was in the market for a used vehicle for my seventeen year old daughter talked with Mike McKenzie at Jim Tidwell Ford. He was very professional and helpful with picking out a vehicle. He listened to what I was looking for. Something safe, good on gas and reliable for going back and forth to school. We purchased a 2011 Ford Fusion with a extended warranty. Thanks Mike your the best.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

November 5, 2013

Tim, thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that Mike was of great help in the search for your daughter's car.I hope she is enjoying it. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Jeremy Smith, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

A Great Purchasing Experience

by from Canton, GA |

After receiving the word that our 13 year old daily driver was going to need several repairs, we decided that it had reached the end of its life, and we were faced with buying a new car. We had already decided that we wanted to look at small crossover SUV's, and were going to look primarily at the Honda CRV and Ford Escape. We stopped by Jim Tidwell Ford and were met by Mike McKenzie. Mike was extremely personable, and really listened to what we were looking for. He asked my wife and I several questions, not to try to drive us to something different, but to really try to understand just what it was that we were looking for and what was important to us. He explained the various differences between the different trim levels of the Escape and allowed us to fine tune our requirements. We then drove one to get a feel, and to make sure that the seat, seat belt, sight lines, etc., met my wife's expectations. During the process we explained that we were looking at a few different makes and models, and also that we had access to a major warehouse club buying service. Mike encouraged us to take a close look at all of the cars we had on our short list. He also explained that they could meet or beat the warehouse club pricing. We left to explore a couple of other options. Later that day, after test driving one of the other options we were looking at, we decided we really needed to go back to re-drive the Escape. We called Mike to see if he was going to be there, and he was. We went back, really fine tuned to the exact trim level we were looking for, and then took the car for a good test drive. During that time, they took a look at our trade-in. When we returned, Mike asked us to wait just a minute, and then returned with the details of their offering price. They were able to beat the warehouse pricing, and offered us a very fair trade-in price for our car. There was no haggling, no going back and forth to the sales manager, or any of the headaches often encountered with buying a car. Their offer was very fair, and we just felt entirely comfortable with the entire process. We handshook on the deal, and then, since it was almost 7:30 in the evening and we hadn't eaten, we asked Mike if we could come back the next day when they opened to finish up the paperwork. He most graciously said yes, and the next morning we returned to the dealership and had a very pleasant experience in closing the deal. Mike took the time to make sure the car had been detailed to our satisfaction, and explained all of the various features in greater detail. When (not if) we are ready to buy another vehicle when my current truck needs replacing, we will certainly go to Jim Tidwell Ford and use Mike McKenzie again. It was without a doubt, the best car buying experience we have ever had.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Tidwell Ford responded to this review

October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! I really appreciate you taking the time in writing this, and letting us know what a great job Mike did. I want to congratulate you on your new car, and hope that it is to your satisfaction. If there is anything else that I can do to further your satisfaction, please feel free to let me know. Enjoy your car! Jeremy Smith, General Manager


(1-10 of 36 reviews)