Planet Subaru

Planet Subaru

596 Washington St, Hanover, MA 02339

New 877-230-6700
Used 866-885-7722
Service 888-483-4871

The only Subaru showroom in the world powered entirely by solar panels on the roof!

Average Ratings

4.9 out of 5.0
30 out of 31 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 31 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Best Car Buying Experience

by from Petersburg, VA |

Buying a car used to be an experience I dreaded, but not anymore. When I went to Planet Subaru it was an experience to enjoy. The Planet Subaru folks are so very knowledgeable, friendly and most helpful. They found the perfect car for me, gave me a good price on my trade-in and a great price on a 2011 Outback. When they advertise an undealership they really mean what they say. I will never buy a car anywhere else. I have friends in Massachusetts and it is worth it to me to make the drive to buy a car from Planet Subaru. Travis was very helpful in arranging an out of state purchase.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

March 7, 2013

Thanks Subaru Fan! Many people from out of state buy cars at Planet so our team knows how to make the process go smoothly.

2.0 out of 5.0

Thanks I'll pass

by from boston, Massachusetts |

I've been looking up reviews for Planet to see if my experience was atypical and the funny thing I've seen is how many reviews appear to be cut and paste jobs over a few websites. Of course they're all positive five star reviews so here's mine which is not. They claim not to negotiate and by gum they don't, except for some of the positive reviews that say they did (like the guy who drove 50 minutes he's everywhere.) Maybe they just don't negotiate with young people? With women? The president likes to reply with some flack about "dropping prices by THOUSANDSSSSS" (emphasis mine) to make the reviewer appear like they wanted to steal the food off the plates of Planet employees. This client didn't but I also have my own lights to keep on and I don't appreciate the smug condescension found in the Planet drinking water. Maybe I'm not a "team player" when it comes to my wallet but if a client is informed and wants to buy my product I'll sell it to them and make it up on the next one because as a business that's what they do. Car prices are negotiable period. But at Planet you need to be something I'm not (which is what exactly?) to play. With the THOUSANDSSSSS I wound up saving by going to another dealer I'm going to donate to an animal shelter and pay for my own vehicle upkeep because the passport program is a gimmick. Or maybe that's where the over paying comes into play? Don't believe the hype. Also since when do sales reps take 3 days to reply to emails? Planet made me really feel like they were doing me a favor to give them loads of money to wait for a car. Like most Subaru dealers in New England they know their cars will sell and have gotten lazy about making the experience pleasant for the client. My sales rep made me feel small, cheap and not welcome. Sorry I don't buy cars on the daily. I know you sell them frequently but can you act like you haven't been asked this question 800 times already? Because it's the first time I'm asking it. Smug: it what makes a dealership Planet.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

July 25, 2015

Felicia, we really work hard to meet or exceed the expectations of every person who contacts us, so we're sorry that you did have an experience that you could rate highly. It is true that we do not discount every car...we have chosen to offer a very aggressive price right up front in the hope that prospective customers will see value and make the drive to see us. For those accustomed to lots of haggling, they may prefer a different dealership where the price starts higher and then they get to see a reduced price (which may still be higher than our advertised price). If we can make amends, please call me at 781-826-4444 or email me at jeff@planetsubaru.com. --Jeff Morrill, owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Great experience

by from Cohasset, MA |

Just bought our 4th car off Subaru Hanover, MA. David Gardner is a great (un)salesman - we love dealing with him, and he always gets us what we need. And the experience we had with Dave Spellman was simply the best we ever had with a Dealership Business Manager. He was great - warm, welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

John, Dave Gardner has been with us since 2006 and Dave Spellman since 2009, so obviously they enjoy working here and making people happy. Glad to know you're among their fans! Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Excellent & Friendly Staff

by from Massachusetts |

This dealership is friendly, honest & transparent! Everything is on your terms and there is no pressure to buy. Looking forward to a long relationship with this dealer. Nic & Deb are fantastic.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

Jay, thanks for your kind words about Deb and Nic. Deb has been with us since 2003, and Nic since 2009. I'm very proud of the way they treat our customers! Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Thank you, Planet Subaru!

by from Cape Cod, MA |

Having been "in the market" for a used vehicle for a few months, we'd visited 3 other dealerships before going to Planet Subaru. The other dealerships left us feeling frustrated & pressured. We finally made our way to Planet Subaru and had a no-stress experience from the start. Greg Norton was professional yet relaxed and gave us all the time we needed. It's a busy dealership so when Greg had other customers to attend to he would hand us off to other staffers. This gave us the opportunity to meet a few others and everyone was kind, friendly and knowledgeable. James in finance was great to deal with as well, working to get us the best possible financing. I work within a mile of another Subaru dealership but it was totally worth it to drive an hour to Planet Subaru for the best deal with the best people. Nicely done, Planet!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

L.B., thanks for your kind words about our team. Greg joined us 2013 when we needed to hire an additional Purchase Partner to accommodate Subaru's growing sales. James joined us in 2010, first as a Purchase Partner and then later we promoted him to Business Manager. I'm glad you experienced the no-stress experience we try so hard to create. Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Our pleasant experience while purchasing a new car

by from Weymouth, ma |

Many thanks to our sales representative, David Gardner, at Planet Suburu in Hanover for making the experience of buying our 2014 Outback a very relaxing and rewarding one. We had not purchased a new car for several years and were a little anxious about buying a new one. David eased our minds and explained all the features of the Outback. He then answered all our questions with knowledge and patience. The highlight was actually sitting in the Outback for the first time and taking a short spin. We are senior citizens who would highly recommend purchasing a car at Planet Suburu in Hanover.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

Bebo, thanks for your kind words about David and your positive experience at Planet. We're very careful in our hiring, and David has been making Planet customers happy since 2006! Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Wonderful Experience at Planet Subaru

by from Dedham, MA |

I recently purchased a slightly used 2014 Forester from Planet, and it could not have been an easier process. Greg greeted me at the front desk when I walked in and he couldn't have been more helpful. After discussing what I was looking for, I was quickly in a car on a test drive. He was very knowledgeable about the vehicle and was able to answer all my questions. He presented me with many financing options, and found one I was comfortable with. He even gave me a fair price for my trade in. After negotiating a couple chocolate chip cookies as part of the deal, I was signing on the dotted line and driving off the lot in my new car even though it was a Sunday. Such a painless process, and highly recommended.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

Mike, Greg is a teddy bear in a industry typical known for attack dogs, so it's no surprise to hear you enjoyed working with him. But it's always nice to get a pat on the back! Thanks, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Leave the insanity and games behind!!

by from N. Attleboro, MA |

We LOVED our experience buying a car from Planet! Nic and Deb took great care of us and did not subject us to the usual garbage games that go on when trying to buy a car. We were actually ready to sign with another dealership when lo and behold, the price we had agreed on wasn't the price on the contract. The other dealership lost our purchase over 105 dollars. It wasn't that we couldn't afford it. It was the principle of it all. Save yourself a splitting headache and go to Planet. We got a great deal, everyone was above board and respectful and friendly. We will NEVER go anywhere else again. Who knew that purchasing a car did not have to be an awful experience?!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

Sally and David, thanks for making the long drive, past other dealerships, to experience our special way of selling cars. I hope you found that the time you spent driving was well spent to avoid the hassles at other dealerships. Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

A respectful, no pressure car dealership? YES!

by from Plymouth, MA |

First, it?s important to say that I was not asked or paid to write this review and everything that happened, is true and can be verified. I say this because, from what I see, hear (and have personally experienced in the past), customer treatment like this is relatively rare at typical auto dealerships. I guess that is why Planet Subaru calls itself the ?undealership.? They do business differently than most, and my husband Joe and I experienced this first-hand. We bought a new 2014 Forester at Planet Subaru and within a few months had an issue with it that we felt was atypical of Subaru cars and needed to be addressed. Though the dealership advertised an ?open door policy,? we wondered how far we would get asking to speak to the dealership?s owner, Jeff Morrill, on a late Friday afternoon and without an appointment. Surprisingly no one asked us why we wanted to talk to him or tried to pawn us off on someone else. Within minutes, Jeff appeared and listened patiently to our concerns. He promised to get back to us soon and he did, calling us the following Monday to offer a solution. We proposed an alternate resolution, anticipating a long drawn-out back and forth before the issue could be resolved. Surprisingly that didn?t happen. Although initially not 100% on-board with our proposal, Jeff strongly advocated for us and convinced Subaru to agree to do their part to solve this issue to our complete satisfaction?quickly, amicably and at no expense to us. In addition, Planet Subaru assumed all of the related costs that Subaru Corporate did not pick up. The dealership also devoted several hours of administrative time. In the process, and by remaining true to his ?undealership? philosophies and business model, Jeff (and his Internet Sales Mgr. Deb and Business mgr. Dave) gained our gratitude, respect and loyalty.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

Kate, we pride ourselves on going the "extra mile." Subaru's are very built, but they are complicated machines, with thousands of parts, so sometimes they need attention. It helps when we're working with people like you who understand that we work very hard to find a good resolution for everybody. Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

New 2014 Forester Touring purchase

by from Plymouth, MA |

Since he has had 2 strokes and has Parkinsonian symptoms, my husband can longer get in and out of a sedan, so I was looking for a new, taller vehicle with seats that are easier for him, and checked out several brand of SUV's, including the Subaru Forester. On a day when I was shopping at the Hanover Trader Joe's, I stopped, on the way home to Plymouth, at Planet Subaru in Hanover to test the ease of access for Bill and the ease of using the tailgate--only those features. It can be difficult to use the tailgate as you get older and sometimes shoulders are not as strong as they once were. I was greeted by Larry Terrio who, it turns out, has extensive experience in the business of medical mobility. He demonstrated that the height and design of the seat would work for my husband, and showed me the power-assisted feature of the tailgate. He understood that I was not free at that time to test out a car and offered to bring one to me (several towns away) if I wanted to try one out. I called him several days later after having taken my husband to a closer dealership to try a Forester (and that agency did not have the car they promised me we could try). Larry was very honest about inventory and delivery possibilities. I had to compromise on color to get a car right away, but I absolutely love our beige 2014 Forester Touring! I bought the cover that slides across the cargo space at the suggestion of my police officer son-in-law who liked the privacy it affords from potential burglers. Life is Good! Larry Terrio provided excellent, low-key guidance in a purchase.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

Nana, thank you for your kind words about our team and our products. We have found that people facing mobility difficulties really love the Forester because the seat height is just right and the door openings are enormous. Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Informative web site

by from Omaha, NE |

Love your web site and wish I lived in your area to be able to do business with you. I currently own a 2004 Camry and am planning on buying a 2015 Outback this summer. Ever since I heard there was going to be a redesign and decided to wait until it came out before buying, I have searched the Internet for the latest pictures and details. Your site always gives me the best information so I check it first. Even though I am not able to buy from you I just wanted you to know how much I enjoy your clever, informative web site (and the Blue, too!).

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Not Applicable
Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Planet Subaru responded to this review

February 25, 2015

Donna, thanks for your compliments all the way from Nebraska! We're proud of our website and what it says about us in terms of our transparent buying process and thorough product knowledge. Best, Jeff Morrill, Owner


(1-10 of 31 reviews)