Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville

125 W Lewis And Clark Pkwy, Clarksville, IN 47129

New 888-846-1002
Used 877-861-5056
Service 866-298-0090

Average Ratings

4.8 out of 5.0
35 out of 36 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 36 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Clapp is the only area VW dealer that I will go to

by from Louisville, KY |

The title says it all--Clapp VW is the only dealer in the area that I will go to. I have tried the other two over the years and had trouble with both, causing me to go back to Clapp every time. Keith, the service writer (manager?) runs a tight shop and keeps a watchful eye over the work that his technicians do, which I appreciate as a customer. One visit, when I had a difficult-to-determine suspension creak with my GTI, he worked first-hand with the technician to take the car on repeated test drives to figure out the root cause to where the issue was originating, and fully fix the problem.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

5.0 out of 5.0

VW Purchase

by from Kentuckiana |

Simple and easy process. Everyone was very helpful and courteous.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

November 25, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We love hearing our customer's feedback! We strive for each customer to have a great experience. Please let us know if we can assist you further! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Certified Used Car Purchase

by from Clarksville, Indiana |

This is our second Jetta purchased from this dealership. Every purchase has been smooth, the staff are friendly and very easy to work with, and always treat us like a member of the family.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

November 25, 2014

We received your compliment and wanted to say Thank You! Here at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville, we want your experience to be the best experience possible. We wish you many happy miles in your Jetta! Please let us know if we can be of further assistance to you. Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Fun, easy, and efficient place to buy a car

by from Jeffersonville IN |

I recently purchased a 2015 VW GTI from Sam Swope (Clarksville IN). I had been familiar with the service department because this was where i regularly took my 2000 Jetta. Prior to visiting the dealership I had looked at a variety of cars on-line, watched YouTube reviews, and read reviews in several car magazines which all led me to choose the Mark 7 GTI. Early in the summer I noticed a new GTI on the Sam Swope lot and paid an impromptu visit. Steven Mayfield greeted me and then we went for a drive. Steven was friendly as well as enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the car. He also guided me on a route that accentuated the delights of driving this car. I decided to wait for the 2-door version which became available in September. Then i went back to the dealership to talk price and to place my order. We quickly and easily came to a mutually agreeable price and the paperwork was completed on the spot. Then came the only serious downside of the entire process--waiting for my car to arrive, which took weeks since VW was just gearing up production of 2-door GTIs. Once the car arrived, i had another pleasant visit to the dealership to process the paperwork and go through a quick orientation session on the car's controls before the car was handed over to me. I cannot say enough good things about what a pleasant experience working with Steven, Sherrry T and the rest of the Sam Swope VW staff was. My experience was worlds different from the stereotypically negative experience one frequently hears about and i can only recommend Steven and theis dealership to anyone. and the car is, i believe, truly a great car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

November 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent purchase at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville. I'm glad Steven and Sherry took such great care of you and made your experience a pleasant one. Everyone at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville wishes you the best, and hope you have many happy miles in your GTI! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Experience, Exceptional Customer Service!

by from Shepherdsville, KY |

My experience at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville was enjoyable. They made buying a new car pleasant instead of the usual hassle. The showroom was very clean and I was greeted by everyone, but I didn't feel overwhelmed or pressured by anybody. They were very knowledgeable and answered any and all questions that I had. The management helped with my trade in. Justin Weyer listened to everything that I wanted in a car and went out of his way to make the final details of the sale easy. I'm very happy with the service that was given to me and I would highly recommend Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville and Justin Weyer for any car buying needs.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

November 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our dealership on Cars.com. Justin is very knowledgeable and efficient when it comes to helping customers find the vehicle that is right for them. We look forward to assisting you further with your automotive needs! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Great price, great buying experience

by from Louisville, KY |

I bought a pre-owned vehicle from Swope Volkswagen in Clarksville. First and foremost, the vehicle was priced very competitively! The buying process was very smooth. Thanks to Doug McNally and team for doing a great job. Also, our sale rep Michael Payton, was a pleasure to work with.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

November 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our dealership. Michael is very efficient when it comes to helping customers find the vehicle that is right for them, and Doug is a real asset to the Sam Swope Volkswagen team! We look forward to assisting you further with your automotive needs. Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service

by from Lexington, Kentucky |

My husband and I had a great experience at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville. The sales team was great, very knowledgeable and easy to work with! If you are looking for a new car, I highly recommend coming here.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

November 12, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We love hearing our customer's feedback! We strive for each customer to have a great experience. Please let us know if we can assist you further! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


4.0 out of 5.0

No complaints here!!!!

by from Indianapolis, IN |

Although I haven't purchased a vehicle from this dealer, the customer service was dead on. Able to get quick responses to any questions and concerns and very kind service. Look forward to doing business in the near future.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We love hearing our customer's feedback. We strive for each customer to have a great experience. Please let us know if we can assist you further! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


4.0 out of 5.0

Problems resolved

by from Lexington, KY |

I recently bought a car here and wrote a review that chronicled my car buying process. I was contacted by the general manager of this dealer and all my concerns were addressed. Mr. Brooks took it on himself to right any wrongs that occurred. Anyone who supervises others know that you cannot control or be there personally for every deal that is made. What you can do is control how you react to problems when they are brought to your attention. While I wish the buying process went more smoothly, I have no problem recommending this dealer because if something does happen, Mr. Brook and his team will take care of you. I requested that my prior review be taken off the site last month but It still appears to be live.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


4.0 out of 5.0

Used car sales

by from Prospect, Kentucky |

Steven Mayfield was our salesman. He had good follow up and was honest. He did a good job and we love the car!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


1.0 out of 5.0

Dubious dealer practices

by from Lexington, KY |

This dealer uses very dubious business practices. I requested a confirmation of a rate before I drove 70 miles to this dealer to purchase a certified pre owned VW. I was given a confirmation only to discover that the salesman had lied to me . I was told my rate would be a full 2 points higher than what I was promised. Salesman also lied to me about getting a standard accessory replaced in the car which was missing. A certified car should have all standard parts to be considered Certified. I was told the part was being located and only after the papers were signed was I informed I was not getting the part on my car. This Certified Pre Owned Volkswagen was also sold with defective tires that were severely cupped and in need of replacement. The car had to be serviced immediately. Ive purchased many new and used cars from new and used dealers alike, never have I been sold a car with an empty tank until Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville did so. Basic customer service does not exist at this dealer. I blame myself for putting basic trust in this dealership. Not again. If you buy here, treat them like you would a con artist and demand confirmation and/or proof of all agreed upon facts.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

December 18, 2012

Toby, my name is Tom Brooks and I am the General Manager here at Sam Swope Volkswagen. I am here to make sure that you are satisfied with your purchase. As I mentioned in my email on Sunday, I ordered the cargo cover for your car last week. The tracking info shows delivery date to be Friday. I am happy to ship to you if you like. I will reach out to you later today both by email and by phone. You can reach me as well at tbrooks@samswope.com or 812-948-1541. Thank You


(1-10 of 36 reviews)