Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville

125 W Lewis And Clark Pkwy, Clarksville, IN 47129

New 888-846-1002
Used 877-861-5056
Service 866-298-0090

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville "Nobody Walks Away"

Average Ratings

4.9 out of 5.0
86 out of 87 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 87 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Clapp is the only area VW dealer that I will go to

by from Louisville, KY |

The title says it all--Clapp VW is the only dealer in the area that I will go to. I have tried the other two over the years and had trouble with both, causing me to go back to Clapp every time. Keith, the service writer (manager?) runs a tight shop and keeps a watchful eye over the work that his technicians do, which I appreciate as a customer. One visit, when I had a difficult-to-determine suspension creak with my GTI, he worked first-hand with the technician to take the car on repeated test drives to figure out the root cause to where the issue was originating, and fully fix the problem.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

4.0 out of 5.0

Great Service

by from Kentucky |

I liked the way they to respond to all the customer questions. Thanks for the Justin Burton for helping me in finding out the right car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

Julia Schilmiller

by from Clarksville, Indiana |

I had a great experience buying my vehicle through Sam Swope Volkswagon in Clarksville, Indiana. I personally got to deal with Michael Payton. He was a very helpful sales consultant. I really enjoyed my experience with this dealership.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

May 18, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our dealership. Michael is very efficient when it comes to helping customers find the vehicle that is right for them, and a real asset to the Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville team! We look forward to assisting you further with your automotive needs. Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Excellent Service!!

by from Clarksville,IN |

While being at Sam Swope Volkswagen in Clarksville I experienced nothing but positive attitudes and helpful salesmen. I would absolutely reccommend this dealer to a friend for their next car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

May 9, 2015

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We love hearing our customer's feedback! We strive for each customer to have a great experience. Please let us know if we can assist you further. Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Couldn't ask for much better

by from Louisville, KY |

Walked in Saturday morning of last week and told Mark, the sales rep, I needed a 20 minute walk through of what they were offering. He gave me the 15 minute version. I went up to Cincy. Got back in town at 5.30 and headed over to the dealership to test drive their Jetta TDI. Mark had the numbers already ran on the car I had noted earlier. I test drove it and got back after the dealership had closed. Still, the essential employees stayed around and walked me through the process. It was simple, they got me all the discounts and rebates they could, gave me a good trade-in value, and even helped transfer the contents of my old car into the Jetta--in the pouring rain! Mark was awesome to work with during and after. Definitely a recommended dealership that will do right by you.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

May 1, 2015

Mark will be thrilled to hear that he made your car buying experience a pleasurable one. He goes above and beyond for his customer's satisfaction. He is a vital member here at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville. Thank you for sharing your recent experience and we look forward to assisting you in the future! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


4.0 out of 5.0

Michael helped me enter into my "Soccer Mom" years

by from Indiana |

I have been searching for the vehicle to transition into the Mini-van era of my life. I found a VW Routan at Sam Swope online and decided to take a trip down to Clarksville before heading to the mall. I called ahead to let them know I would like to test drive the van if possible. I was traveling with my 2 year old son and didn't really know how this was going to go. Mr. Burger stated he was looking forward to our visit and that he would see us soon. That is exactly how I felt when we arrived. Michael (the salesmen) met me at the door (it was pouring down rain). He opened the door and there was the van. Pulled nicely inside for myself and my excited 2 yr old to look at. My son, less excited about the van and more into the dune buggy they had on display. Michael was helpful, knowing we are working with a limited amount of time before we have a terrible 2 melt down. He was quick and friendly. He helped with the carseat unloading and we went on our way. After the test drive, the rest of the staff was extremely nice in helping occupy my son while we talked numbers. One man (didn't catch his name) talked to my son about dirt bikes and another employee gave him a toy dirt bike along with a slice of pizza! I was so appreciative of the kindness this staff showed my son and I. The entire process with drive included took about 3 hours. They gave us a fair deal on our trade and... well now the soccer mom chapter of my life begins! :)

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

April 29, 2015

Thank you for sharing with us on Cars.com. Robert and Michael are great at making the customer feel comfortable about their purchase. We know buying a vehicle is a huge experience and we want it to be as easy as possible! Thank you for choosing Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville for your car needs. Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

justin burton of sam swope of claksville in

by from eliazabet in 47117 |

justin was very professional thoughout entire process and very knowledgable he was very plesant to work with and polite

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

April 29, 2015

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We love hearing our customer's feedback and I'm glad Justin took great care of you. We strive for each customer to have a great experience. Please let us know if we can assist you further! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Wonderful car buying experience!

by from Jeffersonville, IN |

This is the third vehicle we have purchased from this dealer and salesman Mark Wolpert. We could not be happier with the customer service! Mark is a no pressure salesperson who took the time to make sure we got the 'perfect fit' vehicle for our family. Sherry Tribbey helped with all our financing needs and was very patient with us! The VW TDI Golf is comfortable, affordable, and looks great (came off the lot sparkling)! I highly recommend this dealership to anyone looking for a new or used car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

April 13, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our dealership on cars.com. Mark is very knowledgeable and efficient when it comes to helping customers find the vehicle that is right for them. We look forward to assisting you further with your automotive needs! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Awesome service! Worked with my family and I well.

by from Jeffersonville, IN |

I plan on coming back to this lot if I ever have to buy a car again. I worked with Justin Burton and he was the best! He even drove the car that I wanted to show my dad and that's the reason that we have the car now! He was great! I had the best experience here!!! If I ever was to come back I would want to work with Justin again!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

April 7, 2015

Justin is a great Sales Associate and takes the time to ensure that his customers are satisfied with their car buying experience! Please let us know if we can be of further assistance. Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Excellent Service

by from Clarksville, IN |

Justin Burton assisted me in purchasing a used car. His customer service skills were commendable. This dealership went above and beyond in assiting me in purchasing a vehicle.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

April 2, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. Justin is a great Sales Associate and takes the time to ensure that the customer is satisfied with their car buying experience. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


5.0 out of 5.0

Best Sales Experience EVER!

by from Mitchell, Indiana |

After a lot of debating, I decided to buy my first ever brand new vehicle - I had the pleasure of working with the new car manager Sherry Tribbey, who worked my credit application up and had an answer for me the day before I even walked into the dealership. My sales representative, Mark Wolpert, went above and beyond to answer any and all questions I had about the different vehicles (I was choosing between three, so I was a bit questionable about all the different specs). They made this experience very enjoyable and I never once felt pressured into buying or looking at something I did not want. All the staff are extremely courteous and are prompt to take care of anything you would need. I will, without a doubt, be visiting them again when I am in need of my next new vehicle!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville responded to this review

March 31, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent purchase at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville. I'm glad Mark and Sherry took such great care of you and made your experience a pleasant one. Everyone at Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville wishes you the best! Sincerely, Barry Fox VP/General Manager Sam Swope Volkswagen of Clarksville


(1-10 of 87 reviews)