Continental Toyota/Scion

Continental Toyota/Scion

6701 S La Grange Rd, Hodgkins, IL 60525

New 866-434-9076
Used 888-248-6912
Service 888-221-2906

Simplest Path to a Great Deal!

Average Ratings

4.6 out of 5.0
25 out of 28 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 28 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Excellent car buying experience

by from Alsip, IL |

We purchased a certified used 2012 Toyota Highlander from Dean Rio at Continental. The whole experience was great. Dean listened to us and helped us get everything we wanted at a price we were comfortable with. He didn't rush us and was happy to show us several cars before we settled on the one. I was so happy with my Toyota, with Dean, and Continental that I brought my mom back there to purchase her own.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

January 19, 2015

Hi Holly! First of all, thank you for taking the time to write us this great review :) We are very appreciative of customer feedback. Dean is a great member of our team and we are happy you were able to see that and enjoyed working with him. Congrats on your Highlander, what a great car! Enjoy & we look forward to working with you again in the future!

2.0 out of 5.0

Great service, but price negotiation was dishonest

by from Danville, Kentucky |

We purchased a vehicle from Continental Toyota in February 2015. The customer service was fantastic. We came from out of state and the individuals we worked with (Nicole and Michael) were very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our questions. They were quick to respond to emails and phone calls. They made the process straight-forward and painless given that we did a lot of the work over the phone and email from out of town. We very much appreciated their help with the process. They were also quick to arrange for taking care of registration and sales paperwork from our home state after we returned home. I can't say enough good about how great their customer service was. On the other hand, we were disappointed with our interactions with the used car manager (Gerry). We traded in our current vehicle and were given a "low ball" estimate for our trade-in over email given that he hadn't seen it in person. It was explained to us that this would be the absolute minimum that they would offer, assuming that it was in "clunker" condition. We were also told that if we arrived and the car was in "good" condition that the final trade-in price would be within a "few hundred dollars" of the Kelley Blue Book trade-in amount for a car in "good" condition (about $2,000 higher than the "low ball" estimate). We did not think this unreasonable given the situation. When we arrived we got the car inspected, however, we were told that the original offer still stood at the original "low ball" estimate. We explained that this was not what we were originally led to believe in our email communications, especially since there was no evidence that our car was in "clunker" condition. After some conversation he bumped the offer up by $500, still about $1,500 less than the indicated KBB amount. We complained that this was still not what we had been told in the original agreement made over email. We then had a sit-down with Gerry to further discuss the trade-in amount. He said that the Kelley Blue Book value is different in Chicago than the rural area that we were from. We informed him that we had already estimated the KBB amount with the Chicago zip code and that the values were identical. He said "oh" and then switched arguments, saying that there was another dealership up the street that they are in direct competition with and thus they couldn't offer us any more or they would lose money, and so his hands were tied. We informed him that this is still not what we had been told over email, which was that the trade-in amount would be based on the condition of the car, not their interests in competition with the dealership up the street. He admitted that "yes, your car is in good condition" but that there was nothing he could do. After a few more minutes, he agreed to bump up the price another $250, but this was still $1,250 less than the KBB trade-in amount had indicated. Nonetheless, this is where we ended up given that we were from out of state and had already driven all the way there. Later that afternoon when we were taking care of the financial paperwork, the finance person (Chris - who was great and very easy to work with!) was telling us that their company owned several of the dealerships in the area, including the one up the street that Gerry had referred to. I asked if they considered themselves to be in direct competition for sales given that they were owned by the same company and he said "no, we really don't see it that way." This was exactly the opposite of what Gerry had told us as a justification for why they were not able to uphold the agreement that we had made over email on our trade-in value. Ultimately, we feel that Gerry did not negotiate the value of our trade-in in good faith and that he was dishonest with us throughout the process. SUMMARY: The customer service is great, but the trade-in value negotiation process is not done honestly or in good faith at Continental Toyota.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

March 18, 2015

Hi Ben and Katie, I am terribly sorry you feel this way. I know you sent me this review before you posted, and asked if I would change anything. I didn't because I believe if you feel this way and wish to post what you feel, I am wrong to prevent it. When there is a trade involved, we do our level best to assess with fairness on both sides, but more yours that ours. Unfortunately it seems we did not give you as much as you expected. Your happiness matters to us, and I am sorry you left feeling as you do. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

Easy & pleasurable experience

by from Darien, il |

I had the pleasure of dealing with Continental Toyota recently. I dealt with Al Zaremba & was very satisfied with the whole experience....he went out of his way to accommodate all my needs. It was quick & easy. The whole staff was friendly & helpful. I was impressed with this dealership and, of course, we're thrilled with our new Toyota Camry.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

September 9, 2014

Hi Gloria, Thank you for your comments. Having someone refer to dealering with a car dealer "a pleasure" is a very high compliment. We try our level best to make buying a car simple, and even fun. we are grateful for your business, and this kind words. Please join us on Sept 17th for our New Owner's Clinic. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

FRIENDLY AND SUFFICENT SERVICE

by from BURBANK, IL |

WENT TO CONTINENTAL TOYOTA IN HODGKINS TO FIND A NEW CAR. SPENT SEVERAL HOURS LOOKING AND WAS ABLE TO LOOK AROUND WITHOUT ANYONE HASSLING US. MEET DEAN RIO AND WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND INFORMATIVE. WE BOUGHT A NEW RAV4 AND WENT HOME IN A FEW HOURS AFTER LOOKING. DEAN RIO IS VERY GOOD AT HIS JOB AND WOULD RECOMMEND HIM TO OTHERS.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

September 9, 2014

Hi Henry, Dean is very good at his job. the trick is, he enjoys people. It seems everyone he works with becomes his friend. We think this is how buying a car should be; easy, and even fun. we are grateful for your business, and this kind review. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

Great experience at Continental Toyota

by from Burbank, IL |

I just bought my first used Toyota at Continental. I had Jim Francis as my salesman and he was excellent. It was obvious that he had years of experience doing his job and that he wanted you to have the car that was best for you. Everyone I met was professional and I'd recommend Continental as the first place to check out when looking for a car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

July 11, 2014

Hi Mali, Thank you for posting here. This is not a typical dealership, and a used car here, is not really like a used car. We are always mindful of what we would expect if we were the customer, and we are much more critical than anyone. this way, we believe we are doing things as you would like. I am grateful for your review, and recommendation. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

reasonable people to do business with

by from Frankfort,Il |

My purchase was smooth, and did not have any of the "used car: shenanigans that are still used at many dealerships. Dean and Amanda were both professional and accommodating. It was clear that they wanted to earn my business.... which they did.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

June 20, 2014

Ron, wow! I believe you have now posted everywhere. Thank you very much. I do find the statement "reasonable people to do business with" to be a very high compliment. We never have "shenanigans" here. Just simple straight forward people who like dealing with other people. Thank you for so much recognition for our people Dean and Amanda. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service

by from Chicago |

Karolina did great job for trade in my car, Thanks a lot for your help...

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

June 12, 2014

Behrouz, Thank you for your review. Karolina is very easy to deal with. She understands the importance in making things work well for you. That always works well for us. Please join us for our New Owner's Clinic on July 16th. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

Mostafa Atra is Excellent

by from La Grange |

I just purchased my second Toyota from Continental and Mostafa Atra was my salesman. He is a great human being and I highly recommend him. He is very friendly and creates a low pressure and low stress buying experience. I love my cars. I'll be a return customer. Larry

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

June 15, 2014

Hi Larry, You must be happy to post in this many places. Thank you so much for your compliments and recommendation. Mostafa is a good guy and truly genuine in nature. We all know coming in to a dealership can be stressful. We make it easy, and even fun. Thank you again,. Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

3RD PURCHASE FROM CONTINTENTAL

by from WILLOW SPRINGS |

DEAN RIO WAS MY SALESPERSON AND HE WAS A PLEASURE TO DEAL WITH THROUGHOUT THE PURCHASE PROCESS. HE IS CORDIAL, KNOWLEDGEABLE, SOFT SPOKEN, AND VERY ACCOMMODATING AND WILL WORK WITH YOU TO FIND THE VEHICLE (AND ACCESSORIES) THAT IS RIGHT FOR YOU.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

June 12, 2014

Vida, Thank you for your review, and such nice compliments of Dean. He does make the buying process easy. In fact, he even makes it fun. We appreciate your business, and your time to post here. I hope to see you for our New Owner's Clinic on July 16th Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

2nd car bought here!

by from Chicago |

This is the second car I've purchased from Continental and Jim...I can't say too much about the cars except they exceed all expectations...I think Jim is your biggest asset...thoroughly professional and ever the closer...all in all a wonderful experience...thanks...

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

June 7, 2014

Hi Judith, 2nd car? Thank you so very much for the continued trust. It says a great deal about your relationship with us. We treat folks as we would wish to be treated. We know this removes most of the stress associated with buying a car. We are grateful for your business, and your time to post here. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


5.0 out of 5.0

Dean Rio...Excellent Sales Consultant

by from Bolingbrook, IL |

Recently, we bought a new Camry 2014. This was our 2nd vehicle from Continental Toyota. We also have a 2011 Siena. Dean Rio was our Sales Consultant. He was exceptionally thorough from start to the end. He was very helpful with setting all the systems that was offered in the new Camry. The whole process of purchasing our new Camry was "stress free". We recommend Dean Rio to our family and friends. The service was Excellent!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Continental Toyota/Scion responded to this review

June 3, 2014

"Stress Free"? Buying a car? How can this be? We understand this is how everyone sees buying a car. We know it doesn't have to be that way, so we make it better by answering questions and providing good information, easily. Dean is a good example of this. He is an easy fellow to talk to, and hides nothing. People don't need to fear coming here. We are just regular people who like what we do fro all the right reasons; our customers. I appreciate your business, and time to post your thoughts. Sincerely, Dennis Pecho


(1-10 of 28 reviews)