Germain Toyota

Germain Toyota

5711 Scarborough Blvd, Columbus, OH 43232

New 888-211-7080
Used 866-739-9280
Service 866-812-8611

The Right Car, The Right Price, The Right Way

Average Ratings

4.7 out of 5.0
96 out of 104 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 104 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Car buying experience

by from Pickerington, Ohio |

We have purchased many vehicles from Germain Toyota. This particular instance is the first time for a new car. We bought a 2015 Highlander. This has been one of the most enjoyable experiences for a purchase ever! Chris Davis, our salesperson, is genuine, knowledgeable, and a no-nonsense type of person. I trust him and that's huge this day and age. I think he always has had our best interests in mind while we shopped for a new car. Every person we have encountered over the years at Germain have been exceptional and outstanding. And that includes servicing our vehicles at Germain too. The new facility is outstanding and modern. I've had interactions with 3 service individuals over the past 4-5 months and each one has been courteous, friendly, but more importantly knowledgeable. They have always taken the time to answer thoroughly any questions I've asked them. When I bring a car in for service, and it's almost always been routine or scheduled maintenance, my car is taken, the service performed, and returned when promised. It doesn't get any better than that. My most recent visit at Germain was for routine service on two cars; an older 2009 Camry and an hour later a 2015 Highlander. When the Camry was completed I was waiting for my wife to bring in the Highlander and I was asking the service person a quick question and there was a knock on the glass wall separating the service kiosk from the sales area and I looked up and it was Chris, our sales person for the Highlander just saying "Hi." The best part is I was happy to see him!!! This has been a very positive experience and I'm happy to be a Germain customer.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

August 4, 2015

We truly appreciate you sharing your positive experience with us here at Germain Toyota of Columbus. We are honored that you have chosen our dealership as your Toyota go to dealership and look forward to continuing to provide you with quality service for years to come. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager

4.0 out of 5.0

Found car I was looking for.

by from Westerville, OH |

The dealership was very accommodating to my search request and did a great job finding the vehicle I was looking for.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


2.0 out of 5.0

My car buying experience was not an enjoyable one

by from Columbus Ohio |

Before I start let me say that I am not one who usually goes on and writes reviews online. I also am not some squeaky wheel, trying to get the proverbial grease. I am however a consumer who went into Germain Toyota and 3 months later finally walked out with a dependable car. Also, this is just my situation and this is in no way trying to lower the credibility of Germain Toyota, there are plenty of excellent reviews online and at points they went above and beyond for me and I am grateful for that. However, my car purchasing experience was anything but smooth, in fact it was hell. At one point I was in the Germain dealership at least twice a week. I walked in on December 28th 2014 and bought a 2011 Hyundai Elantra with 51,000 miles on it from David Backherms. I told Dave that I needed a car that would allow me to get and from school and something that would be reliable. During the initial transaction David told me he had worked with Germain Toyota for a few years and seemed to be pretty knowledgeable about the car and got me in and out of the dealership fairly quickly, this was also aided by the fact that I didn?t haggle too much as I felt the price was fair and also I was on a time crunch. Within 3 weeks the brakes began to make a crunching sound and the car wouldn?t always start on the first try. I called David and he told me to bring it in as it was still within the initial dealership warranty of 60 days and 2000 miles. I obliged and when I got there, David told me he?d send it off to service for me and get the brakes resurfaced. I thanked him and asked him about a loaner car as this process wouldn?t allow me to do my daily functions without one. David told me they didn?t give out loaner cars and I would have to either rent a car, for $35 a day or see if my parents could drive me around. I didn?t think that was the truth and ended up speaking to Rob McClurkin later that week. He told me that it sounded like it was an issue with the starter and he then proceeded to set me up with a loaner car, no problem. When I told David about this he told me he ?didn?t know they did that,? and that he ?should have asked.? Fair enough, everyone makes mistakes, no biggie. Later that week Dave called me and told me that they could not find out what was wrong with the car and that they were going to send it back. I told him that I didn?t want the car if they didn?t fix it and he told me they didn?t find anything to fix, after a few back and forth sessions of this I asked Dave to speak to a manager and I was given the run around about how they wouldn?t be able to do anything about it and so forth. I reminded him that they were the ones who got me a loaner car when he told me they didn?t loan out cars. We had a 10 minute conversation and I ended it by telling him, if they sent the car back, unfixed that they could keep it and I?d like a different one. Our call ended at 12:56pm, David called me back at 1:01pm and told me they found the problem and they were going to fix it. What a coincidence. After getting my car back I had more trouble with it and I ended up having to swap it out, which was an entirely different issue within itself. Management was extremely difficult to get in contact with; I called Rob McKlurkin multiple times and didn?t hear back for 2 days. The only time I would receive a call back from management was when I would call Greg, after which anybody who hadn?t called me in the previous days would call me within the next few hours. On the day of the purchase I was told that I had to make a decision on a car that day, otherwise I?d have to drive the Elantra back home until I could because they were ?losing money? on the loaner car! The day I went in to chose another car, I was told Greg was busy and I wasn't going to be speaking with him directly. I felt like this was a bit disrespectful, since they were so courteous while I was purchasing the car and I felt like since the original car I bought was faulty that I should be a top pri

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

July 14, 2015

Thank you for reaching out regarding your experience with our dealership. We sincerely apologize and would like to discuss these events further with you as what you describe is not typical of a Germain experience and I'm greatly concerned. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. I can be reached at 614-383-5289. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great used car buying experience

by from Pickerington, OH |

We went looking for a good used SUV within a certain price range. The salesman took lots of time to show us the vehicles within our price range and safety features we wanted. We found the perfect fit for us and he took care of all the other important details. We are the happy owners of a great used vehicle that we feel will give us many more years of service.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

June 27, 2015

We thank you for sharing your positive sales experience and for your business. We all look forward to building a lasting relationship. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Lemons into Lemonaid

by from Blacklick, Ohio |

I have a long standing positive relationship with Germain Toyota, having purchased numerous new Toyotas from them over the past 25+ years. My customer experiences have been consistently positive during this time. However, during a recent service visit, I had a disappointing 'un-Germain' like experience. After sharing my experience with Ralph Cumston, I was very impressed with his ability to recover my confidence. Ralph listened to my concerns empathetically, he investigated them thoroughly and he responded in a very timely fashion. His resolution exceeded my expectation. I am pleased to say that my experience with Ralph has restored my confidence in Germain. I look forward to continuing my relationship with this fine locally owned business.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

June 10, 2015

We thank you for your business over the past 25+ years and sincerely apologize for the recent visit that did not live up to your expectations. We are grateful that you allowed Ralph the opportunity to address your concern and look forward to continuing to provide you with quality service throughout your ownership. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Costumer Service

by from Columbus, OH |

I normally avoid dealerships due to pushy salesmen but at Germain Toyota I didn't feel pressured and the salesman (Chris Wilson) was not pushy. It was a great experience for a first time car buyer. I walked away with a car but also walked away feeling pleased with my purchase. The environment was friendly and my salesman's personality (being kind, helpful, professional, friendly, and not pushy) really helped sell the car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

June 10, 2015

Thank you for your business and your kind words regarding your experience with Chris. Enjoy your new ride! Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Repeat Customer back for 3rd Vehicle

by from Columbus, Ohio |

Tyson Murta was our sales person. Though new to the business, he was able to answer all of our questions. He was not pushy or impatient. We picked a day with pouring rain to shop, and he offered to bring vehicles to us versus walking the lot. We ended up upgrading and spending $5k-$7k more than planned but did not leave with buyer's remorse. Bill Adkins in the financing department explained the warranties. We never felt pressured. He did a great job of offering the services that fit our lifestyle and needs. He got us in and out quickly without making us feel like a number. Both Tyson and Bill shared stories about their families. It makes me more comfortable as a buyer to feel a personal connection. (Bill's first grandchild is one lucky girl with a car already!) Tony Shaw also helped get us in the door with a trade in value we felt more comfortable with over another dealer's offer.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

May 19, 2015

Thank you for your continued business and loyalty to Toyota and Germain. We greatly appreciate your kind words and your business. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Best Car Buying Experience to Date!

by from Columbus Ohio |

Veronica Azzalina was the best! I'd been saving up for the past four years for my dream car. She not only helped me find it but pointed out all the features the car had and helped me set everything up. I had FUN purchasing my car. Please ask for her if you are looking for a stress free experience. She has a wonderful personality and really gets to know you as a person to match you with the perfect car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

May 13, 2015

We are thrilled that Veronica provided you a fun car buying experience. Thank you for sharing and for your business. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Maintenance

by from Delaware, OH |

I'm not from this area, so I did not really know where to go to get my car service done. I heard about Germain Toyota and gave it a try. I really enjoyed the people I worked with, and they got everything done in a quick, efficient manner.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

May 4, 2015

We thank you for choosing Germain Toyota of Columbus for your service needs. We look forward to building a lasting relationship. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

great service

by from Dayton, Ohio |

Germain Toyota is a great place to buy a vehicle. My salesperson was David Backherms however Brian Scott was also very helpful while David was finding the Camry I was looking for. After we drove the car they made the process very simple. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a vehicle.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

April 27, 2015

You business as is your kind words are greatly appreciated. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

No pressure, but real, competent help

by from Columbus, OH |

Thank you, Germain Toyota staff, for helping me purchase the Prius I most wanted, and giving me a friendly, gracious, highly informative experience. Thanks for listening carefully, responding to me, and giving me options, without pressure. Thank you, Chris Davis, for walking me through the whole process with assurance (and for helping adjust the car to fit a short person). Thanks to others who kindly introduced themselves. I felt supported by a caring team--how often does a person get that? You're the best! --Susan

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Germain Toyota responded to this review

April 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your positive sales experience with our team here at Germain Toyota. We are pleased that you felt supported as all of us are here for you and are truly dedicated to customer satisfaction. Best Regards, Rich Newsome General Manager


(1-10 of 104 reviews)