Vaughn Automotive

Vaughn Automotive

1311 Vaughn Dr, Ottumwa, IA 52501

New 888-702-1985
Used 877-334-5083
Service 888-291-2387

We're Dealin'!

Average Ratings

3.9 out of 5.0
29 out of 37 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 37 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Enjoying our Cruze

by from Albia, IA |

We were very pleased that we were able to buy the Cruze for about the same as we did our 2009 Malibu. Everything went smoothly.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

1.0 out of 5.0

Where is our title and registration

by from Keystone, IA |

It's been 43 days since we bought our Corvette from Vaughn's. we're still waiting for our title and registration to show up. You are only supposed to drive on a bill of sale for 30 days in Iowa.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

August 29, 2015

Jim, Thanks for taking time to review our dealership. Again I am sorry for the delay in getting your vehicle titled. Once we realized our error we expedited the paperwork and I followed up myself to make sure it was complete. Thanks again for your business! Josh VanNess, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Fast Friendly Service

by from Ottumwa, IA |

Super fast service - 30 minutes, thereabouts, for an oil change, tire rotation and new wiper blades. Friendly staff and I love that Mandy emails me a reminder to bring my car in for service. Keep up the good work.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

August 29, 2015

Thanks for the review!


5.0 out of 5.0

2015 Chevy Trax

by from Hedrick,IA |

Had a excellent experience, very thoughtful staff, excellent customer service, Seth Urgenson and Sheri Fane was very helpful, would definitely recommend

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

August 29, 2015

Thanks for the review, enjoy your new Trax!


1.0 out of 5.0

Mislead & worst customer service

by from Tipton, Iowa |

>Warning Car salesman-"James L." and Vaughn Automotive for allowing this type of customer service (or so called service) at there business >This dealership is obviously OK with their data, trust, ethical practices to be incorrect and wrong and also being disrespecting to the customer/consumer & that it is the customer/consumer to be i guess at fault? Well that was my experience. So in other words the most worst & horrible customer service I've ever seen and dealt with. >I would NEVER recommend anyone to come buy or even think about buying a vehicle from this place unless you are OK with being lied to, mislead and then being accused of it being your fault. >>My husband and I were highly interested in a truck that Vaughn Automotive had for sale on their website so we called the next morning and were reassured by "James" that the truck was on the lot and was indeed for sale, and that we could put a $500 deposit on the truck to hold it until we could get there on Saturday. We did not put a deposit down(thank god) because we knew we wouldn't get that money back. Then the next day "James" emailed stating that truck was sold the previous morning (this is the same morning we called and same morning that he told us it was there and was available) in his email it stated that a buyer had came the night before we called and took the truck home! So if we had put $500 down on this truck to hold it, when we had came on Saturday first it wasn't going to be there and second they were just going to help us find another truck that would suit us. I'm sorry but DON'T assume that you would have another truck that would work for us. That is for us to decide not a dealership or a salesman. What horrible customer service to not physically go outside and use your eyes and check your inventory, when you knew a gentlemen had already picked up the truck to take home the night before we even called. Then turn this situation around and blame the customer(ME) for it being our fault for talking numbers over the phone. I understand you don't need any numbers from me when I'm already authorized from my bank to pay what a want in whatever amount i choose. I was going to the dealership on Saturday with check IN HAND to pay for this truck IN FULL, whether we chose to do a trade-in or not. So in the end, "Vaughn Automotive" WILL NEVER get business from me or whoever I know. Good luck to whoever goes and deals with them, but did I warn you. This is what gives a car salesman such a bad name and now I can see why.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

June 24, 2015

KW, Thanks for taking time to leave your feedback. I would like to start by saying I'm sorry your experience was not what it should have been. We never want to mislead anyone and from what you wrote it sounds like as soon as James realized his mistake he informed you the truck had sold. I would like to understand your frustration after that so I can learn from what happened and get your help to improve our process. Please call my cell phone at 641-799-5955. Thanks, Josh VanNess, Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Routine Maintenance

by from Ottumwa, IA |

Everyone is always so helpful. I love that you provide a shuttle service, it makes it easier to drop off my car and go on to work instead of waiting for it.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

August 29, 2015

Thanks for the review!


5.0 out of 5.0

Very professional

by from Waukee, IA |

Very professional and nice and neat and cool and awesome.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

August 29, 2015

Thanks for the review!


1.0 out of 5.0

Doesn't bother to respond to inquiries

by from Riverside, IA |

I recently inquired about 2 separate vehicles on 2 separate occasions, and never heard back from Vaughn either time. Honestly, what is the point of having a "contact dealer" form if you're not going to respond to customer questions? I don't mind making a drive to Ottumwa, but I'm not going to do so if I can't even have basic questions answered before investing the time and effort. With its lackadaisical customer service, this dealership is costing itself business (including mine).

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

April 8, 2015

Jackson, Thanks for taking time to leave your feedback. Sorry we did not responded to your requests, that is not how we want to do business. I would like to get more info so I can find out where the failure is. How did you contact us, etc. Please email or call me directly on my cell 641-799-5955. Thanks. Josh VanNess, Owner joshv@vaughnautomotive.com


5.0 out of 5.0

2015 YUKON DENALI

by from St. Paul Mn |

Great discounts very fast transaction,special thanks to Gabby.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

April 8, 2015

Thanks for the feedback!


5.0 out of 5.0

Overall purchases, service, and just good people

by from Bloomfield Iowa |

I can't even imagine trying to go to another dealer after all my many cars and trucks that I have purchased from Vaughn motorsl..starting with the original owner downtown Ottumwa. My first Cadillac was a deal made with the owner and I was very shocked with the wonderful deal Mr. Vaughn gave me. The service and purchases have continued with the owner/operator now(grandson of that wonderful Mr. Vaughn)...Our salesman that we use all the time now is Bill and he is a go get it done type of salesman. We have NEVER regretted any purchase we have made with VAUGHN MOTORS,OTTUMWA IOWA

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

April 8, 2015

Thanks for your continued business and taking time to leave feedback. Josh VanNess


1.0 out of 5.0

avoid!

by from nowhere iowa |

Giving 1 star bc I have to in order to leave this review. Was beyond disappointed when I tried to purchase a car and was lied to and given the run around for 4 days. Went to another dealer and was approved and bought a car that is nicer and newer than anything vaughn automotive declined to finance me for. Would not EVER suggest them to anyone else!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Vaughn Automotive responded to this review

April 8, 2015

Sorry your experience was not what it should have been. Josh VanNess


(1-10 of 37 reviews)