Deter Motor Company

100 E 2nd St, Atlantic, IA 50022

New 855-780-4094 New855-780-4094
Used 877-780-5268 Used877-780-5268
Service 866-385-5183 Service 866-385-5183

"Experience the Deter Difference!"


Average Ratings

4.9 out of 5.0

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 41 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Drove 10 hours RT, because of Chas. Excellent Serv

by from Moberly, MO |

My husband and I researched buying a truck for months, one caught my attention and from the moment I contacted the dealer I experienced nothing but top notch service. We live 5 hours away from the dealer, so everything was completed through texts, phone calls and email. Having purchased over 10 cars in my life I would have never thought that I would do my car buying business this way, Chas was very up-front and honest about the used (7year old truck) truck I was purchasing. My biggest fear was that we would drive all that way and would be totally disappointed. When we arrived at the dealership, we found out that he moved the truck inside for us because it looked like it was going to rain. As we were looking at the truck, he told us that as he was doing a final inspection he noticed that the rear driver cap over the light was lose and he called around town to find the part to have it fixed before we arrived. He couldn't find it, so he ordered the part and mailed it to us. What kind of salesperson does stuff like that! A top notch one does. Everyone we interacted with provided excellent service, and I will definitely be returning. There is a reason why many people travel across time zones to do business with this dealership in a little small town in SE Iowa, because they do things right.

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Buying Process
  • Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

May 11, 2016

Thank you for writing this fantastic review and giving our dealership such an excellent star rating! It is great to hear we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Feel free to call or stop by if there is anything else we can do for you. And don't forget to take advantage of our exclusive coupons by following us on Facebook.Elvis Haas, GSM - determotorgsm@hotmail.com


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service Department

by from Cumberland, IA |

The Service Department was great, all I needed was an oil change and maintenance check, and they cover it all in excellent time, my wait time was short. Also let me know that even though my vehicle recommendations were for an oil change when the vehicle prompted me which was at over 6000 miles, that they recommended that I do it at 3000 to 4000 miles, which is when did that on my old vehicle.

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Not Applicable
    Buying Process
  • Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

May 25, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review! Our team works very hard to ensure each of our customers is satisfied with the service experience. We look forward to working with you again; be sure to take advantage of our exclusive specials by visiting us on Facebook. Julie Fischer, Service Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service

by from Atlantic, IA |

Deter Motors has served the Atlantic, IA for 50 years and has always provided my family with friendly staff and prompt service.

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Buying Process
  • Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

February 16, 2016

Paul - Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our team works incredibly hard to exemplify Deter Motor Co's commitment to customer service. Please continue to visit us whenever you have questions, and we'll continue to provide great service! Take care! Best, Julie Fischer, Service Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Buying exerience and upkeep.

by from Emerson, IA |

The buying experience was easy with no pressure from the sales crew. The regular serviceing of my car was fast and friendly. Glad I bought my car at Deter Motors.

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Buying Process
  • Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

February 16, 2016

Kevin - We are truly dedicated to providing quality customer service in all areas of our dealership. Thank you for taking the time to notice those efforts and for leaving such awesome review! We are always pleased to hear back from happy customers. Until we have the pleasure of working with you again please be sure to like us on Facebook. Best, Julie Fischer, Service Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Amazing personal attention

by from Atlantic, Iowa |

They do excellent service, they know me and take care of us amazingly well! Wouldn't trust my family of cars anywhere else!

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Buying Process
  • Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

March 18, 2016

Thank you for visiting our service department and for leaving the kind words. We plan to continue giving great customer service and a comfortable place for all our guests during their stay at our dealership. Julie Fischer, Service Manager -


5.0 out of 5.0

Nice, neat waiting area.

by from Atlantic, IA |

A place to sit while waiting. Friendly personnel to stop & say hi. Hot coffee offered. Sales person sat & visited with me.

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Not Applicable
    Buying Process
  • Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

March 18, 2016

We appreciate your input, Kent. Glad to hear that you were impressed with the service we offer here at Deter Motors. If there is anything more we can do for you please come back and see us any time! Take care! Julie Fischer, Service Manager -


5.0 out of 5.0

Good service

by from Atlantic Iowa |

The sale staff was excellent and very helpful especially with the title issues. We were excited about the free oil changes

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Buying Process
  • Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

March 18, 2016

We appreciate your marvelous feedback, David. It is our commitment to ensure quality customer care by providing a high level of quality as well as friendly and professional service to our guests. Please come see us for any future needs! Thanks again. Elvis Haas, GSM - determotorgsm@hotmail.com


5.0 out of 5.0

I'm very happy!

by from Atlantic |

Wanting to keep our business in Atlantic, Tom Cappel treated me very good! He took plenty of time with me, was professional, answered all of my questions and was very knowledgeable about the vehicle I bought. He is providing great service even after I signed the dotted line! Kate was very thorough with all of the financial arrangements and made sure I understood the whole process. A friendly young woman who knows her job! Every employee I met made me feel very welcome and were comfortable and approachable to talk to. Brad reassured me about my choice in vehicles which is quite a reach from Fords all my life! Ha! After my first day of driving it, I know I made an excellent choice in the Buick Encore! I will surely do business at Deter's again! Kind Regards

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Buying Process
  • Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

March 18, 2016

Kimberly, It's humbling to know we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are dedicated to our customers and it is important we do everything in our power to ensure they drive away happy ! It does not surprise us that Tom and Kate went above and beyond for you; it is just an example of why they are such great assets to our team. We will make sure they hear of your kind words. Please let us know how we may be able to help next! Elvis Haas, GSM - determotorgsm@hotmail.com


4.0 out of 5.0

Service & Engine Light

by from Atlantic, IA |

Serviced and investigated engine light. Found the part causing the engine light and it had been previously replaced. Able to get replacement part for free.

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Not Applicable
    Buying Process
  • Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

March 18, 2016

Randy, thank you for your kind words. We know servicing your vehicle takes time out of your day and we strive to make every experience a pleasant one. We are extremely happy that you left satisfied and we do appreciate your business. Follow us and like us on Facebook to grab hold of some exclusive specials! Julie Fischer, Service Manager -


5.0 out of 5.0

Great staff, great service and great waiting area

by from Atlantic, IA |

Fast, friendly service and comfortable waiting area. Thorough explanation of work done. I really appreciate the staff and have every confidence they will do the work needed and not add repairs that are not necessary.

Report inappropriate content

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

  • Customer Service
  • Not Applicable
    Buying Process
  • Quality of Repair
  • Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Deter Motor Company responded to this review

March 18, 2016

Hi Sherry and thank for the positive feedback. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here with us at Deter Motors. We are driven to offer great customer care and we strive to provide the best service experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon! Julie Fischer, Service Manager -


(1-10 of 41 reviews)