Gookin Ford

Gookin Ford

510 Factory Outlet Dr, Story City, IA 50248

New 888-518-5586
Used 888-767-9557
Service 866-578-8657

Offering superior sales and service to our valued customers

Average Ratings

4.3 out of 5.0
5 out of 6 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Great dealer

by from Norwalk |

What a great dealership worth the drive. They give reasonable trade amounts and not pushy on a sale. Will return to buy my next car. The person who gave one star shoud have his comment removed.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gookin Ford responded to this review

March 25, 2014

What an enjoyable review to read, Taurus! It is reassuring to know that our sales team provided you with a hassle-free and welcoming shopping experience. Gookin Fords primary concern is delivering flawless customer service; that means giving each of our guests the time and attention they deserve. I'm happy to hear that you left our dealership feeling confident about your purchase. In the future, please do not hesitate to call or stop in if you should have any additional questions or concerns. Also, be sure to visit us on Facebook and Twitter to gain access to our exclusive specials. Sincerely, John Gookin | Owner

5.0 out of 5.0

great people, very nice place

by from story city IA |

the people were very easy to talk to and get along with. they also were more informing on questions I had and things I didn't know than other dealerships I had been too.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gookin Ford responded to this review

June 18, 2014

Seth, I really appreciate you being so kind as to write this review about our dealership. We try our best to stand out from other dealers in terms of service excellence. It's quite an accomplishment to hear that we provided you a great experience. Thank you so much. If you have any further needs, do not hesitate to come back to see us. Sincerely, John Gookin | Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Past Chevy truck owner

by from Ackley Iowa |

The sales people were straight forward and gave us a great value for are trade in !! John made you feel like you just became part of the family at Gookin Ford !! The way they showed us how every thing worked in the new truck was very helpfull !

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gookin Ford responded to this review

May 19, 2014

Jon, it's great to hear that you experienced an efficient and enjoyable visit to Gookin Ford. That's precisely the goal we aim to achieve with each and every customer and I can't tell you how much we appreciate this feedback and 5-star rating. Enjoy your Ford and be sure to contact us down the road with all of your automotive needs. Also, find us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with service department specials! Sincerely, John Gookin | Owner


5.0 out of 5.0

Great deal on a very clean car from super people

by from Ankeny, IA |

Great and very down-to-earth people to work with, no pressure, got an excellent deal on very clean car...exactly the car I was looking for, and exactly the kind of people I enjoy buying from.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gookin Ford responded to this review

May 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and congratulations on your new car, Dale! We are pleased to know that our sales team went above and beyond during your shopping visit. We hope you're enjoying your new vehicle and we can't wait to see you again! Sincerely, John Gookin | President


5.0 out of 5.0

Great deal on a clean car from some super people.

by from Ankeny, IA |

Great and very down-to-earth people to work with, no pressure, got an excellent deal on very clean car...exactly the car I was looking for, and exactly the kind of people I enjoy buying from.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gookin Ford responded to this review

May 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and congratulations on your new car, Dale! We are pleased to know that our sales team went above and beyond during your shopping visit. We hope you're enjoying your new vehicle and we can't wait to see you again! Sincerely, John Gookin | President


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Experience!

by from Norwalk, Iowa |

I had been searching for quite some time for the vehicle I wanted, and Gookin had just what I was looking for. They were very friendly, knowledgable, and best of all, not pushy in any way. They appreciated that I had a nice trade in, and didn't insult me by trying to get my car for nothing, like dealers in des moines had tried to do. Overall, I had a great experience, and they certainly have a customer for life. I would highly recomend Gookin Ford to anyone looking for a vehicle, if you live in or around des moines it is absolutely worth the short drive to avoid the pushy, stressful vehicle purchase you will have to suffer thorugh with dealers in the metro. Thanks Gookin, job well done!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gookin Ford responded to this review

March 27, 2014

Thank you for writing about your visit with us and congratulations on your new Ford, Fusionguy! I'm sure you are continuing to enjoy it and hope that we have earned your repeat business by working hard to get you the best price possible. It is encouraging to hear that our sales team impressed you by delivering our trademark knowledgeable and pressure-free service. Thank you for your recommendations. Remember to check out our Facebook and Twitter pages for the specials we offer exclusively for our likers and followers! John Gookin | Owner


1.0 out of 5.0

Very Poor Customer Service

by from Fort Dodge, Iowa |

Purchased a used car from this company, next day the altenator went out. Called the company and the manager said, "altenators are like light bulbs, you just don't know. Good luck getting it fixed". Offered nothing in the way of help or money. What a joke!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gookin Ford responded to this review

February 7, 2012

My name is John Gookin, and I am the manager and owner that the customer talked to. Just to give you a little more information....the vehicle was purchased in July of 2011. It is a 2002 Chrysler Sebring convertible with over 140,000 miles on it. I personally drove the vehicle over 200 miles just prior to the customer purchasing it, with no concerns. We inspect all vehicles before they are available for purchase. I spoke with the customer a couple times after his purchase, and never said "good luck getting it fixed", in fact he had already fixed the vehicle before he even called me. The vehicle was sold as-is, with no warranty, and the customer was aware of that in writing. I don't consider customer satisfaction a joke! For over 45 years, our family has been selling and servicing vehicles in central Iowa, and pride ourselves on how we take care of our customers.


(1-7 of 7 reviews)