Capitaland Motors

Capitaland Motors

37 Saratoga Rd, Schenectady, NY 12302

New 888-511-1421
Used 866-906-4068
Service 877-771-0282

Certified Stellar Performance Dealer

Average Ratings

4.7 out of 5.0
23 out of 24 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 24 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Awesome service!

by from Albany, NY |

I went to Capitaland just from searching on the internet and they had the car I was looking to buy. The sales guy, Robert, was extremely helpful and made the whole process seem not as stressful as I was anticipating. This was my first "real" car and I never went through the whole process before. My mom was financing the car for me and she is across the state but they worked with us and went through a couple phone conversations with her to make sure she was happy with everything. I love the car! I have been driving it for almost a couple months now and it is awesome. They gave a fair deal. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

August 7, 2013

Than you, Robert always goes the extra mile to make sure his customers are happy! JOHN

5.0 out of 5.0

Pleasant Experience!

by from Delanson, NY |

I was looking to lease a new car to replace my Honda Insight. My new car had to provide a bit more comfort but also good fuel mileage. I tried another Subaru dealer in the area and they did not come close to working with what I wanted for a leased car. I went to Capitaland Motors and met with Rod Natalie. It was the easiest car leasing/buying experience I have ever had. I told him what I expected for my trade in, the lease payment I wanted, and the type of lease I wanted. He walked away with my list and came back saying we had a deal. There was no dickering, no comments about not being able to meet my needs, and no surprises. I would highly recommend working with Rob and the folks at Capitaland Motors. :)

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

Very Satisfied

by from Amsterdam |

We purchased two vehicles from this dealership in the last several months, one new Subaru and one used. The whole buying experience was smooth and friendly. Marco made sure we were informed and satisfied every step of the way. He explained all the different functions in the new car. We would certainly buy from this dealer again.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

exceptional customer service

by from princetown, NY |

A few weeks ago I leased a 2014 Subaru Forester from Capitaland Motors in Scotia NY. This was my first experience at Capitaland and my first Subaru. The recent snow events were a good test, and the Forester passed with flying colors! The all-wheel drive, excellent visibility and handling gave me the security I was looking for in a vehicle. The amenities are enough anyone could want, and it's a very attractive vehicle as well. The staff at Capitaland (especially Marco) are extremely customer-oriented, a rarity these days. Marco spent a great deal of time explaining the various options and he made sure I understood how to navigate the many options on my car - programming blue-tooth, setting radio stations, heated seats, cruise control, wipers, lights, etc. He even called me after the first snow storm to see how it drove in the bad weather and if I had any questions! I'm definitely a Subaru fan and highly recommend Capitland Motors for a most pleasant buying/leasing experience.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

January 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your business and your great review. We are very pleased that you had a great buying experience and that we met all of your expectations. Marco works hard to insure that all of his customers are well informed and pleased with their new or pre-owned vehicle. THANKS!! JOHN


4.0 out of 5.0

Great straightforward car buying experience,

by from Schenectady, NY |

This was the third car I have purchased from this dealer. I've kept my cars long enough that the staff is not the same as for my last purchase but he philosophy is the same. They are straightforward and fair. Rob Mayer was the salesperson -- he was friendly, informed and he was not pushy at all. I came prepared with information I needed to feel the price was very fair and we made a deal easily.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

December 13, 2013

Thank you Bea for your response. We provide a no stress sales approach for our customers so they feel comfortable and not pressured. We greatly appreciate your continued business with Capitaland Motors. Kaila Wieszchowski Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service and Employees!

by from Schenectady NY |

I have been a service customer of Capitaland Motors for 7 years. Elaine and Wayne go the extra mile every time I am there for service. One thing I find most impressive is they always greet me with a smile before I even get to tell them why I am there and always thank me for my business when I leave. My only suggestion would be an on sight car wash.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Not Applicable
Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

December 13, 2013

We are very happy you have enjoyed our service department. They work hard to provide great customer service and inform each customer about their vehicles needs. We look forward to your next visit. Kaila Wieszchowski Internet Manager


2.0 out of 5.0

Hmm, something's fishy about these reviews

by from Scotia, NY |

Almost all the reviews here appear to have been written by Capitaland. Nothing like giving yourself some free advertising, eh fellas? My experience has been less than stellar and I've been going to this dealership for 9 years. Bought 2 cars from them. Was going to buy another this summer but the salesman was so indifferent I decided to go elsewhere. He got tired of me changing my mind and considering different options and appeared annoyed. So I went to Goldstein and bought a 2014 Forester Limited there instead. No kudos to Goldstein, their sales staff was unimpressive and their showroom looks like it hasn't been updated since 1962, but they happened to have a vehicle that captured my indecisive heart and I went with it. I get the feeling Subarus are so popular that dealers can be lazy and arrogant, knowing that if you don't buy, the next person will. I don't say I wouldn't recommend the dealer to a friend because I don't think Capitaland is much different from any dealership. The only dealership that actually impressed me in this area is Saratoga Honda.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

November 22, 2013

We apologize that your experience was not what you expected. At the time you were looking the new forester was (and still is) in extremely limited supply. This can be frustrating for the customer as well as the dealer. We hope that we can regain your confidence at some point in the future and you will give us another try. As for the reviews.....We DO NOT coach any customer on how to review their experience with CapitaLand and never will. Thanks for your input...JOHN


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Customer Service!

by from Albany, NY |

I went to another dealership in Albany before I visited Capitaland Subaru out in Scotia. By comparison my experience dealing with Capitaland was just so much easier and stress-free. Their salesman Robert Mayer offered exceptional service throughout the whole buying process and I got a great deal out of them with minimal effort in negotiating. The dealership as a whole from their owner to their business manager to sales and down to their service department simply offered a very pleasant and satisfying car-buying experience that I couldn't have gotten from the first dealership I went to.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We work hard to give customers a great experience with our friendly and knowledgeable sales people. We hope you enjoy your new vehicle and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Kaila Wieszchowski Internet Sales Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

New truck

by from West Coxsackie,n.y. |

I just picked up my new gmc truck from capitalland motors, the salesman Robert was great to deal with. This dealer gave me a no hassle best price on a new truck. I would certainly recommend this dealership to my friends and family. I plan on having this dealership service my vehicle and feel confident the service will be as exceptional as the sales department is!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing that you had a great experience. Our sales people really go above and beyond when it comes to serving our customers. We look forward to your continued business at our service department. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us. Enjoy your new truck and thank you very much. -Kaila, Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Capitaland review

by from Glenville, NY 12302 |

Sales person, Robert Mayer was very good. He is young and very personable, patient and he was not pushy. He was as excited as I was when he located the car I wanted. I would only suggest that when selling a car, if the buyer is looking for "all the options" it would be good to go through all the options Subaru offers for that particular car. I thought the HomeLink came standard with the car, but it did not. So the car had to be returned the next day to have the new mirror installed. This was not a big deal at all, but just for future reference. I think Robert will do well as a salesperson.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Not Applicable
Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a little note about your experience. We appreciate your business! Please let us know if you ever have any questions or concerns. JOHN


5.0 out of 5.0

Superior! Were they awesome to work with!

by from A City in, NH |

Capitaland was the only GMC dealer open until 8 pm, out of the 3 in the immediate area. We were on vacation when our Saturn Outlook with 58K miles broke down on NY Thruway. It needed a new transmission which couldn't be located and installed for days. At Capitaland, Robert Mayer was there for us every step of the way without a hint of pressure. His concern, exceptional guidance and experienced product knowledge calmed us in a stressful situation far from home. We returned the next day and Robert scoured the surrounding dealers for our perfect car but when we test drove a red Terrain from Capitaland inventory, that was it. George Palmer squared away the financial end of the deal very quickly even though further paperwork had to be sent. With their professionalism and friendliness throughout our nightmare we drove our beautiful GMC Terrain Denali, 250 miles home. Robert, George and the Capitaland team wrapped this up in less than 24 hours! Thank you! ...and even inquired if we made it home safely the next day.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Capitaland Motors responded to this review

August 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond. It is always nice to know that we've done a good job. We are glad that you are enjoying your new terrain and please call us if you have any questions or concerns. JOHN


(1-10 of 24 reviews)