Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter

1925 Black River Blvd N, Rome, NY 13440

New 866-655-0367
Used 877-364-0531

Putting you in the driver's seat for over 80 years.

Average Ratings

4.5 out of 5.0
12 out of 15 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

2011 chevy silverado

by from rome ny |

stopped in for an oil change and left with a new vehicle. Adam, chris and bruce were great. They went above and beyond and got my monthly payment lower than where it was last time. I am driving a 3 year newer truck with 40000 less miles for $30 less a month. Thank you guys

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

October 14, 2014

Hello Steve, I wanted to take the time to thank you for sharing your experience at Carbone Select of Rome. Our team is trained to help you find what best suits your needs. This time around it happened to be a new vehicle with lower payments. I'm glad Adam, Chris, and Bruce were there to help. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager

5.0 out of 5.0

amaing experience

by from rome ny |

the nicest used car dealer in the area. Was treated gerat, they were the best price in town by thousands and they cared about my issues after the sale.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

October 13, 2014

Hello Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at our Carbone Select of Rome. Our sales team likes to take care of you from start to finish and beyond. I'm glad you were able to experience that. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great facility. Excellent customer service

by from Port Leyden NY |

I would recommend Carbone select to anyone. Dale was an amazing salesperson.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

June 25, 2014

Hello George, It's great to hear everything went so well at Carbone Select of Rome with Dale. We wouldn't be the success story we are today without customers like you. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

GREAT JOB

by from rome ny |

stopped in to dealership to look at a dodge avenger even though I do not have any credit. The sales person went and got his manager who explained that if I could prove my income and put a small amount down he was sure he could get me financed. I had heard that many times before and it was hard because I dont have a cosigner. Well this time the guy was not blowing smoke, they had me driving it in a few hours and they even bought me a coffee while I waited. I cant express enough how great they treated me and the avenger is awesome. Thank you guys for helping me get a new car!!!!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

June 24, 2014

Hello Stacy, It was great of you to share your experience at Carbone Select of Rome, NY. I'm glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised and treated so well. At Carbone Select we know that it's the customer that keeps our business growing. Thank you! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


4.0 out of 5.0

Good experience, but not as good as the last time

by from Glenfield NY |

My wife and I purchased a car from Carbone Pre-Owned Select of Rome back in December of 2012 and we were very pleased with the process. The car has been great and we were satisfied. Because of the positive experience, we came back when I was ready to buy another truck. I knew what I wanted for a truck and they were able to find one that was located out-of-state. My wife felt that we were not given correct information regarding our price of the vehicle after we located the truck online and discovered the retail price. I'm not sure if the information was given to us incorrectly or what the problem was, but at least the dealership did make amends. I did feel, however, that the process took too long. The vehicle arrived but I felt like I had to push them to get it ready. It was supposed to be "perfect" upon delivery to us---according to the manager---but the truck was not perfect when I test drove it. The windshield was cracked, a tail light was out, there were chips in the paint and the air conditioning was not working correctly. I know that the truck was used and not new, but we still spend a lot of money for it and we expected more. Granted, they did fix the issues, but we had to take the truck back to them and my wife had to spend the day in Rome (we live about an hour away). All in all, I'm happy with the truck but I must say that buying my wife's Honda was a more pleasurable experience than buying this truck. Not sure if it was because they had to go out of the state to find it or what the problem was, but I doubt that I'll ever buy another vehicle that is not located within the state. I think we expected a more streamlined process than what we experienced---somewhat similar to the great buying experience we had the first time. Will we come back for another purchase? I'm not sure at this point. If it was left up to my wife, we probably wouldn't, but that could change over time. She was more unhappy than I was, but I was happy with the truck in the end, so that makes a difference. I will still recommend Carbone to a friend, but I'm not quite as committed as I was the first time.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

May 22, 2014

Hello Scott, I'm sorry that this car shopping experience did not measure up with your last one. It is the goal of Carbone Select of Rome to make sure the customer is completely satisfied. Though I'm happy they accomplished this in the end, I'm sorry it wasn't done right the first time. Please know that your feedback is greatly appreciated. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

DO NOT COME HERE if you are not a GREAT Negotiator

by from ROME, NY |

My biggest mistake ever was to buy a car at Carbone Select in ROME NY!!!! I was stupid enough to believe in what the salesman said and did not drive test the car that I bought. I bought the car without drive test it and two days later I have figured that the car was not in the condition that I have been told. I brought it back and talked to the salesman, he asked me to leave the car there so the technician can look at it. I told him that I felt bad and completely dissatisfied with the car and liked to trade it in. He went asked the manager and came back say some like " he wanted you to happy and to satisfy with your purchase, so he'll not let you loose any money trade it in" GREAT!!! I appreciated it! The salesman and I then went look for another car. I found one, driven test it, liked it, and came back in the office to do paper work. The problem has started, they don't let me make any offer on the car that I like but to pay the ticket price. I thought it is ok because I believed they will take my other car back in with the same price that I bought two days ago. They came up with a roughly (not a final number) monthly payments and asked me to sign a piece of paper so that they can process the trade. The biggest mistake is right there, I signed it. Two days later, they called and told me what is my final NEW monthly payment is and that the time I have figured they've ripped me off by about three thousand dollars, maybe more. I expressed my disappointments and asked them why telling me that I won't loose any money on trade it in. the answer was, I did not say that, I did say, will try the best to not let you loose any money. That's it! Too Late!, I already signed a the piece of paper. This is a most expensive lesion that I have learned my life and that lesion popup every time I jump on the car that I have bought at Carbone Select. I felt bad, I hate myself and hope that I can soon get rid of that car (even though I like that car so much) and buy another one from a different dealership so that I can completely forget about the name of that dealer. I know lots of people out there are just like me who are not a good negotiator and who are too honesty. I do recommend you not to visit that place even though they do have lots of selection.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Not Applicable
Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

March 18, 2014

Hello Trong, Thank you for your email and I apologize for your experience. I would like to have one of the members of the Carbone family follow up with you to discuss and review the situation in more detail. You can contact me directly at kflynn@carbonecars.com to make arrangements to do so. I look forward to hearing from you. Karen Flynn Internet Manager kflynn@carbonecars.com


2.0 out of 5.0

Extremely dissapointed

by from Rome ny |

I was extremely dissapointed in my purchase from carbone select. Upon purchasing my vehicle a year ago, there were several small flaws with the vehicle which I pointed out to the salesman. (Such as a tear in the fabric). Due to the fact that their service man who repairs the upholstery was out sick for a week, I was given an "I owe you" upon my purchase and was promised that if I brought the vehicle back it would be taken care of with no cost to me. I brought the vehicle back on two separate occasions over a period of a month and was again told I needed to wait. After expressing my frustration, I was told I may go to a private company that carbone works with and it would be taken care of. I made several calls and left several messages with this company and never heard back from them. Needless to say I gave up and the problem was never fixed. To top it off, I was sold a "purchase price refund" warranty. I was told that if I do not use the warranty at all, I would be refunded the entire price of the warranty except a $50 fee. I am not one to buy warranties and I expressed this to the salesman. Although he assured me I would not be losing anything unless I made a claim on the warranty. Well here I am a year later, I am unhappy with my vehicle (no fault to carbone I am just unhappy with it). I want to sell the vehicle although I need to sell my warranty so that I do not owe anything on trade. I contacted carbone and they advised me that my warranty refund would be "pro rated". This was not what the original salesman had sold me. I was lied to. Needless to say, I was in the process of purchasing a truck from carbone in yorkville, which I will NOT be doing. I will be taking my business else ware and I recommend others do the same

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

February 5, 2014

Hello Rob, I was very sorry to hear about your experience with Carbone Select of Rome. I would like to have a member of the family follow up with you to see how we can make correct this situation to your satisfaction. Is there an email address or phone number I can have them reach you at? You can contact me at kflynn@carbonecars.com. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Honest Sales

by from Syracuse, NY |

Throughout the search for a new vehicle, Adam at Carbone was up-front and honest. He even went as far as obtaining a vehicle from another location for me to look at. It was a beautiful car, but we were not close enough on the numbers to make the deal. Even so, Adam and the staff were pleasant and honest. I would absolutely deal with them again.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

December 4, 2013

Hi Jill, I just wanted to take a minute to thank you for your kind words. While we weren't able to assist you this time we look forward to working with you in the future. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service, and no pressure.

by from West Leyden N.Y. |

It was the best experience I have had in a very long time. I was very pleased at how I was treated, and even after the purchase, the sales man Gregg, was right on top of things when I needed answers or help with anything. I would recommend this dealership to anyone.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

July 23, 2013

Hello Kathy, Thank you for your recent purchase! I'm happy to hear that all of the Carbone Auto Group customer service training is paying off. Our customers are our number one priority because without you we would not be so successful. Please let me know if you need any assistance in the future. Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

A very pleasant experience.

by from West Leyden, N.Y. |

My experience with Carbone Select of Rome was nothing like I expected. There was no pressure from my salesman Gregg, and they all did a great job of making me feel comfortable with whatever I decided to do. I purchased the car I wanted, and was so pleased with how I was treated. I have never experienced a transaction that went so smoothly. I would gladly recommend this dealership. I being a widow, thought that I would be taken advantage of, because of other experiences I have had, but that was not the case at all. Totally pleased.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

July 8, 2013

Hello Kathy, Thank you for your kind comments and your purchase. It's always a pleasure to hear that your experience was even better than you expected. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

used car search

by from verona ny |

i was given enough attention by the salesman my questions were answered pleased with my experience

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Carbone Select Pre-Owned Supercenter responded to this review

July 2, 2013

Hi Wendell, It's great to hear that our sales team provided you with the attention you deserve. Though we didn't earn your business this time,I hope you consider us in the future for your purchase, parts and/or service needs. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


(1-10 of 15 reviews)