Elgin Hyundai

Elgin Hyundai

881 East Chicago St, Elgin, IL 60120

New 888-221-3831
Used 888-263-1297
Service 866-981-7219

Average Ratings

2.8 out of 5.0
10 out of 23 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 24 reviews
1.0 out of 5.0

BUYER BEWARE ... GO ANYWHERE ELSE TO BUY YOUR CAR!

by from Elgin IL |

BUYER BEWARE ... GO ANYWHERE ELSE TO BUY YOUR CAR! In October of 2012, I was in the market to purchase a new Hyundai Elantra. I work in Arlington Heights so looked at Patrick Hyundai in Schaumburg. I found one that I liked, and, after working with employees at Patrick Hyundai I worked through financing and negotiated what I thought to be a fair price. The price included one of the perks at Patrick Hyundai, which were benefits from an ?Ultimate Preferred? Program. It included many things, including the $8.95 Oil Changes for as long as I owned the vehicle and free Service loaners for all appointments. I live in Elgin and though I would take a look at what Elgin Hyundai had before committing to Patrick. I went to Elgin Hyundai and Steve Johnson assisted me. I showed him the paperwork from Patrick which included exactly what I wanted. It ended up that they had the same vehicle that I wanted, a 2013 Hyundai Elantra Limited. I indicated to Steve that I already had negotiated a price with Patrick and he inquired what that was. Elgin Hyundai was able to meet that negotiated price to the penny. I still was a bit hesitant, as Elgin Hyundai did not offer any type of service package that included the oil changes and loaner vehicle. He asked me what it would take to have me as a customer and I indicated that Patrick Hyundai was able to include the Ultimate Preferred Program. Steve immediately indicated that providing me with the same services would not be a problem and that he would include it in the paperwork submitted to Elgin Hyundai. Upon making that agreement, I decided to purchase from Elgin Hyundai instead of Patrick. Steve indicated that the "preferred Customer" document would be in the "system" which would indicate what services I would be entitled to. I drove off the lot the next day with my vehicle. The first oil change I came in for at Elgin was free, because it was a new vehicle. In December of 2013, I came in for an Oil Change. I also came in because the two charger outlets in the car (the lighter and the outlet charger on the side panel of the front seat passenger seat) were not charging any of my devices. I put both those items on the on-line appointment document, as well as my request for a loaner vehicle. I went in for my appointment, they did not provide me with a loaner, and after about 45 minutes, I was told that my car was ready. They changed the oil, found ?nothing? wrong with the charger outlets. They charged me the full price of an oil change because there was nothing in the "system" regarding the deal was negotiated between Steve Johnson and myself. The gentleman in Service, (Kevin) indicated that there was nothing he could do, except leave a message for the manager, Brian Craig, to call me. I left a message for him to call me that morning to discuss (attempt #1) and paid the total bill. The next day, Wed, Dec 11, 2013 at 11:02 AM, I did not hear from Brian, so I sent him an email. (attempt #2). In the meantime, I am driving the car and notice that the charging outlets don't work, so I go to Verizon and purchase a NEW car charger for my devices. I plug them in and the outlets STILL don't work. I try it with 2 other chargers, and the outlets STILL don't work. Several weeks go by and I haven't received a phone call or email from Brian, so I decide to send an email to the General Manager, Chris Mandelke, on Tue, Jan 14, 2014 at 3:07 PM (attempt #3). Still another several weeks pass, and I hear nothing, no phone call or email. It becomes time for my oil change because, and I am getting concerned because I am taking my car out of town for Spring Break. So, on 3/6 at 10:13 I phone Elgin Hyundai and leave a message on the voice mail of both Brian and Chris, asking them to PLEASE get back with me with a resolution so that I can get my oil change at the price that I was given upon the point of sale. (attempt 4). Again, I hear nothing. No email, no phone call. So, on Th

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

April 7, 2014

Debra, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I would like to clarify on a few of the points you have made here. First, because the deal you had with our dealership regarding oil services is a year and a half old I am unable to pull that information from our warehouses. I have attempted to reach you multiple times by phone and e-mail because I could use your help in recalling the details of this arrangement. Also, the charging station could be replaced under warranty but it will require you coming back into the dealership. I would really like to speak with you personally regarding this matter so I can fully understand and do my best to assist you. Please call my direct line at 847-628-2845 to discuss this further. Thank you and have a great day! -Jenni Tuton, Customer Relations Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

Terrible Dealer makes a great brand look bad!

by from Schaumburg, IL |

Arrived at dealer with my wife on Saturday AM intending to purchase another Hyundai Santa Fe, had purchased a Sonata here 4 years ago, I thought there was value in returning to same dealership. (Wrong) The sales guy who greeted us before we made to the front door remembered me from my last purchase and seemed to have made up his mind that we would be an easy sale. (And we could have been.) He had been with dealer for at least 4 years so should know what is going on. * We wanted to discuss 2013 models. He dismissed this telling us to go with 2014 and get a better deal. This was strange since the showroom was full of 2013 vehicles. * He asked what we were looking for and then took us to a vehicle and said "good here is your car!". It was not the color, model or options we had indicated. We moved off to another vehicle. * When my wife indicated interest in a certain option, he challenged her as to why she would want that in a very rude and condescending manner. This happened more than once. * When I asked questions about one of the options (I wanted clarification how it worked) , he just waved at the car and window sticker and said "its right there." * My wife asked where is the spare tire, he pointed under the back and said, "there, but why do you care" and turned away. That was just a sampling ...... We are both thinking, its time to leave I did want to understand what current incentives were available especially since we currently own 2 Hyundais. He said "too many numbers to remember" but I'll get them. We headed to his desk while he went to see the sale manger I guess. We were very angry, and quickly making plans to start looking at Ford and Toyota again. We got tired of waiting for his return.and walked out. FYI- After we calmed down we went to different Hyundai dealer much further from our home and made a purchase. I have reviewed them separately. Great experience.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

November 25, 2013

Hi Bill! We want to sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you experienced while at Elgin Hyundai. Your customer satisfaction is our main focus and we always strive to give our customers the best service possible. I would love to discuss this further with you, please feel free to call my direct line any time: 847-628-2845. Thank you and have a wonderful day! - Jenni Tuton


1.0 out of 5.0

NOT HAPPY WITH SERVICE

by from Schaumburg |

I just purchased a car on 11/16/13, and the very next day not even 12hrs later I had a flat tire in my driveway. The dealerships are not open on Sundays, so the next morning I call the service department because relatives I know who own Hyundai's say they have great customer service. Well I call and received an attitude right away from the Elgin service dept. I said I just bought a car and I have a flat tire, and would like a new one replaced and if all possible at no charge since I just purchased the car. The service guy goes if it?s your fault you have to buy a new tire, I told him the car is brand new, and he says, it's not our fault you ran over something, without even looking at it. I contact the Hyundai dealership in Schaumburg (Highly recommended) and they said tow the car here and we will look at the tire to make sure it?s not a defaulted tire. Schaumburg plugged up my tire, at no charge and the manager said that if we had purchased the car there, they would have replaced the tire at no charge no questions asked, but since it was not purchased there to take it to Elgin and they should replace it since the car is new. I called Elgin and told them I will be in and would like to speak with the Manager (Chris Mandelke). From the moment my husband and I walked in you can tell he already had an attitude on him. I said this car is new and I already have a flat tire in my driveway. He's like you ran over something and we don?t cover it once you leave the lot. I?m like really! How do I not know it's a defaulted tire that already had a small hole in there and just progressed as I drove it home and ran a few errands and to wake up the next morning to find a flat. There was not nail or anything in the tire. Chris Mandelke states that I must of pulled it out. Anyways I proceed to tell him that the gentleman I spoke with this am was rude. He didn?t care. I than asked what can you do. He goes nothing you need to buy a new tire with a smirk on his face. I said it's clearly a defaulted tire. He goes we will have service look at it. Service says they should of not plugged it up, I said they did so I can drive to work and take it up with the dealership I bought my car from. He continued to tell me that it was my fault. He then says just because the Schaumburg dealership would give you a tire doesn?t mean we have to and then said if you drive out of here and get hit by a car does that mean we have to give you a new car. I was like that was so rude and that you talk to your customers like that. He then starts to raise his voice at me and goes "Would it make you happy if we replace your tire with a new one" I was like yes, I?m a customer who just bought a car with 6 miles on it and you should do whatever you have to do to make your customer happy. He then goes forget it. I was gonna give you one but not anymore. At that point my husband was getting angry because the GM is now yelling at me "A CUSTOMER" who knows how to tweet, write reviews, yelp, facebook etc, and works in cutomer service. I said I will not return here any more, refer anyone, and he goes you do what you have to do. At this point I felt threatend and asked to speak with his boss and he proceeds to say I?m the boss. I?m like you have one higher than you and I would like his name and number. He starts to walk away I said I want his business card to report him. I got so angry and walked into the used car area and Mike Medina (AWESOME) sales manager clearly saw my reaction and I explained everything that happened to him and Mitch. He walks me over and said I will be right back. Mike comes back and says, he spoke with the GM (Chris Mandelke) and that he called his boss, who said he didn?t have one and was told to give me a new tire and that he feels bad an apologizes. (YET HE NEVER HAD THE DECENCEY TO SAY IT ME IN PERSON). I will be writing to the Owner of this dealership. GM (Chris should get reprimanded). NO CUSTOMERS SHOULD EVER BE TREATED THE WAY WE WERE.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

November 25, 2013

Our #1 priority at Elgin Hyundai is our customer's satisfaction. We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you experienced while at our dealership. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please feel free to call my direct line any time,847-628-2845. Thank you and have a great day! - Jenni Tuton


5.0 out of 5.0

Great sales person and servicedept.

by from Hoffman Estates Il |

Arturo Moreno and Mike Medina are the best. Very happy with the both of them. Art went way out of his way to make me happy for a sale. Mike got me a great deal working with Arturo for me. Art continued to work with even after the deal was finished. I will do my best to give more business for Arturo at Elgin Hyundai Many thanks to Jenni Tuton and Joe Ballin for their help too. Joseph Digioie

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

November 25, 2013

Hi Joseph! Thank you for your kind words regarding your experience at Elgin Hyundai! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future. Have a wonderful day! -Jenni Tuton


1.0 out of 5.0

False advertising

by from Elgin il |

After seeing a great deal online I visited the dealership to test drive a car. When we sat down to discuss the price, the sales man stated that the price given online was incorrect. The sales man acted as if he was going to discuss the price with his manager instead I saw him outside smoking a cigarette. I would not trust this place.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

October 9, 2013

We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you experienced while at Elgin Hyundai. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please feel free to call my direct line any time,847-628-2845. Thank you and have a great day! - Jenni Tuton


1.0 out of 5.0

Useless Effort

by from Prospect Height |

This showroom is not gud for buying used cars; try to sell a car with engine problems. They are not committed with minimum effort towards fixing the problems in car which they accepted. Next day they try to showcase the car in good condition, when we had a test drive the engine problem blown up again. When we asked about the problem they says it will charged extra to fix this mechanical problem in engine. All the effort made toward buying the car is wasted as they are not genuine. They don?t know how to speak with customers.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

July 2, 2013

We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience you experienced while at Elgin Hyundai. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please feel free to call my direct line any time,847-628-2845. Thank you and have a great day! - Jenni Tuton


1.0 out of 5.0

Dishonest representation

by from Chicago Suburbs |

I was recently involved in the purchase of a vehicle from this dealership. These are reasons you should not trust them: *Inflated price of used car by 1000.00+ over their "internet" price....(this does not include taxes).They said they did that to show a larger trade-in value because the bank wanted more money down. If they are lying to the banks, they are probably lying to customers. *They said they had repaired the brakes, but on the test drive the brakes were still grinding....when they checked with the mechanic he said he was aware and that they would fix it. (should it have even been sitting on the lot for sale if it was not road worthy?) *This car was also missing a trim piece that they said was on order, and they would install it when it arrived....later they reneged on this offer stating that the bank had decided they wanted more money down so they not only raised the price of the car to "show" more money down but also told me because of this they could not do the trim.. (Should have got it in writing) *Now after signing all the papers and waiting for the brakes to be repaired because they didn't get it done the day before like they said they would, I get the car home and find that one of the front tires (which we checked before the test drive and were told when we asked how the tires were, they told us they were good) one of the front tires is bald!!! Did they switch it out during the brake job???? Also, the financing they set my son up with is at 35% interest rate! Yes you read it right! 35%!!! Didn't tell us that either, they just kept talking car payments..beware! I know he's a 22 year veteran with sketchy credit but come on, that smacks of the same kind of predatory lending tactics that the banks were doing to homeowners a few years ago! ====My advise DO NOT TRUST THIS DEALERSHIP. STEER CLEAR. And my son got the "Veterans" treatment. Shame on them! Oh, and what they don't know is that my husband and I are looking to buy two new vehicles in the next 6 months. I know where we are not going!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

July 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with our dealership. I understand your concern and would like to discuss it with you further. Please contact me at 602-625-3366. Thank you! -Jenni Tuton, Customer Relations Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

Bait and Switch to me also!

by from Elgin, IL |

The Bait and Switch was used on me April 22nd at Elgin Hyundai. On their website, a used 2007 Azera was advertised for $9965.00. The salesman took a long time to type in data on his computer. I was given a very, very low value on my trade in, $700 total trade value and then was told that they would have to do a lot of work on my car before they could sell it off to a wholesaler. The final proposal was scribbled on a sheet of paper with $10,850 as the starting price for the car. Then the salesman said that the $9965 price was an "Internet Price". At that point I didn't want start negotiating because it was past closing time. I wanted to return the next morning to look at this car in the daylight, but the salesman wouldn't even let me keep a copy of their proposal. After running these figures on my own paper at home, it turns out that their proposal amounted to me giving them my trade in car for FREE, and still paying approximately $200.00 more than their internet price. UNBELIEVEABLE ! It is true that they keep your car keys so you don't have the option to just leave when you're feeling uncomfortable and cheated. Tom Olsen, salesperson, made several exaggerated and/or false statements to me during my visit. On the business card, Mike Medina shows as the Sales Manager, although I didn't meet him. My bottom line... DON'T TRUST their WEBSITE PRICING, they DO NOT HONOR IT!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Elgin Hyundai responded to this review

July 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with our dealership. We pride ourselves on customer service and are sorry to hear that you did not have a desirable experience. I understand your concern and would like to discuss it with you further. Please feel free to contact me at 602-625-3366. Thank you! -Jenni Tuton, Customer Relations Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

great service

by from Elgin, IL |

I bought my car just 6 days ago, April 20. I love my car. it's a used car but it is it mint condition and I couldn't have asked for better dealers. I was treated very well and I can't complain.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


2.0 out of 5.0

Bait and Switch

by from Aurora |

Went to look at a vehicle which was advertised online but when I got there the price was several thousand more. They claimed there was a misprint but we know better than that. When my trade was being evaluated I had to wait 45 minutes by myself. I would have left but they had my keys and I couldn't find my salesperson. Giving the benefit of the doubt maybe the salesperson was the problem and not the dealer.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase


(1-10 of 24 reviews)