Mike Molstead Motors

Mike Molstead Motors

1501 S Grand Ave, Charles City, IA 50616

New 877-602-1873
Used 877-438-9569
Service 877-245-2758

"Your Friend In The Car Business"

Average Ratings

4.8 out of 5.0
80 out of 84 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 84 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Excellent! Awesome customer service & experience

by from Ankeny, Iowa |

Just purchased a new 2014 Town & Country van this week. This was the 2nd vehicle purchased here this year. Both times have been great experiences. Mike W. has treated us great, has an abundance of knowledge of the vehicles they sell, and gets you through the process in a quick & efficient manner. Great work from all those involved in the buying process, it's very much appreciated! Definitely worth the drive to Molstead Motors, you won't be disappointed. They are highly recommended by me and I'll be doing business here again in the future. Thank you!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

1.0 out of 5.0

Horrible experience!

by from Cedar Falls, Iowa |

Do not buy a car from these people! I went there to check out a car and it turned out to be a complete joke. The pictures that they posted did not show any of the body damage that the car had nor did it say that the engine was a rebuild. The salesman lied about how long the dealership had the car for sale (he said 2 months when they actually had it for over 6 months). When I asked about a test drive he said that we could but right as we were about to start the car he said "wait I have to go speak with a manager first". He ran over to the office and made us wait 10 mins in that time we could see him standing inside watching us (not speaking to anyone inside). When he came back he said that he had to check to see if a customer earlier that day had put money down on the car. I would not by a car from these people!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Mike Molstead Motors responded to this review

May 14, 2014

I am very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with one of our sales associates. However there are several inaccuracies in your post that I feel I need to clear up. -There is over 20 pictures of this vehicle posted inside and out from every angle of the car. I am not sure how we could have more accurately shown the condition of the car with our pictures. If you would have called before driving up, I am sure one of our sales associates would have been more than happy to walk around the car and give you a very detailed description of the vehicle. We do this for customers over the phone and by email every day. -The engine is not a rebuild. We replaced a cylinder head that had low compression. It is not a rebuilt or replaced engine. It is the original factory engine that we simply had to perform a repair on. If the salesman miscommunicated that to you I sincerely apologize. -The salesman did not lie to you about how long the car has been on our lot when he said two months. The car was traded into us just over 3 months ago. Because we are not a Subaru dealer it took us several weeks to diagnose and fix the cylinder problem that the vehicle had due to parts orders, technician availability, etc. So the vehicle has only physically been on our lot for about 2 months although we have had it here for a total of a little over 3 months. I am not sure where your 6 month figure came from, but I can assure you the salesman was not trying to mislead you. - If you really had to wait 10 minutes for the salesman to talk to a manager I sincerely apologize. The sales consultant knew that we had previously taken a deposit on that vehicle, and wanted to be sure it was not sold before he let you drive it. We did not want you to be upset if you drove the car, wanted to buy it, and found out we had already sold it. However you should never have to wait 10 minutes for something like that, so if that is the case I do apologize. - Both the salesman and the sales manager that were involved with this situation indicated you were very aggressive in nature and offered over $5,000 less than what the vehicle was priced at and over $7,000 less than retail book value for the vehicle. We pride ourselves on the negotiation free way that we price our used vehicles well below the market average price. There is currently only 3 2007 Subaru WRX's for sale within 500 miles of our dealership, and ours is the least expensive of the three by over $1,000. We price our vehicles in a way that avoids negotiation and is more customer friendly. You don't have to be a trained negotiator to buy a vehicle from our store and most of our customers love this. From what I was told, when Timm tried to explain our pricing and how rare the car was you told him "this is a waste of my time" and immediately left the dealership. Again I am very sorry if you had a poor experience with our dealership, however I felt it was necessary to provide a little more context to this review due to several innaccuracies. If you would like to contact me personally to discuss any of the issues you had when you were here you can call me any time at 641-228-7220 or email me at Jordan.molstead@mikemolsteadmotors.com.


4.0 out of 5.0

friendly sales department

by from charles city iowa |

we have bought two vehicles from mike molstead's motors we are happy with the vehicles we are happy with the sales man mike witham but I am not happy when I was told that I had to pay for a part that vehicle that should of been replaced before the test ride but I am happy with my vehicle

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Mike Molstead Motors responded to this review

May 14, 2014

Thank you for the review and the purchase Jon. Could you email me what the repair was that you had to pay for after the purchase so I can look into it further? If it was something that we should have caught and fixed on inspection I will try to figure out how to make it right with you. Thanks again. - Jordan Molstead


5.0 out of 5.0

very nice and friendly place!!!

by from Charles City IA |

Well I was looking for a used Truck and found one at there site called and Talked to a guy Named Brady he was very nice we set a time and day to come check it out and I asked Brady not to start it or anything cuz i wanted to check it out all the fluids and stuff when it's cold he did as i asked and was very nice and friendly He even came out and cleaned it off from snow made us feel just like at home all the staff there was friendly no one was pushy like just trying to make a sell or anything over all i say it is one of the best dealership's i have seen I will recommend this dealership to anyone!!!!! P.S they have some Good hot coffee to did not even have to ask He asked us soon as we got there and even got it for us!!!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Mike Molstead Motors responded to this review

May 14, 2014

Thank you for the nice review and for the purchase. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Thanks again. - Jordan Molstead, GM


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Sales Person. Jeff Buss

by from Nashua, Ia |

We have purchase three vehicles from Mike Molstead Motors and we are very happy. Jeff Buss worked with our family on all vehicle's and we are very happy with our service. Great job! We will be back when we need to purchase a new car again. Thank you so much

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


1.0 out of 5.0

Out of state visitor paid dearly for repairs.

by from Chicago,IL |

Traveling to Charles City for a family emergency, I experienced engine problems with my Ford Ranger. A family member recommended Molstead Motors. He and several other friends and family have been new and used vehicle buyers and satisfied customers for years. An appointment was made with their Ford service dept and my time constraints were explained to the friendly service advisor. I was assured the truck would be ready for my return to Chicago the next day. One water pump later, at a cost of over $1,000 ($760 in labor alone), my truck was done. I was very aware this was far more expensive than any other water pump I've had replaced on vehicles but had no other options at the time. When presented with the bill, I even suggested the possibility of trading my vehicle and working out deal for a new truck. Write the check, sign the papers and drive off the lot. I was referred to a salesman who apparently had no interest in an easy sale and made little effort to accommodate me. I paid my bill and left town, never to return to this dealership or to recommend it to anyone. Back in Chicagoland, where everything is expensive, I consulted my dealership and also my local mechanic, both of which agreed I had been incredibly overcharged. As a result of my experience, some members of my family have since started taking their business elsewhere also.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Mike Molstead Motors responded to this review

July 5, 2013

We will be contacting this customer directly to talk to him about his issues with our store but I thought it was necessary to post a response here as well. The customer is absolutely correct that replacing a water pump would not cost the $1,000 he paid for this repair. However the water pump was not the cause of his engine problem and was only part of the repair. The diagnosis on his Ranger was for a front cover gasket that was leaking coolant. The repair was to replace the front cover, the water pump and a harmonic balancer. The main issue, and the most expensive issue was the cover gasket - not the water pump. Replacing the faulty gasket requires removing a large portion of the engine to get to it and is a 8.5 hour job, which explains his high labor cost. All of this should have been explained to the customer before the repair when he approved the work - if that was not properly communicated we are very sorry for the confusion. We will be personally calling this customer to attempt to rectify any miscommunication and if he still feels we are at fault we will find a way to make it right. - Jordan Molstead , General Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

would not deal with them

by from mason city iowa |

this dealer is not honest. i wont buy from them again

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Mike Molstead Motors responded to this review

April 16, 2013

I am very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with our dealership. If you could give me a call or email me at jordan.molstead@mikemolsteadmotors.com to give me more information on why you had a poor experience I would greatly appreciate it. We strive to make sure every customer is satisfied and I would like to rectify whatever issues you had during your visit. - Jordan Molstead, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Awesome Experience!!!!!

by from Bloomington, IL |

I live in Bloomington, IL and found this 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee at Mike Molstead Motors, they actually had 2 of them in of exactly what I wanted. I contacted Josh Molstead on Saturday and he followed up promptly and gave the information I needed. He was more than helpful and we negotiated everything over the phone and what he might be able to do on my trade in. I went and picked the Jeep up on Tuesday morning (5 hour drive) and was in and out very quickly. I felt at ease and liked that Josh didn't back up on my trade in offer ( I had told him the minor issues before hand and he took that into consideration). Troy was very thorough on showing me all the options and took a lot of time out of his day to make sure my questions were answered, thanks for that. Dean in Finance had me in and out quickly as well. This was a pleasure to drive the 5hours home and wished my trip was longer as it went by so quickly. This Jeep has so many options on it that it will take me at least a year to figure them all out and that's not a bad thing. I will definately consider making the 5 hour trip again to this dealer on me or my wife's next car as I had such a great experience and the price is unmatched.... Thanks Josh and the guys, keep doing what you do!!!!!!!!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Mike Molstead Motors responded to this review

April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for the review and for coming from Illinois to do business with us. We greatly appreciate the kind words and please let us know if we can do anything for you in the future. - Jordan Molstead, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Mike Molstead Motors

by from cedar falls Iowa |

Very easy to deal with and willing to search for what fits you best!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

Great salespeople

by from New Hampton, IA |

The salesman knew what he was talking about! We got the car that was best suited for us. Thank you very much.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

Bob Kloberdanz

by from Charles City, IA |

Have purchased our vehicles not only for my business but personally thru Mike Molstead Motors for the past 16 years and have always been treated fairly without the pressure of a salesman having you in his cross hairs. This last experienced topped them all-my wife was looking at different cars, liked the Equinox so went to check the different colors. She narrowed her choices down and we went home-within 15 minutes Jeff Buss calls and they had just checked in the car that had the options she wanted! We were planning a few weeks out of getting a new car and had one that night! My wife couldn't be any happier-just a great overall experience!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Not Applicable
Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


(1-10 of 84 reviews)