Carolina Motors 378

Carolina Motors 378

4880 Sunset Boulevard, Lexington, SC 29072

Used 877-266-8914

certified used cars and trucks lexington columbia sc

Average Ratings

4.9 out of 5.0
84 out of 87 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 87 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

2004 G35 Turbo

by from San Antonio, TX |

If you want to buy from someone very trust worthy and honest. ....James Carter is the way to go. I was shopping around for a G35 and had my mind set on a few. Until I found the one Carolina motors was selling . He had a 2004 G35 turbo charged. Price was very amazing due to the low miles it had and tons of upgrades. I was kinda iffy at first.....because this car was in South Carolina and im from TEXAS.! Long story short....he did amazing work and went the extra mile to prove to me I wouldnt be upset if I flew over....he handled the bank for me and even drove to pick me up from airport Overall. ...I was very pleased and I would definitely fly to his shop again in future if he has my next car I want lol! So buy with confidence when you deal with James Carter

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

February 11, 2013

Thank you Angel! It really was a pleasure getting to know you and I really hope you stay in touch with us! Your G35 was a GREAT find, and I'm very happy that you ended up with it! Like I mentioned, I have friends that live in San Antonio, so don't be supprised the next time I vist them, I give you a call! Take Care! James

5.0 out of 5.0

Process Made Easy

by from Camden SC |

I visited Carolina Motors after seeing the truck I was looking for posted on the internet. I had no prior experience with Carolina Motors. I called to arrange to view the truck and they made that available right away. I was shown the truck, given the details and history of vehicle, and test drove truck. There was never any pressure or products being pushed. The truck was exactly what I was looking for. All paperwork was handled very quickly and I was on my way. I met with both Salesman and Owner during the paperwork. Both very nice guys. This is the easiest vehicle transaction I have ever done and I've purchased both new and used vehicles in the past. I would recommend this dealer to anyone looking for a used car/ truck.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

June 16, 2015

Thank you so much, I am so glad we all became friends that day! We look forward to helping you and your friends in the future! John & James


5.0 out of 5.0

Mr. Jack

by from Lexington, SC |

Awesome Dealership !!! They were very, very knowledgeable and listened to may needs and did not pressure me into a rushed decision! Will buy from again!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

June 13, 2015

Thank you so much! We are looking forward to helping you in the future! Have a great week!


5.0 out of 5.0

Good experience and great guys

by from Columbia, SC |

The guys at Carolina Motors are great and made buying my first car (2011 Altima Coupe) very pleasant. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to buy a vehicle.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

February 7, 2015

Thanks rodney for choosing our dealership to service your needs. Enjoy your new purchase it was a pleasure meeting you.Feel free to call us anytime.


5.0 out of 5.0

Easiest and best car buying experience!

by from Lexington, SC |

I, normally, would rather buy a used car from a big dealer and steer clear of small used car lots, especially if financing is involved. However, I found a car that I had been looking for at Carolina Motors and read several of the reviews here on cars.com. I decided to give them a chance, and I couldn't be happier that I did. Carolina Motors has a well maintained website. It is updated regularly and they offer several varied photos of their cars. I dealt with John Staggs, who immediately was very personable, but not fake-personable. It was obvious that John has a passion for helping customers first and selling vehicles secondary. We immediately test drove the car and within minutes were working on a fair trade for my vehicle and negotiating the paperwork for my new car. There was no pressure or extra sales pitches for added maintenance plans, etc.. The whole process took me 30 min! I later told my wife I had to remind myself that I had bought a car, because normally I would have to sit for hours at the larger dealers. I was very impressed with Carolina Motors and would recommend them to anyone. The common themes from the other reviews were "honest and integrity" which I found to be all true. Again, John was straightforward with no nonsense and a pleasure to deal with. You owe it yourself to give them a chance. I love my new (to me) car! Thanks again to the staff at Carolina Motors.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

January 31, 2015

Thank you for giving us a shot! Glad your experience was top notch! Looking forward to doing busines with you in the future!


5.0 out of 5.0

Integrity and Character in a Car Salesman

by from Lexington, S.C. |

During my 60 plus years I have never been treated with such honesty and genuine care while trading a vehicle as I encountered at Carolina Motors. I wanted James Carter and his staff at Carolina Motors to help me because I knew they wouldn't just sell me a vehicle to "pad their pockets". James searched for the right vehicle that would check all of my boxes. I'm sure I drove him a little bit nuts trying to help him find my vehicle and finally realized he didn't need my help for he had my best interest at heart ! The day that he showed me the 2102 Ford Lariat, 4x4, I knew my search was finished. You see, this search had been ongoing for several months with James actually talking me out of just settling for a vehicle. He promised me he would find me the truck that would satisfy my wants and needs and he did just that. So if you are searching for the right vehicle and can have patience, James will treat you like a brother and find your dream car or truck. I trust James with all my family and friends because he will treat them like "His Family". Integrity and Character, thats James Carter. Thanks James! A happy customer, Mike

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

January 14, 2015

Thank you Mike for not only being a great customer, but also for what you do for our community! I have enjoyed getting to know you and thank you for sharing your heart with me and the way you are INVESTING back to the community! Enjoy that new F150, you deserve it !!!! Your friend, James


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Experience !

by from Lexington, SC |

I gave James the description of the vehicle that my wife and I were looking for and we were driving it home in less than a week. The vehicle actually had more features on it and less miles than we were looking for and was still at our price point thanks to the great deal that James got for us. My wife and I have bought cars from other places in the past but will not go anywhere else after the great experience we had at Carolina Motors.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

November 5, 2014

Thanks Hunter! When I started searching for your new Tahoe, you made it easy because you knew exactly what you wanted. I was very gratefull that we were able to exceed your expectations ! I am looking forward to not only being your dealer for life, but a friend for life! I hope you and your family have a great week! Your truly, James


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Purchase

by from Blythewood, SC |

It feels like you have a friend in the used car business. They talk to you from a standpoint they want to help you and not someone trying to make a sale and maximize profits. Very quick process and I couldn't be happier.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

October 31, 2014

Thanks Greg! I'm sure you are going to enjoy the Explorer as my wife and I own the same vehicle for our personal car! It was a lot of fun getting to know you and i'm am looking forward to future business together! Your friend, James


5.0 out of 5.0

2010 Nissan Pathfinder

by from Irmo SC |

2010 Nissan Pathfinder! This is the third vehicle I have bought/sold with James Cater. The experience is always easy and stress free. I would tell everyone to take a load off and rest easy they genuinely have your best interest at heart and make every effort to make buying a car an honest, worry free experience. Thanks to all the guys at Carolina Motors!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

October 31, 2014

Brian, you are not just a good customer, but a GREAT guy and a dad to! I feel very grateful to not only call you my customer, but also a friend! OK, enough of the Bro-mance, go enjoy your ride !!!! LOL !!!! James


5.0 out of 5.0

First time buyer and the absolute best experience!

by from Chapin, SC |

Speaking from a first time buyer experience, James and John beyond exceeded my expectations for an excellent car buying experience. I was referred to James by my father-in-law who has purchased several vehicles from Carolina Motors in the past. As I saw a vehicle on their lot, James seemed to make it his goal to cater to my needs as he quickly set up a test drive for me, greeted me kindly when I arrived, and handed me the keys to drive the car on my own. No pressure once so ever! My wife and I have been shopping for a car for quite some time and we've been dealing with those typical moderate to high pressure dealerships that ride along with you and grill you until you walk away to never come back. Well, not only was hospitality extended to us, the moment we decided we wanted the car, our purchasing experience was quickly executed and quite flawless may I add. On the nigh we wanted to sign the paper to move things along the other sales associate, Mr. john Staggs, conveniently met us at Carolina Motors, after hours may I add, helped us get squared away and the rest was history. If this is your first time buying a car or even your second or third time buying a car, I highly recommend James and John at Carolina Motors. Thank you!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

October 31, 2014

Thank you for the kind words Ashton! I'm so glad to have met you and I really feel your Toyota will give you many years of dependable service! Again, John and I thank you! James Carer


5.0 out of 5.0

BMW 328i

by from Blythewood, SC |

Great experience from James and the staff at Carolina Motors 378. I'd certainly recommend them to someone looking to buy a car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carolina Motors 378 responded to this review

August 11, 2014

Thank you so much Colonel Gayle. I really enjoyed meeting you and your wife and talking more than just about cars, but about your family and faith. I can tell you are an asset to your family and our country, and I thank you for that! Enjoy your Bimmer and I look forward to the next time I see you! Yours Truly, James


(1-10 of 87 reviews)