Shawnee Mission Hyundai

Shawnee Mission Hyundai

7050 W Frontage Rd, Merriam, KS 66203

New 866-804-7302
Used 866-604-6435
Service 888-269-3454

When You Think Hyundai, Think Shawnee Mission Hyundai

Average Ratings

4.6 out of 5.0
78 out of 86 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 89 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

outstanding experience

by from Belton, Mo |

I found the car that I was interested in on their web site. It was heavily discounted, so I was satisfied with the price. I came in with what I needed to make a deal; trade in amount, interest rate and length of finance to get a specfic monthy payment. I really liked the car, but I didn't need to trade, I just wanted to see if they could meet my needs. I fully expected to go home without making a deal. Salomen was able to meet all my needs and the monthly payment was within $3 of what I had to have. Needless to say I am the proud owner of a new Genesis. Salomen is very knowlegable and everyone was exceedingly friendly and helpful. My wife has a 2013 Santa Fe that she got from another local Hyundai dealer. She was so impressed with Salomen and the service department that she will be bringing her Santa Fe to Shawnee Mission Hyundai for service from now on. This was indeed an outstanding experience.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

April 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear Salomen did everything he could to meet all of your automotive needs. I hope you are enjoying your new Genesis and that we continue to provide you and your wife with great customer service. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Bobby Lubbers, General Manager

5.0 out of 5.0

Ask for Dave...I got a great car and a new friend

by from Overland Park, KS |

I felt rather intimidated at the thought of buying a car alone. Dave was very understanding, trustworthy and sensitive to my budget needs. He was not manipulative and he did not pressure me into making a decision before I was ready. He was very perceptive and genuinely cared about me as a person first. He seemed to really enjoy riding along as I test drove different cars and shared helpful information about each of them. He was truly happy for me when the sale was finalized and he stayed until after midnight while Connor completed the financing process with me. Dave has followed up with me to make sure I am satisfied. I will definitely recommend Dave, Patrick, Joe and the rest of the Shawnee Mission Hyundai team to anyone I know that is shopping for a car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words on everyone, but especially Dave. I am happy to hear he did everything to make sure you were not pressured and drove home feeling confident with your purchase. If there is anything else I can assist you with, please let me know. John Roberts, General Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

Worst service ever experienced

by from Overland Park, KS |

When my Son's Hyundai Accent was still under factory warranty, I took it in for him and indicated to service that there was an intermittant starter problem. I gave them a test printout from Advance Auto Parts, indicating low starter voltage, but good battery.. They could find nothing wrong. Two days later, same problem. SM Hyundai told us that we needed a new battery, even though it had been tested three days earlier. We replaced the battery. Two days later it had to be towed in because the starter wouldn't even turn the engine over. (just as before, but this time they were able to see for themselves) Shawnee Mission staff decided the starter had nothing to do with it, the car needed a whole new engine and that was the "only solution". Cost? In excess of $4000 and would not be covered by warranty because my son could not supply complete documentation that all oil changes were done on time, from the time the car was new. Since my son if facing financial hardship, I had the car towed, at my expense, to a competent mechanic. After five minutes, he declared "It's the starter!" After replacement, the car started right up, and has run perfectly ever since. To anyone who doesn't believe this, I can supply documentation for all of my claims, and you are welcome to examine the car in question. Although we have been offered a verbal apology, we have financial damages as a result of their negligence, and/or dishonesty. (I had to pay for the tow and starter replacement, that should have been covered.) Shawnee Mission Hyundai, after four months, and several letters, still has not reimbursed us under the warranty for the loss we incurred as a direct result of their incompetence.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

July 3, 2014

We are very sorry for what your son experienced with his Hyundai Accent. Unfortunately, because Hyundai's warranty could not cover the cost, we could not repair the car to your satisfaction.


5.0 out of 5.0

We bought two

by from Overland Park, KS |

During a service visit for a problem with an older model, my wife asked if you could look at the vehicles in the showroom. Eddie Huffaker offered to assist and provided information that was not on display. When the issue on our old car looked significant, Eddie suggested that we speak with the General Manager who went "beyond the call of duty" to make us happy, including the loan of a new vehicle in which my wife was interested. We were so impressed with the cars, the people and the agency that we replaced both of our older cars with two new ones. Our Hyundais have been great and so are the dealership and its employees.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

June 20, 2014

Thank you for writing this review. I am happy to hear you and your wife are enjoying your new cars! We all truly value your business and we look forward to a long friendship. If there is ever anything I can assist you with, please let me know. John Roberts, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great service

by from Trimble, MO |

I've had a problem with an oil leak for quite a while. I go out of my way and drive almost an hour to get to this location. Felix has been very polite and professional. I would've given the quality of repairs 5 stars but I want to make sure the leak is finally fixed. I think this technician might be the ticket so I'm hopeful. Thanks for making me feel comfortable and important. When it's time to trade, we will drive the extra miles to this location!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

June 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear Felix is doing everything he can to make sure your car is as good as new. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Bobby Lubbers, General Manager


3.0 out of 5.0

I will continue to shop for dealers

by from Overland Park, KS |

I was ready to deal to buy a car. I test drove one on the used lot. The sales person was friendly but never addressed the fact that I was test driving. She did not talk about the car, why I wanted to buy a car. Never got off the topic of her past, how great she was. She was friendly, but never got off herself in topic. I wanted to hear the car, know features of the car, feel the way it drove. I walked away.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Not Applicable
Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

May 31, 2014

Dear Suzie, I am so sorry to hear about your experience here at the dealership. Obviously when a customer is ready (or even just looking) to buy a car we like to make sure they get the attention and answers they deserve. We would love to have you back in the store and have a chance to show you the Shawnee Mission Hyundai treatment we are known so well for. We will connect you with a different sales person and make sure to make it worth your while for coming back. Again, I apologize and I hope we can earn your business back. You can ask for me and I will personally make sure you are taken care of. Sincerely, Bobby Lubbers General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Sonata

by from Leawood |

We had a great experience at Shawnee Mission Hyundai. We worked with Rebecca and she was fantastic! She is very knowledgable. She and the manager Mike worked with us to get us I to a care we love with a deal we are happy with! Don't buy until you give them a try!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

May 12, 2014

Mary, thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear you had a great time purchasing your new Hyundai with both Rebecca and Mike. If there is anything else I can assist you with, please let me know. Bobby Lubbers, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Positive experience

by from Overland Park, KS |

I first stopped by the dealership on a Sunday just before they were closing. Rebecca said, "You're already here; can we get a little information?" Although it was late, she even suggested a test drive that evening. After a couple of more visits and test drives while comparing the Accent and the Elantra, I decided to purchase a blue Elantra - the car Rebecca said she thought would be a good fit the first night I met her. Rebecca was very helpful and really listened to what I was looking for in a new car. She did not "push" the sale, and followed up on my time frame when I had a very busy schedule.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

April 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear Rebecca did everything to accommodate you during the purchase of your Elantra. I hope you are enjoying it and that you come back to visit us. If there is anything else I can do for you, please let me know. Bobby Lubbers, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Positive experience

by from Overland Park, KS |

I first stopped by the dealership on a Sunday just before they were closing. Rebecca said, "You're already here; can we get a little information?" Although it was late, she even suggested a test drive that evening. After a couple of more visits and test drives while comparing the Accent and the Elantra, I decided to purchase the Elantra. Rebecca was very helpful and really listened to what I was looking for in a new car.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

April 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear Rebecca did everything to accommodate you during the purchase of your Elantra. I hope you are enjoying it and that you come back to visit us. If there is anything else I can do for you, please let me know. Bobby Lubbers, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Sonata Purchase

by from Gladstone, MO |

Thanks so much to the Shawnee Mission Hyundai team! We had been looking for a new car, but wanted to get a better deal than we had on our present car - so upside down in it. We had been to many dealerships in the Kansas City Metro area with no luck. Rebecca told us they could do the deal with everything we asked for. I told her I did not want to come sit in the dealership and go through all the paperwork once again to be told they really couldn't do the deal. She and Patrick assured me that would not be the case. It was not. Rebecca and Patrick worked earnestly with me and honestly with me on the deal. We ended up with a 2014 Sonata with lower payments than we had before and 1/2 the interest rate. They both were very courteous and polite and cared about our purchase - not just getting a sale. We have had follow up calls and e-mails from Rebecca to check in on us - great sales person! The showroom was clean and sales people and managers that were not working with us greeted us and were polite. Great place to do business. Car buying can be such a chore, but this was a very pleasant experience. We have recommended them to others already. Thanks again!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

April 4, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm pleased to hear both Rebecca and Patrick provided you with great customer service and that they continue to follow up with you. I hope you are enjoying your new car and that you come back to visit us. If there is anything else I can do for you, please let me know. Bobby Lubbers, General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Experience

by from Overland Park, KS |

Salomen and all the other associates at Shawnee Mission Hyundai were a pleasure to work with. We had great service there and look forward to working with them in the future. Salomen was professional, approachable and easy to work with. He made our buying process smooth and easy. We will recommend Salomen and Shawnee Mission Hyundai to friends and family looking for a Hyundai.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Shawnee Mission Hyundai responded to this review

April 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear Salomen did everything to make sure you had a great time purchasing your car. If there is anything else I can do to further your satisfaction, please let me know. Bobby Lubbers, General Manager


(1-10 of 89 reviews)