Merits Auto Sales

Merits Auto Sales

313 Elizabeth Avenue, Newark, NJ 07112

Used 888-318-0432

Home of the buy here pay here

Average Ratings

4.8 out of 5.0
36 out of 37 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 37 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Great customer service!!

by from New York, NY |

Great customer service!! ask for Elvis, he would definitively do as much as he can to give you a good price and explain you everything you need to know when you buy an used car. I totally recommend this dealer!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

July 3, 2013

MARIANO THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR REVIEW IT WAS MY PLEASURE TO SERVE YOU AND YOUR FAMILY IN THE TIME OF YOUR CAR NEEDS SPECIALLY WHEN THIS VEHICLE IS SO IMPORTANT TO YOUR SONS AND YOUR BABY TO COME MEDICAL NEEDS THAT WAS MY TOP PRIORITY TO SERVE YOU WITH THE BEST CAR AS POSSIBLE AND MAKING IT EASY FOR YOU TO GET THE BEST ATTENTION WITHIN MY POWER AGAIN THANK YOU AND YOUR FAMILY LOOK FORWARD IN HELPING YOU,YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY IN MEANS OF CONVEYANCE IN THE FUTURE SINCERELY:"ELVIS" (SALES MANAGER)

5.0 out of 5.0

Elvis Lives and He Sells Cars in Newark

by from Wayne, NJ |

The salesman here (name is Elvis) didn't only sell me an awesome car--he helped me buy it. He's a straightforward talker, and bent over backwards to make the financing work. I found that everything he said was accurate and true. The check-engine light was one when I first arrived but they cleared the codes and the car ran fine for a week; when the check-engine light came on again, they said, Bring it in! (It was just some minor cold-start error code, not atypical for my car). In short, this dealership does not look like much from the outside but it seems to have a solid lot of high-quality cars for fair prices, and the people who run it are good, straight talkers and dealers. My only complaint was the battery they included with the car was essentially dead; but that was a relatively small price to pay for such a high-demand vehicle. I now have an awesome Roadster (BMW Z3) which I purchased for a fair price. Very satisfied.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

January 28, 2015

It was pleasure dealing with you , you and your family are welcome to our dealership any time to check our inventory. Or you can visit our web page at : www.meritsautosale.com


5.0 out of 5.0

shania -ford edge

by from newark, nj |

When i decided on buying my truck sager was there to help me through each step. Explain and made everything easy for my understanding.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

January 19, 2015

It was pleasure dealing with you , you and your family are welcome to our dealership any time to check our inventory. Or you can visit our web page at : www.meritsautosale.com


1.0 out of 5.0

No informed sales help

by from alpha nj |

No informed sales help.Went down to test drive a car,Test drove a car with the maintenance man who didn't no anything about the car.Check engine light was on,which raised a red flag,I used past reviews of the dealer which included "Helpful informed salesmen"that are no longer there.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

January 18, 2015

I'm sorry about this matter. If you would like to come back and discuss about the car we are gladly to help you. Our office hours are from 9:30am to 5:30am Thank you.


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service, Great Truck at a great price!

by from Toms River, NJ |

Strongly Recommend to stop by. Honest people, who delivered everything they promised and who know what they are talking about. A pleasant experience. I got a superb vehicle at a fair cost. No pressure or hassles. Mechanics on call to spot answer your questions.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

November 29, 2014

It was pleasure dealing with you , you and your family are welcome to our dealership any time to check our inventory. Or you can visit our web page at : www.meritsautosale.com


5.0 out of 5.0

great sales rep

by from newark newjersey |

Elvis was a great salesperson I recommend him to any client like all honesty and that's positive business.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

December 20, 2014

It was pleasure dealing with you , you and your family are welcome to our dealership any time to check our inventory. Or you can visit our web page at : www.meritsautosale.com


5.0 out of 5.0

found the car of my dreams!!!!! awesome!

by from rahway ny |

After a long process of looking for my dream car i thought i wasn't going to find it until i came across the journey !! absolutely amazing i have to say. They give me a smooth process and helped me every step of the way answering every question and doubt.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

December 20, 2014

It was pleasure dealing with you , you and your family are welcome to our dealership any time to check our inventory. Or you can visit our web page at : www.meritsautosale.com


5.0 out of 5.0

Elvis great sales man

by from newark, nj |

The customer service here was great with Elvis. He attended us quickly and was nice. gave us the best deal we could get.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

December 20, 2014

It was pleasure dealing with you , you and your family are welcome to our dealership any time to check our inventory. Or you can visit our web page at : www.meritsautosale.com


5.0 out of 5.0

No nonsense

by from Somerset, Nj |

After looking around for a car at multiple dealerships who gave me a hard time, I was especially satisfied with the service at merritts. Everything was straight forward and most importantly, the price did not get jacked up with fees at the end of the sale.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

July 25, 2014

thank you again for your business always there to help you with your means of conveyance


5.0 out of 5.0

Purchase of 2006 Volkswagen New Beetle @ Merits

by from Brooklyn, NY |

We worked with Elvis, who was extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived pretty late on the Thursday before a holiday weekend and he couldn't have been more accommodating, without making us feel pressured. We were able to complete the sale and come back on Saturday after the holiday, with everything as it was promised and feeling confident.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

July 23, 2014

we at merits auto sales we live by our motto no pressure no hassle with our customers to ensure their satisfaction thank you once again for your business


5.0 out of 5.0

The Only Place That I'll Give My Business To

by from Elizabeth, NJ |

I've been trying to be an independent contractor for a moving company. Long story short: the process took at least two months and Elvis held on to the truck for me the whole time even though he could've sold it numerous times. He wanted to see me be successful and was more concerned about helping someone out than making a sale as quickly as possible. Such is rare in life. Furthermore I don't doubt that he could've sold the truck for twice what he sold it to me for. It promptly passed inspection and is in great shape. It will eventually make me dozens of times in profit the measly price I paid for it. Because it is so rare to find used car dealers who actually care about the people they're selling their vehicles to, this will be the only dealership that I give my business to from now and I urge anyone reading this to do the same. Be sure to ask for Elvis: the best and most trustworth used car salesman you'll ever meet!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

July 25, 2014

thank you always there to lend a helping hand for those that need it in these hard times tell your friends & family


(1-10 of 37 reviews)