Merits Auto Sales

Merits Auto Sales

313 Elizabeth Avenue, Newark, NJ 07112

Used 888-318-0432

Home of the buy here pay here

Average Ratings

4.9 out of 5.0
31 out of 31 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


    11-20 of 31 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0

buick rendezvous

by from New Jersey |

I came to Merit Auto Sales to look for a nicely priced used car and think I made the best decision ever...they worked with my budget and also were very friendly. Sam is the man. He sold me my 3rd row seating vehicle for a great price and they were very friendly and helpful!! I definitely will be back in the future with friends and family!! Thanks Merit!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

March 5, 2014

thank you for taking out time out of your day to write a good review of your great experience at merits auto sales and please feel free to tell your family and friends thank you


5.0 out of 5.0

Very helpful and easy to work with!

by from Avenel, NJ |

The easiest car buying experience I've ever had. Was in, out, with a test drive and signed deal in just over an hour. Everyone was very helpful, car needed a few tiny repairs and these were done in a very timely manner. Would definitely recommend and use them again. Thanks to all!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

January 15, 2014

hello this is Elvis the staff and I would like to thank you for taking out the time to make a review and want to invite any of your friends and family to use us for your future car purchase needs as our service and performance continue to expand,we will be happy to have you as our future clients sincerely:ELVIS JAY (SALES MANAGER)


5.0 out of 5.0

Merits Auto Review

by from Newark, NJ |

Went to look at an older celica that was listed on craigslist. Was greeted by salesman, Elvis. Allowed me to thoroughly inspect the vehicle and was satisfied with the information he provided about the car seemed to be honest. After a test drive and discussing a few issues we settled on a price and the buying process was relatively painless. Customer service was polite and helpful. If you are looking for a vehicle I wouldn't hesitate to stop by.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

December 24, 2013

thank you for taking out time out of your day to write a good review of your great experience at merits auto sales and please feel free to tell your family and friends thank you


5.0 out of 5.0

Super Salesman Elvis

by from jefferson |

I was on craigslist looking for a car and called and got an answer right away, talked with elvis and came in the following tuesday to look and talk to elvis and he helped me out took us on a long test drive to really feel out the car and helped me right through the buying process easy and simple. came back the second day to pay for the car and drive it off. he washed it for me and everything so i left with a pretty, clean, new car. elvis was great and easy to work with, with a good personality.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

December 5, 2013

thank you for taking out time out of your day to write a good review of your great experience at merits auto sales and please feel free to tell your family and friends thank you


4.0 out of 5.0

Good experience overall

by from Philadelphia, PA |

I could not take the car to my preferred service station for inspection. Instead elvis insisted me to go to their suggested mechanical body shop. Inspite of it the overall experience was good. Nice person elvis and we could trust him. Strongly recommend him!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

October 7, 2013

thank you for taking out time out of your day to write a good review of your great experience at merits auto sales and please feel free to tell your family and friends thank you


5.0 out of 5.0

Great dealership to buy from

by from trenton nj |

Im from Trenton and drive up to merits dealership check out a BMW 745li and left out a happy customer. The guy Elvis was very helpful in getting me the best deal with my budget. This is the best dealership i been to so far. I will be buying all my cars from here. I highly recommend this dealership

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

October 7, 2013

thank you for taking out time out of your day to write a good review of your great experience at merits auto sales and please feel free to tell your family and friends thank you


5.0 out of 5.0

Great customer service.

by from Bronx,New York |

Merits Auto Sales is a great dealership. Very dependable. I met Elvis over the phone, right away he went out his way to get what i was looking for. He sold me the exact car i was looking for and he worked hard to make me a deal according to my financial situation. The car i brought was in great condition. I had to replace my 02 sensor and their mechanic replaced it for free which was very admirable. Also Sager helped me with the financing of my car. He went over all the information and helped me understand everything i needed to know. I truly recommend Merits to all used cars buyers they have a great team and they will work their hardest to make all parties involved satisfied. Durelle Williams Toyota Celica GT Bronx,New York

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

July 19, 2013

thank you for taking out time out of your day to write a good review of your great experience at merits auto sales and please feel free to tell your family and friends thank you


5.0 out of 5.0

Nice, helpful and fair....

by from Glen Rock, NJ |

A shout out to Elvis Jay, the salesman who sold me my Volvo S70 two weeks ago. Elvis is friendly, professional, knowledgeable and easy to do business with. He treated me very well, took the time to go out on two test drives and spent as much time as I needed answering questions. They did a nice job washing the car and making sure I had all the right paperwork for the MVC. A very good car buying experience overall.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive review truly from the bottom of my heart.When you told me that you needed a good reliable car for your son to go to school it became my top priority to make you a satisfied customer so i set myself a challenge to meet your expectations. at this time i made sure that the vehicle was serviced and in tip top condition with no issues that way it would meet your expectations upon your arrival and gave you my best.Thank you again look forward to serving you,your family and friends in the future car needs.Also i take pride in the service i give to our customers that way our clientele can see the difference between us and the other used car dealers thank you again sincerely:"Elvis" (Sales Manager)


5.0 out of 5.0

Buying a used Car

by from Newark NJ |

Buying a car from Merits Auto Sales was easy, friendly and stress free. I walked in met a nice gentleman name Elvis he show me different cars in my price range, and he gave me a pretty good deal. I walked away with a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee, I'm happy. Elvis made no promise that he could not keep. I would recommend this car dealership to everyone. I even purchased a lifetime warranty for the transmission and engine.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

May 23, 2013

thank you so much for the review and always welcome you your family and friends


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service

by from Kearny, NJ |

Elvis and Sam provided friendly and professional service. I got a great vehicle at a great price. I brought it back for service and the mechanic, Junior, returned the car quickly and running like new. Not only do I recommend them to family and friends, but I plan to buy my next vehicle here as well.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Merits Auto Sales responded to this review

May 23, 2013

thank you so much for the review and always welcome you your family and friends


(11-20 of 31 reviews)