Carbone Subaru

Carbone Subaru

800 Hoosick Rd, Troy, NY 12180

New 877-732-8335
Used 888-642-9224
Service 888-277-6759

Delivering Joy Since 1929

Average Ratings

4.2 out of 5.0
28 out of 34 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 34 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Gerald and Debra Buckley

by from Middletown NY |

My wife deb and i had just purchased our 2015 Subaru forester from Carbone Subaru.We were blown away by the overall customer service we received from everyone especially Norah Haddad Frenyea.She had gone above and beyond our expectations,with helping us pick a vehicle which was right for us.We had looked at other dealerships for months and always left with a feeling that it was all about the Benjamins.Norah gave us the best deal ever.Blowing away the prices they were offering us at previous Dealerships.Infact some walked away when i tried to negotiate with them.Norah was so willing to listen to our concerns .answered all of our questions and most of all made buying a car a pleasurable experience and not a headache.We will definitley be purchasing our next car there.Thank You Norah. The car rides like a dream.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

May 31, 2015

Hello Gerald & Debra, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Carbone Subaru of Troy with your Sales Consultant Norah Frenyea. While we welcome all feedback, it's always nice to hear when everything goes well. We look forward to helping you with all of your vehicle needs. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager

5.0 out of 5.0

Excellent Experience!!

by from Troy, NY |

I was in the market for a 2nd car to use as my work vehicle and a used Honda Civic at this dealership caught my eye. Christian, the salesman, was very helpful and made the buying process easy. Fred, the Used Car Manager, was extremely helpful and accommodating and did everything to ensure a smooth delivery and an easy transaction. I would definitely recommend this dealer to my friends and family. My mother also recently purchased a new Subaru from this dealer, again with the help and super customer service from Christian and Fred. Their Service Dept was also very friendly and helpful.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

April 23, 2015

Hello Nicola, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for sharing your "excellent experience" at our Carbone Subaru of Troy location. It was also nice to hear your mother purchased and you were able to utilize our Service Department. Our family loves to share with yours. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Made buying a car easy!

by from Upstate, NY |

I had purchased my car with the help of Dan Hellen and I cannot say enough good things about him. He made the whole experience very easy, straight forward, and painless. He knew so much about the car you would've thought he was selling his personal car. And the best part was, he wasn't pushy at all. On top of that, the entire staff made you feel welcomed and not once did I feel like I was just another customer. The entire process from start to finish was unlike any other dealership I have been too. If anyone is considering buying a car I would HIGHLY suggest doing it through Carbone Subaru in Troy. Thank you again Dan!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

April 21, 2015

Hello Mike, Thank you for taking the time to share the "easy car buying experience" at Carbone Subaru of Troy you had with Dan Hellen. Dan is a great asset to the team and it was a pleasure to hear how he contributed to the continued success of the Carbone Auto Group. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Purchase Experience

by from Altamont, NY |

Purchased a Legacy with the help of Salesperson Sam Foster. Sam was professional, couteous, knowledgeable and a pleasure to deal with. Would recommend him to anyone looking to buy at Carbone.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

April 2, 2015

Hello Julie, Thank you for sharing your pleasurable experience with Sam Foster from our Carbone Subaru of Troy location. Our goal is to provide our best service to all of our customers. Thank you for helping achieve that goal. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Can't Say Enough!!!

by from Troy, NY |

I wanted to express the wonderful treatment I received at Carbone Subaru. The salesman Christian was so helpful, explaining in great detail the workings of my new 2015 Subaru Crosstrek. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to attend to my needs, including Finance Alex, Sales Manager Fred and wonderful Service Dept. I love my Crosstrek.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

March 31, 2015

Hello Geraldine, Thank you for letting us know about the "wonderful treatment" you received at our Carbone Subaru of Troy. We want every customer to be able to experience that kind of service. Thank you for helping us spread the word. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Best Car Buying Experience!

by from Saratoga Springs, NY |

Sam Foster is THE BEST car salesman in the world! He was patient and walked us through each Subaru as we test drove at least four before deciding on the 2015 Outback 3.6. They have a HUGE (Yes, HUGE!) inventory of Subarus. Sam was extremely knowledgeable and low key, yet able to advise us on the best car for us. We love our new Outback and I highly recommend you seeing Sam Foster at Carbone Subaru in Troy!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

March 13, 2015

Hello Phyllis, Thank you for sharing your "best car buying experience" at our Carbone Subaru of Troy. Our team is trained to put your needs first. I'm glad Sam was given the opportunity to do so. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

Very frustrating experience

by from Troy, NY |

Visited dealership Saturday morning to pick out a new car. I received a call Saturday later in the day that my loan went through and I was all set to pick up my car Monday morning at 11AM. They called Monday morning to ensure that I was still getting the car due to the snow and I told them yes. They then called back about an hour later asking me to bring a copy of my pay stub and W2s. Because I started a new job I would not have a current paystub until Tuesday. I sent my paystub to them on Tuesday around 330pm. Wednesday morning they called to see if I could send them a paystub which I told them I already did. This process was extremley frustrating and the only answer I kept getting was "I'm waiting to hear back from the bank" I asked why I was told on Saturday that my loan was approved and everyting was all set and now I'm having problems. The person doing my paperwork at the Carbone did not realize I needed a pay stub which obviously held up the process. I was able to pick up my car on Wednesday afternoon. While there, they asked for a copy of my lein release for trading in my previous car. I explained I gave them my lein release on Saturday, they said they didn't have it. They ended up finding it. After leaving Carbone with my new car, they called me 2 hours later asking if I took my key to my old car with me. I explained that I gave them the key and they put it with their tags. I will NEVER EVER recommend this dealership to anyone. It's really a shame of how much frustration and aggravation they caused. Very poor service.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

February 23, 2015

Hello Nicole, I was sorry to hear of your frustration with our Carbone Subaru of Troy. I would like to believe that this situation was the exception to the norm and take the time to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Your comments, even though not the most favorable, will help us to continue to improve our process. If there is anything you would like to discuss I would be happy to hear from you. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager kflynn@carbonecars.com


1.0 out of 5.0

Worst customer service.

by from Troy, NY |

The people at Carbone were nice enough when I was there in person, just try getting a hold of them on the phone. The only person who would pick up their phone was the receptionist. When I tried to reach my salesman, Joe Crisafulli, about a question I had regarding the car I was going to purchase, it went to voicemail and I never received a call back. The finance manager, JP Wallas, was just as bad. When I was there in person he told me that he would call me in a couple of hours, but failed to call me back at all that day. I called him the next day and once again I had to leave a voicemail, and again didn't hear anything back from them. Frustrated, I went to one of their competitors in the area and I was able to purchase a car without a hitch, so Carbone had already lost the sale. While I was at the other dealership, JP finally called me back but it was too late. After I purchased my new '14 Impreza, I called Carbone again to see how I would go about getting my deposit back on the car that I was going to be purchasing from them. Once again, the receptionist transferred me to J.P. and (you guessed it) it went straight to voicemail. I figured they must have been extremely busy if they weren't picking up their phones, so I drove down to their dealership. When I got there, the place was completely empty, I mean I was literally the only one there so I'm baffled as why they don't pick up their phones or call people back. I finally got my deposit back and I'm glad I didn't give them my business. READ OTHER PEOPLES REVIEWS, they say the same thing. These guys will not call you back. If customer service is important to you, stay away from Carbone!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

October 7, 2014

Hello Tim, I was sorry to hear about your experience at our Carbone Subaru of Troy location. We feel all feedback, whether negative or positive, is important so we can continue to improve our overall sales process. Your comments have been noted and appreciated. Have a great day! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Couldn't be happier

by from Dalton, MA |

I had the most incredible experience with Carbone Subaru of Troy. After looking at other dealerships slightly closer to my home, I was unimpressed with the customer service and the general attitude of the sales departments (of the other dealerships). I contacted Carbone and after telling them what I was looking for, they let me know as soon as it arrived on the lot. From the first contact with them, to the purchase of my car it was approximately 5 days. Every question I had was answered and I was walked through my first new car buying process, with them making sure I was comfortable with every detail. I highly suggest this dealership to all my friends and family, and to anyone else looking for a great buying experience with quality sales personnel.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

October 7, 2014

Hi Justin, Thank you for taking the time to share your incredible experience at Carbone Subaru of Troy with us. We are continually trying to improve our customer service and it's always nice to hear when we succeed. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Best decision and best purchase!

by from South glens falls |

I have been through the ringer with cars.. Was recommended by a friend. I was greeted by everyone, including every staff passed by me. Bill McGee was my salesman! He was extremely friendly, funny-absolute riot, down to earth and not pushy realistic and honest and truly cared about my best interest and budget.. A rarity! He not only got me into an amazing legacy, but helped me make the best solid investment I could count on for the next 7 years! N I got bumper to bumper coverage!! And my car certified. It's such an amazing feeling knowing I have a safe reliable and luxurious car! The finance mgr. , JP, was excellent as well ! He made the financing process pain free as well as went above and beyond to get me into my car. Found me some great options. The subaru car. Itself sells itself, the team at Carbone added a touch of sweetens the deal! A+ dealership!! I'm forever a carbone customer!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

October 6, 2014

Hello Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Carbone Subaru of Troy with us. With everyone always in such a rush, it's nice to know that the sales team took the time to put your needs first. Enjoy your new ride! Karen Flynn Internet Manager


1.0 out of 5.0

road hazard tire cancelled-left front hub&brearing

by from rotterdam ny 12303 |

trying to collect money from warranty for over 2 months keep telling it will be week then 30 days then 45 7 trips there at 17 miles 1 way no calls return

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Carbone Subaru responded to this review

August 23, 2014

Hello Mr./Ms. Salvi, I was sorry to hear about your experience at our Carbone Subaru of Troy regarding your warranty. Would you like to have me look into this for you? You can let me know by emailing me at kflynn@carbonecars.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Karen Flynn Internet Manager


(1-10 of 34 reviews)