Spartan Toyota Scion

Spartan Toyota Scion

5701 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48911

New 888-804-9515
Used 888-815-7375
Service 888-255-0921

Home of the Spartan Advantage

Average Ratings

3.9 out of 5.0
11 out of 15 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

great salesman in Nate Stanislowski.

by from Olivet, Mi |

Intended on buying a KIA Soul.Karen has always liked them. Was standing by the car we wanted over 20 minutes. No one came to greet. Went next door to Spartan Toyota. Nat Stanislowski came forward introduced himself showed us a toyota Corolla. We test drove the vehicle, Karen fell in love with the car. She bought the car and we drove it home. If you are looking for a salesman that doesn't smile alot don't see Nate. If you want a honest smiling salesman see Nate. Friendliest salesman we ever dealt with. Showed us everything we needed to know about the vehicle. Asked for our Cell Phone. Set up our hands free phone. Nate your the best. Hope to buy from you again. Will send our friends your way. we are getting great gas mileage.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

June 20, 2014

Hello, Welcome to the Spartan Toyota family! I'm glad that Nate gave you the buying experience you were looking for. He is a good example of the expectations we have in our customer service process. He is great with technology features. We appreciate your purchase with Spartan Toyota and hope that you are enjoying your new Corolla. Yours truly, Shelley Goward Director of Business Development Spartan Toyota

5.0 out of 5.0

Lansing Toyota dealership

by from Holt, MI |

The Corolla has been a Consumer Reports "best buy" for years, so based in that, we shopped for a second Corolla when it was finally time to put to rest our 19-year-old Tercel (we are still driving an 11-year-old Corolla). Toyotas can't be beat for reliability and longevity. The sales staff was very friendly, patient, and helpful.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

July 11, 2014

Dear Corolla Fan, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on the Toyota Corolla and our dealership. Your vehicles are a great example of Toyota's outstanding quality. I'm glad that we were able to assist you in retiring your Tercel. I hope you are enjoying your new Corolla. We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Shelley Goward Director of Business Development Spartan Toyota


5.0 out of 5.0

great salesman in Nate Stanislowski.

by from Lansing,mi |

I bought my first car a week ago and it was the best experience I could of had. Nate had looked at all the great options for me. Because it was my first time I was nervous and not sure what kind of car would fit my life style. Nate had taken the time to get to know me and and place me in the car of my dreams. I absolutely love my new car and I can't thank Nate enough! Hands down he is best salesmen I have met yet! I plan to always do business with Toyota for myself, family, kids, etc. thanks Toyota and Nate!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

Nate stanislowski. Spartan Toyota sales

by from Lansing, Michigan |

Nate was super. He didn't try to over sell. He called asking if we had any questions. He walked us through the whole process. We were quit certain that we were going with another brand of car but with Nates sharing of his knowledge, his availability and customer service we stayed with spartan Toyota. I certainly would recommend him for any dealings with spartan Toyota. He has called after we got our car and I am certain that he will always be available if we ever have any questions.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

June 25, 2014

Hi Paula, Thank you for your kind words regarding your experience at Spartan Toyota. I will share them with Nate. I'm glad that he was able to give you the product knowledge and customer service to retain you as a Spartan Toyota customer. He is an asset to our company. We appreciate your purchase with us! Sincerely, Shelley Goward Director of Business Development Spartan Toyota


5.0 out of 5.0

Feel good about my purchase

by from Lansing, MI |

I got to the dealership and was quickly and pleasantly greeted by Nate Stan. I did not realize it was about to close, but Nate had no problem being patient and walking me through the available RAV4s. He was pleasant and not pressuring. He was good in walking me through an estimate of payments available thru a promotion Spartan was offering. He told me the possibilities and extra costs for different additional options I wanted. I was very aggressive in my offer and he was very helpful in helping get the deal I wanted. Nate was candid and seemed to sincerely consider my best interest during the negotiation. It went very quickly and I was very satisfied with the terms. He fought well for me to get me what I wanted. I had been to 3 other dealerships and though they all were good too, I felt very good about this deal. And so I went ahead and close that day. Buying a car can be stressful, in trying to get the best deal. After a purchase, you usually still wonder if you really got a good deal and it can be agonizing. Not with this purchase - I felt really good. Spartan and Nate did a great job. I was not planning to purchase on that day, but they really put me at ease about getting my RAV4 Nate even followed me and brought me back, so I could drive my car that day - Super treatment. I really enjoy driving my car and never second guess my purchase or terms! Great place to buy a car!!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

June 23, 2014

Hello Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Spartan Toyota. I'm glad that Nate was able to take the stress out of purchasing your RAV4 and left you with the confidence that you received the best deal. It's nice to hear that you enjoy driving your new RAV4. We truly appreciate your purchase. Sincerely, Shelley Goward Director of Business Development Spartan Toyota


4.0 out of 5.0

New Rav4

by from Grand Ledge |

Nate did a nice job of showing me the reality of buying a brand new car. He was patient with me as I nearly had a stroke over the cost of such a purchase. This is our third Toyota purchase from Spartan. We have been pleased each time.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

May 30, 2014

Hello Cathy, Thank you for your recent purchase with Spartan Toyota. I'm glad that Nate was able to explain everything with the process of purchasing your brand new RAV4. We appreciate your continued support! Yours truly, Shelley Goward Director of Business Development Spartan Toyota


1.0 out of 5.0

Rude manager

by from Jackson MI |

I had an unusaul start to buying my car. I went in to talk to the first salesman. he ended up going into the hospital, then my father passed away. So it took me almost 2 months to buy the car I wanted. When I went in and asked about the new Prius, I was asked by the salesman "what is the one thing you have to have in the new prius, that you like about the prius you have now?" I responded that I had to have the smart key, where you could open the 3 doors without using the key fab. You just get close with the keys in your purse and it would open. The salesman had me drive a grey car. I loved it. I had called and left the salesman a message asking for the details on the price. Since he had went into the hospital his manager Brian did a follow up call. I explained I was just waiting on the numbers to come in and buy it. The manager Brian sent me an email. I went into the dealership to buy the car. The original salesman was busy, so he passed me on to another salesman. Both salesman were very friendly and helpful. I get home on Thursday night with my car. I go to open the passanger side to put on my seat cover. It does not open. I took the car back Friday morning and explained this is not the car I asked for. The only one thing I asked for was the ability to open all 3 doors without a key. There were only 2 other cars on the lot, one being the grey I wanted, the other a red I would have had to settle with. Now I am forced to spend $3000.00 more than originally quoted to get the grey. After taking the day off work to settle this, I was frustrated. The manager Brian offered to do the 3m on the mirror & hood as an apology. I was told the only day they did it was wed. I explained I could not take another day off work to bring it back. They suggested bringing it up on Tuesday, they would start it at 8am and be done no later than 1pm. I called about 10:30am to see if everything was going smoothely, to be told the one guy that does it never showed, it is not started and will not be done. I had worked my work schedule around picking it up at 1. I now have more than 1/2 of a second day of not being able to work. I called and talked to Brian, who proceeded to tell me it was my fault. This is not how a manger should handle problems. I am past frustrated. I tried getting ahold of the general manger or owner, to be told they are both out of the office. I would recommend the salesperson I dealt with, but not the dealership as a whole.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


1.0 out of 5.0

Very frustrated

by from East Lansing |

I'll start by saying that my initial contact with Spartan Toyata was pleasent, but tha's about it. I worked with someone and everything seemed to be going ok, so the next day we set up an appointment for me to come in and get my car apprasied, I had to get someone to come and cover my job while I'm on an extended lunch, I get there and I'm told "since it will take some time and we don't want to waste your time and ours why don't we just get you to sign a letter on intent and go from there.....Umm NO! just because I might look like like you can run a fast sales pitch doesn't mean you can, I do my homework, there is no way I would ever take the word from just one dealership and roll with it. I feel totally disrespected!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

April 30, 2014

Dear Yashika, I'm sorry to hear about your experience during your recent visit to Spartan Toyota. We value our customers and have high expectations in the level of service that we provide. We appreciate your feedback. It is important to us. I would ask that you contact me, Kyle or Brain at 517-394-6000. As Managers, we would like to work with you personally to ensure that all your issues are addressed. Shelley Goward Director of Business Development Spartan Toyota 517-394-6000


5.0 out of 5.0

Friendly and Honest

by from Lansing, MI |

My husband and I worked with Nate Stanislawski to find a car that suited our personal and financial needs. To begin with, the specials Spartan Toyota were running were awesome. We did extensive research with surrounding Toyota dealers, and none of them came close to matching Spartan's deals. So that was a great start. Nate was wonderfully patient with us (as we went for several test drives and had numerous questions) and he was a wealth of information. He was very open and honest, and we appreciated that we didn't feel rushed or deceived. We will absolutely recommend him, as well as Spartan Toyota to all of our friends. We also met with Duane Dorazio when finishing up the financial aspects of the sale. Being new to leasing vehicles, we had several questions, and Duane explained the process wonderfully and really went the extra mile to ensure that we understood everything. He really seemed to have our best interest in mind, and it was really nice not feeling like we were being talked down to. He was very informative and personable. We left his office and the dealership knowing that we had made the best decision. On a separate note, while we hate leaving negative feedback, we do leave honest feedback. While I was at the dealership to get a quote for a trade-in, Nate was occupied with other customers, so Marcell was working with me. I understand the general techniques and philosophy behind car sales, but I've never felt more pressured and frustrated by any other salesman before. Marcell was friendly, but he never ceased to push me into putting in a down payment. I explained from the beginning that I wasn't going to make any financial decision before going home and discussing it with my husband, but he often talked over me, interrupted me, and spoke in a very condescending manner. Like I said, I'm sure he's a nice guy, but we sincerely didn't appreciate his sales approach. Had we not been originally working with Nate, it's possible we would have not returned to Spartan Toyota. First impressions are key, and if Marcell had been our first impression of the dealership, we wouldn't choose to buy from a dealership whose employees don't respect their customers.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

April 26, 2014

Thank you for your purchase with Spartan Toyota. I'm glad that you felt our vehicle was the best decision for your vehicle needs. I'm confident that you will find owning your Toyota very pleasurable. We appreciate all your feedback. It will be utilized as a topic of discussion in our daily sales meetings. We agree that first impressions are important. Yours truly, Shelley Goward Director of Business Development Spartan Toyota


1.0 out of 5.0

Sales manager was rude!

by from Erie, Pa |

If you like to do you homework before you purchase a vehicle be prepared to have the door closed in your face. Just plan rude.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

August 22, 2013

Phil, I am one of the Sales Managers here at Spartan Toyota. We make every effort to achieve 100% customer satisfaction. I believe we had sent you a email about you interest in one of our vehicles but we do not recall any further contact with you. First of all you have our apologies if you feel you were treated rudely by anyone on our staff, We make every effort to treat all customers courteously and professionally. I would like the opportunity to discuss what happened. If there was a misunderstanding or something I can assist you with please contact me personally to address your concerns. Bruce Wortman


1.0 out of 5.0

WATCH OUT

by from Lansing, MI |

Salesperson was really nice, but watch out for the sales manager, will try at the last minute make you sign things that will make you pay more before you realize it.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Spartan Toyota Scion responded to this review

August 22, 2013

Spartan Toyota's goal is 100% Customer Satisfaction. Could you be more specific as to the nature of your dissatisfaction. We would like to address the situation. Thank You for your feedback. Please feel free to call me @ 1-800-333-8686 Tom Baker General Manager Used Cars


(1-10 of 14 reviews)