Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville

1210 E Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563

New 866-526-5612
Used 866-772-0249
Service 866-968-7315

Home of the Lifetime Warranty!

Average Ratings

4.7 out of 5.0
162 out of 170 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


    151-160 of 171 reviews
1.0 out of 5.0

Do NOT buy from Gerald

by from Naperville, IL |

I recently traveled 120 miles and 2.5 hrs away to successfully buy a new 2013 Subaru WRX STi from Sommer's Subaru in Mequon, WI, after a horrendous experience in trying (and failing) to buy it from Gerald Subaru Kia in Naperville, IL. Gerald's salesman (Mason Lies) was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgable through the initial steps of Q&A, test drive, discussion of options, and pricing. But when I returned to sign the papers, I was presented with a price more than $4000 (~10%) over the pricing I had previously been given. Eventually the Sales Mgr appeared and belligerantly berated me that I couldn't expect to get such a limited-availability car for any less. When I got up to leave, he asked me to wait, then returned with an offer still ~$3500 over what I had initially been told to expect. I left. Upon reaching home, I found that within 5 minutes of leaving, the General Sales Mgr had sent me an e-mail asking me to call him as he wished to discuss the issue with me personally. I then left messages for him twice. When he finally called back several days later, he gave a series of incredible excuses for their actions and pricing and continued to insist that I couldn't get the car for less than thousands over MSRP. (By then, I had already purchased the car elsewhere for thousands under Gerald's final "bait-and-switch" price and hundreds under MSRP. I must also share my previous experience with this same dealer (Gerald Subaru), when 10 years ago I visited them to purchase a new 2002 WRX. Again, they were initially helpful with test drives, options, and pricing. Again, when I arrived to sign the papers they wanted thousands (~10%) over the price they had previously provided to me. And again, they claimed it was a rare car that could not be had for less than their premium price. I left and the very next day I purchased the same car 1-hour away (in Schaumburg, IL) for more than $2500 less than the Gerald's final bait-and-switch price and even less than Gerald's initially promised price. I drove my new car directly to Gerald to show it and my price to the Gerald salesman (now retired); he took me aside and quietly and sincerely apologized for the way I had been treated but then said "that's the way our management wants us to deal with customers." I have had these two horrible experiences now with Gerald Subaru Kia(and a similarly poor experience with Gerald Nissan). And on another website (dealer rater), I have read no less than 20 other reviews of Gerald Subaru Kia recounting virtually identical experiences to mine, and even worse. By contrast, I received only professional, efficient, and fair dealings with the dealers from whom I did purchase my last 3 cars. I urge everyone to avoid dealing with Gerald dealerships, most especially Gerald Subaru Kia in Naperville. They CANNOT be trusted.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

December 18, 2012

We apologize for your negative experience after visiting our dealership. At Gerald Subaru Kia, we are committed to fair, honest pricing. It's unfortunate that there was miscommunication and you were unhappy after new pricing was discussed. We value our customers and truly appreciate the time you took to share your opinions. We strive to improve from all customer feedback and hope to get the opportunity to discuss your dissatisfaction further. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so we may fully understand your grievances and work to change your opinion of our dealership. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to hearing from you. -Mark Phillips General Sales Manager mphillips@geraldauto.com (630) 907-0800


4.0 out of 5.0

Great Service and Dealership

by from Bolingbrook |

I had a 16 year Toyota and as looking for a new vehicle. Of course, Toyota was one of the dealers on my list and Subaru. I went to Gerald's looking for my specific needs. I was looking for a car with ABS, AWD and a small SUV. While there Brian, who was the sales person, took me out and I drove the Forester. He was very good, as to providing the details related to the car's specific features. What I was impressed with, was the Forester and all Subaru's had ABS, AWD as standard features. Also, all Subaru cars used regular unleaded which was important to me given the current gas prices continue to increase. After the test drive, I left a went to the bank and withdrew my downpayment because I decided to purchase the car. I gave myself one day to be sure but the more I thought about it I decided Subaru was the car for me. Brian showed me all the features and after my car purchase, Brian called me to make sure I was having a good experience and if I had questions. I thought that was great because it meant Subaru's service extends beyond my initial purchase. Since the purchase, I have had many compliments about the car. Also, the service shop was great in that they gave rental car as they added new features to my Forester. During the process,they kept me informed of when I could expect my car. So, far I love being a Subaru owner.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

November 7, 2012

Congratulations on your new Subaru! Brian will be happy to hear you enjoyed working with him. We're thankful you gave yourself extra time to make sure you were confident in your decision. At Gerald Subaru of Naperville, we believe every customer deserves as much time as they need to make the right decision. It's awesome you appreciated Brian's follow up as well. We're ecstatic you love being a Subaru owner, please stop in and see us again soon! Also, please find us on Twitter and Facebook for fun promotions and exclusive offers. Thanks again for choosing Gerald Subaru. -Mark Phillips General Sales Manager mphillips@geraldauto.com


5.0 out of 5.0

Awesome Service Department

by from Plainfield, Il |

We bought our first Subaru car in this dealer and so far so good. No major problems as expected for a new car. We love the great comfort of the seats and smooth ride. We brought it back to the dealer sometime last month for its first maintenance service. We did not have to wait that long. Service team were very professional and friendly. The WIFI service at the customer lounge is a plus. Keep up the good job!!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

November 8, 2012

Arlene, We appreciate your review! We're happy you enjoyed your experience with our service department. Thank you for coming to see us again after purchasing your Subaru! If you need any further assistance from our staff feel free to reach out to us at any time. We look forward to working with you again soon! -Mark Snyder Service Manager msnyder@geraldauto.com


1.0 out of 5.0

false advertisement

by from Aurora, IL |

I went to this dealer to purchase a new Crosstrek XV and was shocked. I looked and saw the price on Cars.com and on their website, I even used their eprice option on their site and got the same price, and when I went there they had it marked up $3000 over sticker. I understand that it's a new vehicle, but I went there with what I thought was the price I was going to pay and when I showed them the price that they emailed to me, they said that they wouldn't budge on that $3000. It's this dealerships choice to add the money as it does not come from Subaru. I will not go somewhere to buy a car that misleads with their pricing. If you want to go to a dealership that will not work on a price, then this is the dealership for you. If you want to go to a dealership that has upfront pricing on a car, then you are better off driving further from home to go to a different Subaru dealership where the actually may care about a potential customer.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

October 31, 2012

We apologize that you are dissatisfied after your experience with us. At Gerald Subaru, we are committed to fair, honest pricing. It's unfortunate that you feel you were not receiving the best deal. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so we may further explain our pricing of the Crosstrek XV. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to change your opinions of our dealership. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Your opinions are important to us. -Mark Phillips General Sales Manager mphillips@geraldauto.com


1.0 out of 5.0

didn't honor e-mail price

by from Naperville, IL |

Hi! I liked a car and was advertised on their web site. They had button to ask for e-price which I clicked. They sent reply from an agent (but as they told me later it was automated) with a price. I was happy with the price and I went in. They say it was a mistake and did not want to honor that price. I think that is not right.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

August 28, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to send in a review, of course we always are hoping for good reviews but ones like yours help make us an even better dealership by correcting our short falls. Unfortunately technology sometimes is our best friend and our worst enemy, our vendor that pulls our inventory automatically every night had a glitch in the system that was pulling fictitious numbers. As soon as we discovered the error we contacted our vendor to resolve and alerted our entire sales staff of the problem so if any one called we could apologize for the error. We are sorry for the mistake and we are working very hard to prevent these kind of issues in the future. Donna Lawler General Manager


5.0 out of 5.0

Glenn thank you

by from naperville |

Glenn was easy to work with which was a perfect person for the purchase. He followed up through regular phone calls and was accommodating to the decision drivers

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

November 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! Here at Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville, we strive to provide the best customer service experience possible. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope you visit again soon! Swing by our Facebook and Twitter to take advantage of exclusive offers and coupons good for your next visit! Mark Phillips General Sales Manager - mphillips@geraldauto.com


5.0 out of 5.0

Extremely helpful

by from naperville |

Mr. Spaeth was extremely helpful with the knowledge of Subaru vehicles, specs, etc. and a tremendous asset to my decision to purchase a Subaru

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

November 29, 2012

On behalf of Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville, I would like to thank you for visiting. We appreciate your business and are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our dealership! If you haven't already, be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for special offers! Mark Phillips General Sales Manager - mphillips@geraldauto.com


5.0 out of 5.0

great experience

by from naperville,il |

I came in just to see around like all shoppers before buying a car and I bought the car. That how good they are!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

well done

by from naperville |

Mike Gately was knowledgeable and was willing to work with us on all of our concerns with a friendly manner.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


5.0 out of 5.0

great

by from Illinios |

Matt was very helpful and he did his best to meet my demands. This is the second car I bought from Gerald and overall our 4th car my family has bought here.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


(151-160 of 171 reviews)