Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville

1210 E Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563

New 866-526-5612
Used 866-772-0249
Service 866-968-7315

Home of the Lifetime Warranty!

Average Ratings

4.7 out of 5.0
170 out of 178 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


    151-160 of 179 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0

Love our Kia!

by from Linn Creek, Missouri |

After a bad experience with another dealership I was really leery of starting this process over again. I was looking for a specific car, and would be traveling out of state. I had tons of questions. Michael Gately handled each and every one of my questions and requests in stride and with patience. This transaction could not have gone more smoothly. All of the ground work was done over the phone and through emails. When we arrived he went over the car from top to bottom, we signed a few papers, and were out the door in no time. I would not hesitate to travel the 7+ hours again to buy another car from Michael. Peace of mind is well worth the drive. We love our Kia. Thanks Michael!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

August 5, 2013

First we would like to thank you for traveling more than 7 hours to come in and see us! We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write us this fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear that our team was able to make you feel comfortable throughout the purchasing process. We strive to deliver upfront and honest service to all of our customers and we are so happy to hear that you were able to experience this service. Please don't hesitate to get in contact with us if you need any more help! Don't forget to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed of future service deals. Regards, Jim Whitgrove, General Sales Manager, jwhitgrove@geraldauto.com


5.0 out of 5.0

The best

by from Lisle, IL |

This Service Department is the best. It is a big part of the reason we purchase our latest car here.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

July 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are thrilled that we are your service department of choice. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to working with you again soon. Please let us know if you need anything. Regards, Shon Kingrey, Service Director, skingrey@geraldauto.com


5.0 out of 5.0

Kia owner

by from Plainfield,Il |

Michael Gately! Great guy and fun to work with. Didn't act like some of the other "car salesmen" we ran into. Good people person and very knowledgable about the product. Give him a raise!!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

July 11, 2013

Jeff, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We love hearing back from our customers regarding their time spent at our dealership. Our goal is to provide top-notch service to all of our guests and we are happy we accomplished our goal! Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. Regards, Jim Whitgrove, General Sales Manager, jwhitgrove@geraldauto.com


5.0 out of 5.0

Get the best personalized attention you can get!!!

by from Chicago, IL |

If you are looking to service your vehicle, do not look any further than Gerald Kia of Naperville. The fact that you are listened to, and your vehicle issues get addressed in a prompt, friendly and cost effective, is a refreshing and rare customer service these days. Kuddos to the staff and owners for putting the customer first.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

June 19, 2013

Thank you so much for all of your kind words, and for taking the time to write this excellent review. We really appreciate your business and support. What you have described above is exactly the type of experience we strive to provide for our customers, so it is great to hear that we are doing the right thing. Thanks again for everything, we hope to see you again soon! Regards, Shon Kingrey, Service Director, skingrey@geraldauto.com


4.0 out of 5.0

Good service people, friendly and seem concerned.

by from Naperville, IL |

I really do like the service people at this dealership and have bought two Subaru's from them. However, the last two times I was in there for a simple oil change, there were "big" things I all the sudden needed done. My car is 5 1/2 years old w/ 31,000 miles on it. In the last 6 months I have had to spend $1000 on a tune-up and Driveline/differential service. Because I am a woman owner I feel taken advantage of because I know next to nothing about engines. I have decided that next time I will tell them NO and get it checked out somewhere else before agreeing. I think they say that if you make the equivalent of three car payments on repairs in a year that it's time to get rid of the car. My first Subaru never had these things done and it was always brought to Subaru. When the parts total $52 and the labor is $225 - I just feel taken advantage of. Also last October I was told I needed brakes -- didn't have the money after a $600 tune-up, and this time not a thing was said about me needing brakes -- so I am questioning their suggestions. I do like my Subaru and it is the most solid, dependable car I've ever owned. I will probably buy another before I die. Their waiting room chairs are bad if you have back issues.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

June 12, 2013

Thank you for alerting us of this issue. I would like to apologize for your experience. Your feedback regarding your visit with us will be taken into deep consideration so we can identify the areas of our customer service that need improvement. I would like to assure you that we never intend to do anything to mislead our customers, however, if you are willing to contact us at your convenience, we would be more than happy to further discuss the issue and move forward in a positive direction. Regards, Shon Kingrey, Service Director, skingrey@geraldauto.com


2.0 out of 5.0

Poor service at Gerald Subaru

by from Glen Ellyn |

Brought my car for a recall repair on a steering rod. Tech looked at it and said it was tested and is in excellent shape and not in need of replacement. He did say I needed a head gasket as my oil was leaking out the gasket. that is expensive, I did not do it, tested it my self as I'm an aircraft engineer and know a few things about fluids. No leak. That was 10,000 miles ago. However the boot on the rocker arm is leaking and needs a repair. Do NOT Take Your car here. This is the second time this sort of thing has happened has happened at this place. Too bad for Subaru.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

April 9, 2013

I want you to know that your feedback is greatly appreciated. At Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville, we continuously strive to improve as a business. Reviews like yours help us learn more about the areas in which we need to progress. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the experience you had at our dealership. Delivering fantastic customer service is our top priority and I'm sorry that you left Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville's service department feeling disappointed. I would like to speak with you about this issue so I can better understand it and apologize again. Mark Snyder, Service Manager, msnyder@geraldauto.com


4.0 out of 5.0

Good experience

by from naperville,il |

Susan Gonnerman was helpful through out the process. No high pressure tactics. The waiting room area we viewed where a vehicle is brought in for service, was stark when compared to other dealers we visited. Valley Honda in Naperville comes to mind. Their service waiting area was superb, a place you would would not mind waiting.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Not Applicable
Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

March 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville. Our team works hard to treat everyone like a member of our family, and we are proud to hear how well Susan took care of you. We appreciate the feedback about the waiting, we always take our customers suggestions into consideration. We look forward to working with you in the future! Also, please find us on Twitter and Facebook for fun promotions and exclusive offers. Best, Michael Meah General Manager mmeah@geraldauto.com


1.0 out of 5.0

Terrible customer service!

by from South Suburban |

We spent quite a lot of time researching comparable vehicles and decided we wanted to test drive an Impreza with a manual transmission. A search of dealers in the area showed that Gerald Subaru in Naperville had at least 1 in stock and several more in transit. Knowing that things can change, we made sure to call before driving 40 min. away to test drive an Impreza manual. When we arrived, no one greeted us. We asked for the salesperson we had talked to by phone (Mason) and were told he would be right up several times. The salesperson we talked to (Carlos) seemed extremely confused about how to determine what vehicles were available for a test drive and whether he could find us the Impreza manual we wished to drive. He told us one Impreza manual was gone because it had been a dealer trade. We asked why no one had called us if that had occurred since our phone call about 3.5 hrs earlier. He had no answer. We asked for someone to call us and went out to eat since it was geting late and we were making no progress with this dealership. No one ever called us back even though we called again trying to find out what was going on before driving all of the way back home. This time the switchboard operator routed us to a Kia salesperson's voicemail. We never received any communication from the dealership at all. Frankly we have a hard time understanding how this dealership can remain in business when they show such total disregard for customers. The customer service was less than a 1 on a scale of 5.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

March 6, 2013

Our sincerest apologies that you we're not happy after working with our staff. At Gerald Subaru of Naperville, our number one priority is providing our customers with the best customer service from start to finish. It's unfortunate you didn't understand this after visiting us. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so we may further understand this situation and work with you to change your mind about our dealership. We appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to hearing from you. - Michael Meah General Sales Manager mmeah@geraldauto.com


1.0 out of 5.0

Do NOT buy from Gerald

by from Naperville, IL |

I recently traveled 120 miles and 2.5 hrs away to successfully buy a new 2013 Subaru WRX STi from Sommer's Subaru in Mequon, WI, after a horrendous experience in trying (and failing) to buy it from Gerald Subaru Kia in Naperville, IL. Gerald's salesman (Mason Lies) was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgable through the initial steps of Q&A, test drive, discussion of options, and pricing. But when I returned to sign the papers, I was presented with a price more than $4000 (~10%) over the pricing I had previously been given. Eventually the Sales Mgr appeared and belligerantly berated me that I couldn't expect to get such a limited-availability car for any less. When I got up to leave, he asked me to wait, then returned with an offer still ~$3500 over what I had initially been told to expect. I left. Upon reaching home, I found that within 5 minutes of leaving, the General Sales Mgr had sent me an e-mail asking me to call him as he wished to discuss the issue with me personally. I then left messages for him twice. When he finally called back several days later, he gave a series of incredible excuses for their actions and pricing and continued to insist that I couldn't get the car for less than thousands over MSRP. (By then, I had already purchased the car elsewhere for thousands under Gerald's final "bait-and-switch" price and hundreds under MSRP. I must also share my previous experience with this same dealer (Gerald Subaru), when 10 years ago I visited them to purchase a new 2002 WRX. Again, they were initially helpful with test drives, options, and pricing. Again, when I arrived to sign the papers they wanted thousands (~10%) over the price they had previously provided to me. And again, they claimed it was a rare car that could not be had for less than their premium price. I left and the very next day I purchased the same car 1-hour away (in Schaumburg, IL) for more than $2500 less than the Gerald's final bait-and-switch price and even less than Gerald's initially promised price. I drove my new car directly to Gerald to show it and my price to the Gerald salesman (now retired); he took me aside and quietly and sincerely apologized for the way I had been treated but then said "that's the way our management wants us to deal with customers." I have had these two horrible experiences now with Gerald Subaru Kia(and a similarly poor experience with Gerald Nissan). And on another website (dealer rater), I have read no less than 20 other reviews of Gerald Subaru Kia recounting virtually identical experiences to mine, and even worse. By contrast, I received only professional, efficient, and fair dealings with the dealers from whom I did purchase my last 3 cars. I urge everyone to avoid dealing with Gerald dealerships, most especially Gerald Subaru Kia in Naperville. They CANNOT be trusted.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

December 18, 2012

We apologize for your negative experience after visiting our dealership. At Gerald Subaru Kia, we are committed to fair, honest pricing. It's unfortunate that there was miscommunication and you were unhappy after new pricing was discussed. We value our customers and truly appreciate the time you took to share your opinions. We strive to improve from all customer feedback and hope to get the opportunity to discuss your dissatisfaction further. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so we may fully understand your grievances and work to change your opinion of our dealership. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to hearing from you. -Mark Phillips General Sales Manager mphillips@geraldauto.com (630) 907-0800


4.0 out of 5.0

Great Service and Dealership

by from Bolingbrook |

I had a 16 year Toyota and as looking for a new vehicle. Of course, Toyota was one of the dealers on my list and Subaru. I went to Gerald's looking for my specific needs. I was looking for a car with ABS, AWD and a small SUV. While there Brian, who was the sales person, took me out and I drove the Forester. He was very good, as to providing the details related to the car's specific features. What I was impressed with, was the Forester and all Subaru's had ABS, AWD as standard features. Also, all Subaru cars used regular unleaded which was important to me given the current gas prices continue to increase. After the test drive, I left a went to the bank and withdrew my downpayment because I decided to purchase the car. I gave myself one day to be sure but the more I thought about it I decided Subaru was the car for me. Brian showed me all the features and after my car purchase, Brian called me to make sure I was having a good experience and if I had questions. I thought that was great because it meant Subaru's service extends beyond my initial purchase. Since the purchase, I have had many compliments about the car. Also, the service shop was great in that they gave rental car as they added new features to my Forester. During the process,they kept me informed of when I could expect my car. So, far I love being a Subaru owner.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Gerald Subaru Kia of Naperville responded to this review

November 7, 2012

Congratulations on your new Subaru! Brian will be happy to hear you enjoyed working with him. We're thankful you gave yourself extra time to make sure you were confident in your decision. At Gerald Subaru of Naperville, we believe every customer deserves as much time as they need to make the right decision. It's awesome you appreciated Brian's follow up as well. We're ecstatic you love being a Subaru owner, please stop in and see us again soon! Also, please find us on Twitter and Facebook for fun promotions and exclusive offers. Thanks again for choosing Gerald Subaru. -Mark Phillips General Sales Manager mphillips@geraldauto.com


(151-160 of 179 reviews)