Herb Chambers Honda in Boston

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston

1186 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02134

New 888-450-3499
Used 888-450-3506
Service 888-602-9169

Average Ratings

4.7 out of 5.0
121 out of 129 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


    121-130 of 132 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0

I got exactly what I wanted

by from Wellesley, MA |

I spoke to Ed last October when he suggested I rethink my lease before its expiration. I saw him earlier this week and within 18 hours I was behind the wheel of a new Honda and paying a good price. He was brief, to the point, friendly, forthcoming, and completely understood my dilemas. Thank you Ed; thank you Herb Chambers Honda.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

January 30, 2013

Congratulations on your new Honda! What a great way to start the new year. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience Herb Chambers Honda in Boston. Our goal is to achieve excellence in all aspects of our dealership and I am so pleased to know that you've noticed our sales department's hard work. By focusing on integrity, honesty, and the customer's needs, we strive for customer satisfaction that is second to none. Ed is truly a testament to that. I will be sure to pass on your kind words. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to serving your automotive needs for many years to come. Sincerely, Ken Giordano General Manager Herb Chambers Honda in Boston


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Experience! (Will Delaney and Lawrie Durham)

by from Allston, MA |

I had the oppurtunity to work with both Will Delaney and Lawrie Durham while going thru the process of leasing a new car. I found both reps to be extremely professional and straightforward with their approach, while still taking time to put in extra effort to find the best car for my situation. I was especially impressed with subsequent follow ups post-sale to make sure I was still happy with the car. I highly recommend both!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

January 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Herb Chambers Honda in Boston. Everyone here strives to provide all of our valued guests with exemplary customer service. I am so glad to hear you found Lawrie and Will so friendly and helpful. I'll be certain to pull them all aside and share your kind words. Thank you again and we look forward to serving all of your automotive needs for many more years to come Sincerely, Ken Giordano General Manager Herb Chambers Honda in Boston


5.0 out of 5.0

Super friendly and helpful

by from Boston, MA |

I had a great experience with Herb Chambers Honda and am very glad I got to work with Jose Yapul. He made my first car buying experience super painless and walked me through the entire process. He was incredibly helpful and seemed to genuinely care that I was satisfied with everything, from beginning to end. All of the staff there seemed friendly and they have a good selection of cars to choose from. Overall, I'd recommend them to friends.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

January 25, 2013

Caitlin, Congratulations on your new Honda! What a great way to start the new year. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Herb Chambers Honda of Boston. I'm thrilled that you have had such a fantastic experience with us. Providing the best customer service is our top priority and Jose is truly a testament to that. I'll be sure to pass on your kind sentiments to him. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to serving your automotive needs for many more years to come. Sincerely, Ken Giordano General Manager Herb Chambers Honda of Boston


5.0 out of 5.0

Great Service

by from Boston, Ma |

It's a great place to go buy a car. People are very friendly and always there to help you. My sales rep was very nice, great attitude and was able to help me throughout the whole process.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


1.0 out of 5.0

Dishonest staff...

by from Malden, MA |

Having called in advance an scheduled an appointment with Phylisha to test drive this specific certified pre-owned '09 Accord LX, my wife and I went to Herb Chambers in Boston only to be told this other sales person, Paul, that they had just sold the vehicle. He suggested me to have a look at other similar cars they had in their inventory instead with lower mileage and a higher price. Having done my homework, I know that the other two vehicles had open recalls on their carfax. To add insult to the injury, Paul and later his manager (forgot the name) explained to me how unreliable carfax reports were sometimes! I found Paul's rude attitude, in particular, completely unprofessional. Make the long story short, Herb Chambers in Boston served perfectly to waste our Friday evening.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like the opportunity to discuss this with your further, so I may gain a better understanding of what took place. Please feel free to reach out either in person or over the phone. Thank you in advance for the opportunity to review what occurred. Sincerely, Ken Giordano General Manager - Herb Chambers Honda in Boston 617-731-0100


3.0 out of 5.0

An Uneven Buying Experience

by from Dover, MA |

I found a desirable choice for a replacement car on-line and then made an appointment to see it the upcoming Saturday at a specific time. I was greeted by some nice people but the car I wanted to see was not at the dealership as I requested. After waiting nearly an hour for the dealer to locate the vehicle and then have it driven to the dealership. The car was everything I wanted and with the No-Hassle pricing. I bought the car. When I arrived on Wednesday to pick the car up, my sales "consultant" was busy with another party and didn't see me for approximately 35 minutes. I then was introduced to a Delivery "consultant". The car lacked the car mats I was promised, the car when originally shown to me had no spare tire nor was it inspected, there was no touch-up paint for me nor a copy of the Carfax report I requested for my file. Lastly, they couldn't find the second set of keys for the car. It's been almost three weeks since I picked up the car and I'm still waiting for the second set of keys, the repayment for the inspection I had completed and the CarFax report. If I have to wait two or three more days, I'll be contacting the head of the dealership to correct these problems.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

August 10, 2012

Hello Geoff: I'd like to apologies for the experience you've had with Herb Chambers Honda in Boston. It's certainly not the norm and I'm reaching out to let you know that I will be personally handling your transaction from here to ensure the highest level of quality. I am the new General Manager of this dealership as of 7/1/12 and I look forward to meeting you and giving the highest level of service from here onward. Thank you for your business, and once again, please accept my apologies for the uneven buying experience. --Ken Giordano, General Manager, Herb Chambers Honda in Boston


5.0 out of 5.0

Kudos Mr. Chambers to you and your team at Honda.

by from Brookline, MA |

Dear Mr. Chambers, Last Monday I bought a pre-owned V6 Honda Accord LX-P 2009 with about 18K miles from Herb Chambers Honda in Boston and I am writing to tell you about my great experience. Scott Sundlie was my first point of contact about two months prior to my purchase. I had questions about financing and he answered all my questions and put me at ease. A few days later I sat down with Ronoir Wint and discussed my needs to my satisfaction asked him to contact me in about six weeks, around July 10, which he did. Now ready to buy, Ronoir help me diligently and I choose a 2010 Honda Accord LX-P 2.4L with Navigation. I sat down with Ron Avelar who thoroughly explained my financing options which were limited due to my short credit history. I was eventually approved through Chase at a very high interest rate, but at the time this my only option even though I was putting down $6,000. All was set until the next day I asked to test drive a pre-owned Accord V6 and liked it so much I decided to swap cars. The only down side was the lack of a factory installed GPS and the color was not my first choice. Last Monday I received a call to come in to discuss a new possible financing arrangement. I sat down with Jason Bradley who startled me with a financing offer from Honda Finance at 7.9% tied to a seven year bumper to bumper pre-certification and 100 mile power train warranty. He showed me that my monthly payments were going to be lower even though I was paying additional money for the new extended warranties. It all made sense to me, so I accepted and that afternoon drove away with my new pre-owned car. But I was not completely satisfied and so the following day I sat down with Scott and Ronoir again and I told them that I was not happy and wanted to swap cars for a silver V6 with navigation. Scott put me at ease and told me that I should not worry and that they would take care of making sure I was happy and satisfied and to come back the following day when the appropriate people were in. The next day I went to the dealer to make a decision on the matter not sure what the final outcome would be. I met with Ken Giordano, Jason and Ronoir and together we olled up our sleevesand reviewed all options including exercising the money back guarantee, swapping for a 2009 silver Accord V6 with navigation at your Seekonk dealer or wait and see what trade-ins came through over the next 30 days. The meeting was stress free and cordial in which Ken and Jason took charge as professionally as can be expected and answered all my questions to my complete satisfaction. After reviewing all the numbers (and a with little bit of haggling), I settled on the all around best decision, forgoing the silver and adding a Rosen GPS to my gray V6 Honda Accord. Jason consulted with Honda financing on what we were doing and they approved. So Presto! I signed the new paper work, dropped off the car for the GPS installation and picked it up the next day. We worked out a solution that worked for everyone and I am very happy and very satisfied with my purchase. Kudos Mr. Chambers to you and your team at Honda.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

July 21, 2012

Hello and thanks very much for this excellent review of Herb Chambers Honda in Boston. It was our pleasure working with you - and we truly appreciate the words regarding your experience here, as well as the flexibility that our SMART Pricing and return / exchange policies offer. We wish you all the best with your new V6 Accord and look forward to being able to assist you in the future! --Adil Elomri, General Manager, Herb Chambers Honda in Boston


1.0 out of 5.0

awful

by from cambridge ma |

complete waste pf time, my husband i were there for 45 min before someone said hello to us and when some one finally did he could find keys for the car want to drive. 3 hours later we didn't accomplish any thing we wanted although we were very upfront with them

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

July 20, 2012

Hello Carol, I'm very sorry to hear that you had a less-than-positive experience when coming in to shop with us. I'd like to apologize to you for this. As a Herb Chambers Company we put the customer's experience above all else, and so I'm disappointed to hear that we fell short of the mark here. I'd like to be sure you are 100% satisfied and find out whether I might be able to make this up to you in any way. If you'd be so kind as to reach out to me directly I am certain that I would be able to offer you the sort of dedicated attention that might change your mind about our dealership. I can be reached at the information following. Thank you again for this feedback, I have shared it with my entire team here. --Adil Elomri, General Manager, Herb Chambers Honda in Boston, aelomri@herbchambers.com, 617-731-0100


4.0 out of 5.0

the pilot program

by from boston |

Everyone knows that going to buy a new or used car can be a awful experience. Herb chambers honda does a good job of reducing the overall pain. The buying process was simple. They gave us more than a fair price for our trade and when we needed a few fixes they didn't give us to much trouble. The down side is, be prepared to wait. Everytime we bring the car in, it takes them forever to do anything. They wash and clean it everytime. As far as a dealership goes, they are the best so far. But the bar is set very low by others.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

May 22, 2012

Hello Mark - thanks very much for taking the time to review Herb Chambers Honda in Boston. We appreciate the feedback and the kind words for our sales and service departments. We take this kind of customer input very seriously and so your words regarding wait times will be reviewed and addressed. Thanks again for the feedback and for your business. --Adil Elomri, General Manager, Herb Chambers Honda in Boston


5.0 out of 5.0

Doesn't get any better, even my wife agrees!

by from Westfield, MA |

Started out looking for a used vehicle and eventually found my self into a new vehicle. I had been looking for a specific model, exterior color and interior color. Found it on line and called the dealer to see if it was still available. Made the 85 mile trek to Boston to see the car. It was a really nice CRV. The only problem was the interior color didn't match up with the description on-line. Immediately went to the used car manager and he made some calls. Discovered that what I wanted didn't exist; at least not in the years I was looking (2009, 2010). That's when they pulled out the stops for us. The sales manager and sales person were knowledgable and helpful, not only with the vehicles but with the buying and leasing options. They were able to make a very difficult situation a whole lot better and they even delivered the car to my door. Really, who does that anymore? ANother thing, the number was the number. No surprises. Their prices also beat just about anyone around. I know. I was searching a 200 mile radius and went through literally 100's of ads so I got a good idea of who was charging what for what. Granted, the whole experience at any car dealer really depends on two things: the salesperson you work with and the policies of the dealer. The thing is, there are some great folks there and if you aren't seeing eye-to-eye with the sales person you are working with, bring it up to the manager. They are there to make the buying process work. They did it for me!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Herb Chambers Honda in Boston responded to this review

May 15, 2012

Hello and thanks very much for taking the time to review Herb Chambers Honda in Boston. I'm glad to know that we were able to go the extra mile for you and appreciate the kind comments for our staff. I have shared this review with the team here. We try to make sure all of the bases are covered and that our customers have the full scope of options and possibilities when shopping with us! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the process. Looking forward to being able to assist you again soon. --Adil Elomri, General Manager, Herb Chambers Honda in Boston


(121-130 of 132 reviews)