Jim Ellis Chevrolet of Atlanta

Jim Ellis Chevrolet of Atlanta

5900 Peachtree Industrial Blvd., Atlanta, GA 30341

New 888-700-7224
Used 888-735-8338
Service 877-221-4225

Expect the Best

Average Ratings

3.1 out of 5.0
6 out of 12 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Service

by from Atlanta |

Attended for service of light due to inability of regular service to address. Close to home in Atlanta Xxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

5.0 out of 5.0

Service customer

by from Atlanta |

I have a service member here for 15 years. I have always been happy here. Danon was very helpful !

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase


2.0 out of 5.0

Customer dissatisfied

by from Norcross, GA |

You wonder why people don't want to use dealerships for service. Here's why. I went for a simple headlight replacement .The service writer (Ken) was very kind to offer to change it out when he learned that I was on my way to Florida and needed to have it done quickly. He advised me to purchase the part at a cost of about $30.00 and he would replace it while I waited. As it turned out, it required removing the grill. He quoted me $57.80 in labor to have the service department do it. I left the dealership and received a call about two hours later that that they had installed it on the wrong side. I was then told I would have to purchase another bulb, charged another $57.80. So it went from an original quote of about $30.00 to $134.00. My service bill indicates "customer supplied new GM headlamp bulb asked to have it installed in the RH side." In fact, I turned the lights on for them to see which side it was on, although I said I THOUGHT it was the passenger side. So, I haven't brought it to the attention of the service manager yet, but I plan to. Really--who does the work without checking to see if the part needs to be replaced? Not only did the mechanic not check it before starting the project, after the grill was removed and light replaced, he/she reassembled the grill without checking to see if it worked. In their minds-I had to pay for a second removal. That was the stupid thing. I'm feel like I"m paying for the mechanic's mistake.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


1.0 out of 5.0

BUYER BEWARE

by from Chicago, IL |

My situation involved buying a car our daughter found on the Jim Ellis Chevrolet website. Although the car was more than 700 miles from our home, the advertised price was good and it was the car our daughter wanted. After agreeing on a price, and inquiring about their finance rates, the salesman advised I fill out their on-line loan application. That done, I was contacted by their F & I person who advised she could not match my local credit union rate. She also advised my salesman would call me back in one hour to take a credit card down-payment so that I could close the deal without any problems at 9 AM Monday morning. Not hearing from the salesman in the 1 hour time frame, I called and left him 2 messages. I also left him email & text messages. Instead on that Saturday afternoon at 5:51PM, the salesman left me the following text message: "the Regal has been sold". No big deal right???? Wrong!!!!! This morning, Kevin their sales manager called me and inquired as to what time I was going to show up for the previously agreed upon Monday 9AM closing as they were still holding the car for me. I advised I had planned to drive to Atlanta on Sunday, but due to the salesman's text, I was still in Chicago. At this point, Kevin offered to find me "another comparable Buick, but probably not at the great price of the one I agreed to purchase". Bait & Switch? We'll never know. I do know that every time I get together with my many friends in Atlanta, I'll be sure to share my experience.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase


2.0 out of 5.0

Beware the finance process

by from Gainesville, GA |

The car and the price were great. The finance person said "I am going to extend your warranty" and then slipped a purchased extended warranty into the paperwork. Probably not illegal but certainly unethical. Be careful with them when you get to that part of the process.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Ellis Chevrolet of Atlanta responded to this review

October 14, 2013

I assure you that Jim Ellis would never think of "slipping" anyone anything at any time and we do not tolerate any illegal or unethical behavior like this. We faithfully practice a policy of "full disclosure" so customers always know what they are getting. That said, these days there is so much required paperwork to buy a car, it can be overwhelming. You should be getting a call, if you haven't already, to cancel the signed service contract agreement that you are saying that you didn't know you were getting. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. Mark Frost, VP of Operations - Jim Ellis GM Brands


5.0 out of 5.0

Great experience and my dream car!

by from Atlanta, GA |

I visited Jim Ellis in response to an ad for a used Chevy Camaro. Fortunately, the car had been sold so I spoke with Daimein Solomon about what I wanted. I knew exactly the trim package, color etc I wanted and would accept nothing else. He located what I wanted in Alabama and we started talking numbers. I met with Cherise, the finance manager, and the great experience continued. I'm very happy with the deal and ecstatic with my 2013 black on black 2LT with the RS package beautiful Camaro! When people find out I bought the car from Jim Ellis, heads start nodding about how great they are. I have to agree!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


4.0 out of 5.0

All associates very helpful!

by from Candler, NC |

I was looking for a Chevrolet SSR and came across one at Jim Ellis Chevrolet in Atlanta. My first contact was with Denise Silva she was very pleasant to work with and we talked on several occasions. After we were able to confirm a deal over the phone she put me in the hands of a salesman (Jahanna, sorry I cant spell his name), he was thorough and I appreciate the time he spent with me in negotiating a price. Terrence was professional during our negociations. I would recommend to my friends.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


1.0 out of 5.0

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

by from Acworth ga |

This is by far the worst car dealership I have ever been to. I bought a brand new truck from jim ellis, it was in the shop nine times in the first six months I had it. It had a major rattle in the dash that their so called mechanics couldn't fix it. What they did to try to fix it was UNBELIEVABLE the shoved napkins under my dash to try to fix it! I spoke with mr ellis assistant very rude, and also with mr ellis himself. He doesn't care about his customers AT ALL!! I will never go back there or ever recommend that place to ANYONE!! I eventually had to trade my truck for something else. I thought buying a new truck would be a great experience but no. After everything I lost major money because of this business!!!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Came in for service or repair

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Ellis Chevrolet of Atlanta responded to this review

October 14, 2013

We still contend that the rattle was caused by the customer's adding of non-standard equipment e.g. a lift kit with aggressive tread tires. We did everything we could and we explained that altering the vehicle sometimes causes this problem. We have never had this problem with unaltered, stock vehicles. We are sorry we weren't able to go "above and beyond" and rid the truck of the vibration in this instance. We tried.


1.0 out of 5.0

Like the car but the service was horrible

by from Atlanta, GA |

Don't trust the advertisements from them that you see online. They will not honor things they write on the ad. My Camaro's seller's notes stated "NEW ARRIVAL! PARKING SENSORS, BLUETOOTH, LEATHER SEATS, HEATED FRONT SEATS, AND PREMIUM SOUND SYSTEM." Salesman also said it had every option except heads up display. It was around 8PM so I couldn't really go through every single option and double check that it had it. Especially since it was already dark outside. Two days after purchasing, I tried reverse parking and realized the parking sensors are not even installed on the vehicle. When I contacted the salesman he said there's nothing he can do about a misprint. The used sales manager said he would contact me after 24 hours to try and figure something out. He avoided my calls, messages, and e-mails for 5 days so I just decided to drive 20 miles on my day off to ask him what's going on. He said they can only offer me a discount on parts and labor. Check all of the options even if the salesman says it has it and the ad is clearly typed out saying it has it. They will not care about what happens after you sign the papers and leave the dealership.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Shopped for a used car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Jim Ellis Chevrolet of Atlanta responded to this review

October 14, 2013

Unfortunately, the "VIN decode" program we use said, and displayed on the internet, a couple of options on the car that the car did not indeed have. Very unfortunate situation but we did make accommodations to the customer.


5.0 out of 5.0

M. Wood

by from Lawrenceville, GA |

I had been looking for a used Ford Expedition for about 3 months. One popped up and looked pretty clean from the ad. They were in touch with me right away and when I asked to have them send photos and a CarFax, they did that night! So, I scheduled a time to go and look at this SUV...not the right color but it was very clean! The price was pretty good and they even gave me $$ for my old beat up van. I drove the Expedition home that night with paper tags on it for the weekend and returned on Monday to finalize the paperwork. Amazing they did this ;-) I asked them to check on the grime, or whatever it was on the top of the steering wheel. Whatever it was it was nasty! When I came out of the finance office he took me to where they had parked it...and whalla! A brand new leather cover was put over the original leather steering wheel! They did not have to do that. Also, it came with 4 brand new tires, new brakes and some other little stuff that they had done. I do not hesitate to recommend Jim Ellis Chevrolet in Atlanta for either a new or a used vehicle. Expect to be treated fairly and with respect...and a fair deal!!! Can't ask for much more than that. M. Wood

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase


1.0 out of 5.0

New Camaro

by from Savannah, GA |

I talked to a sales person back in December about purchasing a new Camaro Convertible 2LT. I asked for their best price and when they called back the next day, I was quoted a price of $1 off MSRP. When I inquired about the price, the salesperson said they got their price from their manager and had no control over pricing. A very poor way to do business and I never heard from them again. I felt they did not want to sell to an educated consumer.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does not recommend this dealer

Did not make a purchase

Jim Ellis Chevrolet of Atlanta responded to this review

October 14, 2013

We sell thousands of new Chevrolets each year and we have never priced any vehicle $1 off MSRP. Doesn't make sense and I was unable to verify this account with our personnel or by the notes in the system. The notes in the system indicated a rather hefty discount. I'm still trying to figure out the disconnect. Mark Frost, VP of Operations - Jim Ellis GM Brands


(1-10 of 12 reviews)