Russel Mazda Subaru

Russel Mazda Subaru

6624 Baltimore National Pike, Baltimore, MD 21228

New 888-413-4920
Used 888-415-0163
Service 888-678-3732

Changing the way you buy cars, one family at a time

Average Ratings

4.5 out of 5.0
33 out of 38 people recommended this dealer.
Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

By writing a dealer review, you can provide valuable insights to other customers.


  1-10 of 38 reviews

Featured Review

5.0 out of 5.0

Great service department

by from Columbia, MD |

This is the second car I've bought from Russel Mazda, and when I bought it, I got the 5-year prepaid maintenance plan. That has worked like a charm - regular oil changes and all other routine maintenance, every few months. It's been easy to schedule the maintenance appointments on line and to get an appointment day and time that's convenient, and the servicing has always been completed very promptly. Waiting room is comfortable, too.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Not Applicable
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Came in for service or repair

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

5.0 out of 5.0

Excellent buying experience

by from Silver Spring, MD |

I had a very good experience at Russel. My salesperson, I felt that Julian Barnes, and the manager, Alona Holland, were very customer centered. Julian was straightforward, positive and efficiently moved me through the process. Alona was personable, articulate and appeared to be very genuine. I believe we all negotiated a fair price for my trade in and the new vehicle and overall I was very pleased. Serge in financing was helpful and did not make the hard sell or extras which I truly appreciated. Admittedly, I had read some very negative reviews about Russel Mazda, but it looks like those are all dated and that new management and sales team in place has the right temperament and attitude to be very successful.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

December 2, 2014

Marc- Thank you for your encouraging review of Russel Mazda Subaru. We are particularly grateful for any positive feedback, but a response like yours truly motivates the team. Without our customers we would not be in business and for that reason I wanted to personally thank you for sharing your satisfaction. If you would need any assistance towards future purchases and/or services, Julian Barnes, Alona Holland, Serge and the rest of the team would love to help! Thanks so much, Russel Mazda Subaru. www.facebook.com/russelmazdasubaru


5.0 out of 5.0

New Car buying experience

by from Chester, NY |

I was looking for the best deals on the 2015 2.5i Limited, got one with an outside state dealer. But the car was not available for 2-3 weeks. Same car was available with Russel and Yong Lee was my sales person. I told him upfront of my deal. He told me that the car that I looked at Russel was sold but another was coming in 2 days. He promised to meet the same price even though the other car had some additional accessories installed. He coordinated the delivery schedule, had all the paperwork ready before my visit from NY, Yong was thorough, professional and very respectful all throughout the whole process and explained some of the financial aspects of the deal. He had the car prepped up, tank full with all documents ready. I would definitely recommend his services to all my friends and family. Excellent service!!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

December 2, 2014

Hi NY - Russel Subaru would like to congratulate you on your new 2015 2.5i Limited! It was a great experience for Yong Lee and our team to introduce you to your new vehicle. If you should have any further questions or want a little more insight on your 2.5i as you settle in, please don't hesitate contact us! We would be happy to lend our support. Thank you again for taking the time to review us! www.facebook.com/russelsubaru


5.0 out of 5.0

My very positive New Car Sales Experience

by from Columbia, MD |

I just purchased a new 2014 Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid Touring from Russel Subaru last night. In short it was the best car-buying experience I'd ever had. Here's why: I informed the sales people that this was a birthday present for my wife and she'd never owned a NEW car before. Without me asking they went ahead and prepped the car I'd test drived - the one I wanted for my wife - put it in the center of the showroom floor and covered it with a huge amount of baloons. I'd tried to make the car a suprise so she knew just for a few hours that she was getting it. When my wife saw it she was totally smitten. You couldn't wipe the smile off her face. The salesman and the process: I highly recommend both Scott Wilson and Yung Lee. Mr. Lee did most of the work with us walking us through the physical car, the paperwork, application for financing and all but the complicated paperwork process. He helped me get better financing by suggesting different ways to buy the car. He saved us a lot of money. He was informative, friendly and in a word - Great! I was really impressed with the complicated paperwork process as well. "Karen" was extremely honest about her opinions about what additional options one should add to the car. She owns a Subaru and has some of these options herself. Thus, she's well qualified to recommend which Extended Warranty I should choose, the GAP insurance, etc. Please note that my past experiences have had the "finance guy" sneaking in thousands of dollars in additional features I cared nothing about. They didn't tell me about these charges but was hoping I wouldn't notice their inclusion in the paperwork process. Karen did nothing of the sort. She was extremely helpful. Have I had the car serviced yet? No. I cannot speak of the service experience. However, I'd highly recommend the sales experience.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Not Applicable
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

November 22, 2014

Darach, thanks so much for your positive feedback! Scott Wilson, Yung Lee and the rest of the team were very glad to assist you in your purchasing experience. I hope you and your family enjoy your new 2014 Subaru Crosstrek! Moving forward, please do not hesitate to stop by for a visit should you need any maintenance services performed. We would love to see you! Thank you again Darach and have a great day. www.facebook.com/russelsubaru


5.0 out of 5.0

Julian Russel Mazda. I bought a Miata

by from Clarksburg, MD |

I purchased a 2014 Miata from Russel Mazda. I wanted to relive my past because I had owned one 10 years ago. Long story short, I came in and met Julian and he was sweet as can be. We went test driving around Catonsville and he made me stop in the middle of the street and told me to put the top down and floor it! I fell right back in love with the car I had once owned before. We waited a while to get in finance, but it was a Saturday and their was alot of people so I understood. All in all, Julian stayed by me and even gave me some pizza that was actually for the dealership. Julian was great from beginning to end. I give him a A+++

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

November 20, 2014

Hello Jenny, Russel Mazda Subaru would like to sincerely thank you for taking your time to give us a complimentary review. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our customers and we love to know when we've succeeded. I will be sure to share your feedback with Julian and the team! Thank you again for your review.


5.0 out of 5.0

Great overall experience

by from Laurel, MD |

We recently purchased a 2015 Subaru Forester at Russel Subaru. We had a great experience. We were greeted by Kevin James when we arrived in the showroom. Within minutes we were cruising down route 40 on a very enjoyable test drive. Once we knew we wanted to buy a Forester, Kevin made the process very relaxing. He was able to work with us to get a price on the car that we felt comfortable with paying. He had a great personality and was not pushy at all. I would highly recommend asking for him when you are interested in purchasing a new Subaru.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

November 15, 2014

Steve Swatkoski, thanks so much for your positive feedback! Kevin James and the rest of the team were very glad to assist you in your purchasing experience. I hope you and your family enjoy your new 2015 Subaru Forester! Moving forward, please do not hesitate to stop by for a visit should you need any maintenance services performed. We would love to see you! Thank you again Steve Swatkoski and have a great day. www.facebook.com/russelsubaru


4.0 out of 5.0

good car, good service

by from Baltimore, MD |

I bought used Subaru forester. Good condition, Good car, good service, good salesman!

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a used car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

November 5, 2014

Greetings Devin! Thank you for stopping by Russel Subaru. We sincerely appreciate your thoughtful review and will be sure to share your encouraging thoughts with our team. We hope to see you soon! www.facebook.com/russelsubaru


5.0 out of 5.0

Russel Mazda

by from Baltimore, MD |

Our salesperson Julian was kind and not pressuring. We came back three times in one day only because of how nice he was and we got the best deal Julian could make. All in all, we walk out happy. I recommend him because of honesty

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

November 5, 2014

Hello Qianli Ma, Russel Mazda would like to sincerely thank you for taking your time to give us a complimentary review. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our customers and we love to know when we've succeeded. I will be sure to share your feedback with Julian and the team! Thank you again for your review. www.facebook.com/russelmazda


5.0 out of 5.0

Julian Barnes Russel Mazda

by from Ellicott city, Maryland |

Julian was very sweet to me and gave me my best deal, Thanks Julian

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

November 5, 2014

Thanks for the kind words, Myunglee! We will be sure to pass on your exceptional review to Julian and the Russel Mazda team. Have a great day! www.facebook.com/russelmazda


5.0 out of 5.0

Shawn and Julian were awesome

by from Columbia Maryland |

Went to Russell Mazda because it was time to get a new car because i already owned a BMW but it was my husbands. Started off shakey because the of the whole eprice thing and then the add backs to it but I wouldn't have even bought the car if it wasn't for Julian. He was so nice and sweet and made the process so easy and painless. I told him it was the best car buying process I ever had. Even though technically it was my first because my husband bought me the BMW, but years down the road when I decide to purchase another car or trade in my BMW, whatever salesman I have has a tough act to follow. Go see Shawn and Julian for a fun buying car process

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

November 5, 2014

Thank you for your earnest response, Bertina J. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your encouraging thoughts with Julian and the team! If you should have any further questions or want a little more insight on your Mazda, please don't hesitate to contact us! We would love to work with you again soon. www.facebook.com/russelmazda


5.0 out of 5.0

Great buying experience!

by from Greenbelt, MD |

My sales person Julian truly made my new car buying experience enjoyable and seamless. I appreciated that he made me feel like his only customer and the most important buyer at the dealership. I also love love love my new 2015 CX5! Great car. As this was only my 2nd new car purchase since 1991, i am grateful for the experience.

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com.

Customer Service
Buying Process
Not Applicable
Quality of Repair
Overall Facilities

Shopped for a new car

Does recommend this dealer

Did make a purchase

Russel Mazda Subaru responded to this review

October 14, 2014

Hello Architectina, Russel Mazda Subaru would like to sincerely thank you for taking your time to give us a complimentary review. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our customers and we love to know when we've succeeded. I will be sure to share your feedback with Julian and the team! Enjoy your new CX-5 and thank you again for your review. ZOOM ZOOM! www.facebook.com/RusselMazdaSubaru


(1-10 of 38 reviews)