2001 Dodge Dakota

Change Vehicle

2001 Dodge Dakota

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 16 styles:  2001 Dodge Dakota 4x2 Regular Cab 112" WB shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,836–$11,124

Estimated MPG

15–20 city / 20–25 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

24 out of 30 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 30 reviews

Excellent Truck

by Mike from Rochester, NY | May 28, 2014

This wasn't my first truck. I inharited this truck back in 2010 with 190k miles on it. It was well maintained. I have to say, this truck now has 230k miles on it. It still looks great for 13 years old. Best of all it is not always in the shop sucking up money. It has had some minor issues - very minor. It has not cost alot to maintain. Brakes and a senor that went bad. Everything in the truck still functions (A/C, Windows, cruise, CD and Tape,locks and so on) I have to agree with other comments. I hope Dodge (Ram), doesn't mess with a good thing. I would buy another one, as this one owes me nothing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Work truck I have ever owned

by G from | January 14, 2014

Bought this car Three years ago with 97K miles and now has 170K miles without ONE single mechanical issue. Starts right up on cold winter mornings (-40F) without a moments hesitation. I am a carpenter and I load this truck up with a couple thousand pounds of hardwood flooring/ tiles etc. and this thing has plenty of power for a V6. I LOVE this truck and I hope dodge makes their newer trucks as dependable as this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


very nice truck

by Franko from Cranford, nj | December 17, 2013

I recommend this truck is perfect size for everything you want to do it maybe camping construction wherever you want

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


great truck

by patrick from little rock, ar | November 15, 2013

I have owned my 2001 dakota sport quad cab 4.7 v8 since 2003, 32000 miles. Today it has 165000 hard miles on it. I use it to pull a 6x12 box trailer loaded up with a 750cc kawasaki side by side and other camping equipment to and from my camp in the ozerk mountains about ten times avyear plus as a car hauler a few more times a year. My wife put it into an interstate cable barier at 70 plus mph a few years ago. At that time radiator had to be replaced. At 160000 miles I finally gave it its first brake job and replaced wheel bearings. That is all other than oil changes. Great vehicle, can take a lot of abuse. Also I have a 50 pound dog that goes with me everywhere and no holes in seat yet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great value

by Eagles Fan from Nebraska | March 27, 2013

Very nice truck. Love the extended cab. The one I bought has a bed liner and retractable cover. The truck had relatively low miles for a 2001 125K. Got a great deal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Old Dakota style

by Dakotaman from Hampton, VA | September 24, 2012

This truck is crew cab,very clean interior, with a few outside nicks and unrecognizable bumps wiith few recognizable bruises. Mileage was under average for its year. Have previous owned Dakotas and prefer styling of 98-2004. No complaints about the truck, just normal wear.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2001 Dodge Dakota

by airborne from Henrico VA | July 13, 2012

Bought this truck with 100,000 miles. 4 wheel drive. Soon the paint on the hood and top faded terribly. The doorknob made a loud noise when locking. Same problems as the 2001 I owned. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone who needs reliable transportation

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great truck

by foxbo from Reno, nEvada | April 14, 2012

owned a 2001 slt 4x4 for 5 years. Has the 4.7 v8. Do yourself a favor and dont listen to some of these idiots that give a bad review. Best truck I have ever owned in my 50 years. Every car and truck has a few lemons.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Extremely Reliable

by Ren from Libertyville, IL | March 28, 2012

My dakota is 250+ miles, I've had to do minor repairs, this truck has served me well, still running great. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


GREAT TRUCK!!!!

by slaveraider from Glencoe, Mn. | December 29, 2011

I had a 93 Dakota that was awsome the 159,000 miles I owned it, so when we needed another truck we purchased a 2001 Dakota, it again has performed great with no problems other then a waterpump at 181,000 miles. I needed a big truck to pull big toy hauler trailer, I was going to get a Ram but a friend talked me into a Ford f350....BIG MISTAKE!!!!!it has been in the shop 5 time the first year for sensors, tranny, and a wiring issue they tell me was still causing issues when they finally took it back with 28,000 miles and sold me a Ram truck its been ok fuel pump went out at 66,000 miles but no other issues to date.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 30 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Dakota

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.