2003 Dodge Dakota

Change Vehicle
2003 Dodge Dakota

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 18 styles:  2003 Dodge Dakota 4x2 Regular Cab 112" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$3,450–$12,354
Estimated MPG

13–16 city / 16–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

good for first 10 years

by hammer from cogan station pa | April 6, 2014

great truck for first 10 years only few minor problems' 2 new starters, several blower motor resistor. after year 9 bed starting rusting out above back wheels. I have the 4.7 engine and I would say I have used it hard. year 11 involved me spending 2000 dollars to pass inspection. new ball joints, wheel hub, rotors where pitted, and leaf spring shackles rusted off.. hopefully good for another 10 years. or as I say from the dealer lot to the junk yard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable car ive owned

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Corning New York | October 13, 2013

I would recommed this type of vehicle to a friend or family , i have been happy with it . I want to find another one very soon .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


just keeps running

by max954 from Coral Springs, Florida | September 5, 2011

bought this truck in 2006 with 50,000 miles. It still runs like new without any repairs up to now. (Sorry, just installed new windshield wipers last week.)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Sweet Truck

by Sandman4X4 from Marthas Vineyard | August 8, 2011

Bought new in 2003 Reg. cab 4X4 SXT 5sp. locking diff. 3.92, this truck can work, I was delivering bottled water with it for 8mos. I could get 40! 5 gal bot. in the bed, at 4.8lbs@gal=1920lbs!! yes I was overloaded, every day!, sometims twice a day! had plenty of power, suspension never bottomed out, not like the bosses 2004 Tundra (broken springs). I made a 950 mile round trip m/t going with 10 knox-down picnic tables in back 950lbs., towing a trailer with another 35 tables 3,987lbs. at the Cat scale: 9,210lbs. total gross combined weight! thru the mountains on rt. 80 in Penn. to Mass. on the trip out emty got 21mpg on the hyw. on the trip back 14.5! not bad. I was going to buy a new one, but the screwd-up the style of the newer truck. But I think this truck will last a long time, 63,000 so far I did have to replace the ball joints, so what, and the water pump went out at 49,000, covered under warranty, I only give it a 4 star on comfort because it is only a reg. cab. GOOD TRUCK.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Dakota Quad Cab

by Dan from Cleveland | July 30, 2011

Very reliable truck so far. I bought this truck used 3 months ago with 90,000 miles on it because I wanted a truck for once and was looking for something with an exteded cab. Came across a great looking quad cab and bought it for a reasonable price. Truck has a V6 in it and although I thought about buying a V8, thought it would be a little better on fuel than the V8. All in all, not a bad truck. Lots of room in the quad cab for passengers and the bed is just a tad under 5ft 6 inches so it's not a full 6 Ft bed... Not bad though for weekend projects or medium duty work or towing. Truck drives very well, was well maintained by the previous owners and I've had no issues with it since owning it. Fuel milage is consistent at about 19 MPG combined. Best I have seen was about 22.5 on the Highway and worst was about 17. Not too bad for a truck and a 3.9 Liter V6 moving it. I've been told the 4.7 Liter is about the same in milage but has more power for towing. Something to think about...Since I don't really tow anything I took the 3.9 liter and am happy with it. Drove the truck to South Carolina from Ohio and was pleased with the overall comfort and ride. Gas could be a bit better on the long haul but again, it's a truck...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


the best

by 32mike from Madsion, alabama | May 25, 2011

i have the 03 Dodge Dakota Stamped with the 5.7 liter V-8, i love my truck i cant find any stampedes on the road though, so i think they are hard to come by. but this is and awesome truck!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


one problem

by Broke from PA from | January 4, 2011

This is not your truck if you want excellent gas mileage. It is a great truck if you dont need a full size all the time, but still want enough power to tow a camper, haul firewood to a campsite, or any other truckly things. If you want good mpg's get a inline 4 motor from ford or chevy and call your buddy with a real truck to help you when the work needs done.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


It's an ok truck

by gmrich from Michigan | December 3, 2010

the 3.9 has very poor pick up when you floor the gas pedal. When I drove it through a hilly mountain area could't get over 60 mph on the moderate inclines to save my life. This was in 2003 so the truck was brand new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


reliable mini truck

by Winny from Asheville, NC | April 5, 2010

We have a 2 WD 4.7l V8 with about 145kmls. It's a reliable truck with up to 17 mls / gal. V8 is powerful and fun to drive. Truck is practical and comfy even on longer rides. We had some minor defects like broken power locking, cabin has a water leak, etc. but no major issues. Divetrain is good and has no oil leaks at all.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2 Trucks 2 Dakotas

by Second Time Dakota Owner from Clarion, PA | March 25, 2009

I was the owner of a 00 Dakota slt, when i sold it I purchased a 03 Dakota slt because I loved the first one so much! Both had terrific power with the 4.7 engine, decent gas mileage for the engine size, bigger than other compact pickups, very friendly cabin cabin area. All round great pickup! Know a friend with V6 and regrets it shifting so much (tranny strain) My 4.7s actually get better on gas!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Dakota

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.