2005 Dodge Dakota

Change Vehicle
2005 Dodge Dakota

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 12 styles:  2005 Dodge Dakota 4x2 Club Cab 131.3" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$5,295–$15,799
Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 19–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

Smooth, quiet, powerful, & a head turner.

by a78magnumXE from Jacksonville, fl | January 12, 2013

By far the best truck for the money. Dakotas aren't to big so it's easy around town. Yet they aren't small either so it's stable and spacious on the interstate. I have owned every generation of Dakota and the 2005 generation is the Best. I love to point out the flaws in other trucks when riding in them. For instance, the chevys have the cheapest interiors. Fords have the worst dealers and there are a billion of them on the road so you aren't going to turn any heads driving a Ford. Be the best when u drive the best.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best looking and fastest truck ever!

by Fratzogs Rule! from Jacksonville, FL | January 11, 2013

My 05 Dakota is the 4.7 v8 and when I mash down on the gas it feels like I am driving a NASCAR. Chicks really dig all the space in the backseat. Gotta say without a doubt this truck is a part of my best memories. Grab life by the horns!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Not Bad

by Rusty from Denton, TX | June 22, 2012

Very minimal mechanical problems if properly taken care of; Interior is very basic but exterior looks good; good 4x4; fuel efficency is similar to larger trucks (4x4 might have something to do with that); have had more comfortable vehicles in the past

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Truck

by Michigan Man from michigan | February 9, 2012

i bought this truck used about 8 months ago, and i love it. the v8 is powerful but loves to drink gas, i am averaging 15 mpg and the transmission shifts smoothly. the 4 wheel drive works good, i have not had any major problems with the truck, though i have had to replace a windshield washer fluid squirter. i have the quad cab slt version and the seats are comfortable and rear passengers have a good amount of leg room, the interior is nice and simple and the stereo system has a nice sound for a factory unit. i would recommend this truck to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best truck for the money

by numnuts from LaCross WI | February 7, 2012

I bought this truck for my first truck at 16. I have the v6. The truck in the city gets 19.3 and and highway 24. I have had only one problem and the heater pulley went out. I have 210,000 miles and its still going. It does great pulling, and for a V6 has the power to get up and go. I do wish it had more power passing somebody. Has a very little lag. You barley notice, I love the truck. I am a ford person.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Dakota

by jcl from Plain City Ohio | October 21, 2011

Servicable truck...affordable used. Lacks quality interior and exterior. Significant brake and suspension problems even as a gentle driver.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love it !!

by BB from Baltimore,MD | March 7, 2011

Got 122k on it now. Bought it new in 05. No problem. Driven every day. Used for my business. I am a general contractor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


will take a hard hit

by parent from wv | January 9, 2011

my kid hit a patch of black ice and weny into the wrong lane and hit a ford explorer head on she was doing about 25 mph he was doing 55 mph it bent everthing on the truck and cracked the motor the tire was 75 ft away with 4 wheeldrive still on it the truck was completely gone she was trapped for 10 min in it but walked away with bruises on both knees and 1 on her side from the seat belt it was a 05 thats what i am going to buy her back the truck saved her life thanks dodge

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The right-sized pickup

by ptschett from Fargo, ND | December 8, 2010

One of my favorite things about the Dakota is the relationship between its size and its abilities. It can do most of what a full-size can do, but in a smaller package that's easier to fit into a garage or into those downtown parking ramps; however it's not quite as small as the rest of its compact/midsize competitors and has a little more people room and box space. My pickup has the 4.7L and automatic, which work well together. I have a lead foot but still manage to get 15 MPG or better most of the time, and sometimes I get 20 on the highway. The 0-50 acceleration is more than enough but passes at 65+ MPH do take a little planning if there's a headwind. The ride is firm but better controlled and more comfortable than most pickups I've driven. While the Dakota is no sports car, it has surprising aplomb on a winding road and doesn't punish you for taking a path that isn't straight and level. While the Chrysler interiors of the later years of the Daimler era have been widely criticized for their obvious cost-cutting, I really can't complain about my pickup in this department. I find the seats comfortable for 500-mile days, the controls functional and usable even with heavy winter gloves on, and the surfaces that need to be soft-touch are soft. The A/C and heater have the classic Mopar over-capacity, with quick cooldown in summer and fast warmup in winter. At 73,000 miles I have had a few issues. My truck has needed an EGR valve, a cam position sensor and a transmission cooler line; also I've had both outer tie rod ends replaced, but those are something of a wear item.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice truck

by Fishingnut from Minnesota | November 2, 2010

So far so good. A nice compromise when getting a full size truck in the garage is a problem. Bigger then the Ford or Chevy alternative with a 6' box

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Dakota

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.