2006 Dodge Dakota

Change Vehicle
2006 Dodge Dakota

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 12 styles:  2006 Dodge Dakota 4x2 Club Cab 131.3" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$6,018–$17,242
Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 19–22 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

26 out of 33 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 33 reviews

Work truck

by Jimbob from Atlanta, MI | March 15, 2014

Solid $6000 work truck. Decent mileage and bigger than Ford Ranger and Chevy Colorado. Basic, easy to clean interior with a decent sound system. Long wheel base for its class, tows over 5k.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Dakota Does Everything Well And Is Just Right Size

by MidSize Pickup Man from Western PA | January 15, 2014

Got an '06 SLT Quad cab with 87,000 for $12k. The clearcoat still looks showroom new. Driver seat a little mushy, may have to find a seat bottom replacement. I've got the 4.7 base V8 with the 6sp manual. Great shifting driveline....smooth clutch....excellent gear spacing. Brakes rock solid. Gas mileage respectable but not great. I use this for mostly in-town errands and light construction hauling tools, drywall, etc. Interior is a bit spartan, but this truck has ZERO rattles and squeaks at 87k. Gauges are really easy to learn. Knobs and dials are easy to use, even with gloves on. Last week the temp dropped to -7 and the un-garaged Dakota fired right up. Had an Avalanche that performed well, and a Cadillac EXT that performed brilliantly, but at 11 mpg they were just too big and had significant blind spots. The Dakota darts around and fits nicely into parking spots.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Nice pickup

by Texans for Dodge from Amarillo, Tx | December 15, 2013

Bought my 06 Dodge, auto trans and V8, in late 2007 with approx. 15,000 miles. Now have 99,000 miles and have done nothing but regular service. Mileage is not great but it is a V8. Have pulled a small camper easily. Have moved a load of landscape rock with no problems. Exterior is a nice looking vehicle. Interior is as they say - lot of plastic and plain - I like the plain. The material for the seats could be better but so far has held up well. For a smaller pickup it does a great job.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


wonderful truck

by Truckguy from North Carolina | November 13, 2013

I've been drivng this truck for several weeks now and I have to say that it has surpassed my expectations! It drives very smoothly on the backroads as well as the highway. I've never driven a truck that handles better and the gas mileage has been very good for a V-8. ( 18 - 20 MPG) It has fantastic acceleration when needed but is very mild -mannered and smooth at cruising speeds or in traffic. The interior is quiet and relaxing on a trip and the stereo sounds good. The only drawback, and it is minor, is the upholstery. I do wish they would have used a higher quality material there. Overall I'm impressed with it. I'm glad I bought it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Very stylish pickup

by Dodge Taz from Salisbury, New York | October 10, 2013

I just love a Dodge Dakota They are roomy for two people I had two different ones. One was a standard-5 speed. I had slit of trouble with transmission The car dealer would not make it right. But I own an automatic now and no major problems with tranny.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


nice midsized truck

by need a pickup truck from central Texas | July 13, 2013

Nice truck overall. 4 door, 4 WD, 4.8 L V8 gasoline engine, tow hitch integrated with the frame and rear bumper. Recently did very well on a 3,000 mile cross country trip. Adequate size bed. Exactly the type of truck I need. Would probably add a camper top as a personal preference.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


not the one for me

by Dakota fan from Erie Pa. | April 24, 2013

I bought this truck for the Dodge name, and I like the smaller version of the Ram. My mistake was getting the 6 cylinder engine. It is very slow to take off. The interior is very plain. Go with the big horn package and the 8 cylinder, if you like power, speed, performance, and a great stereo package. I will be trading this one in on a Big Horn soon. The steering is wonderful compared to my old Ranger.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Each is doifferent

by Outdoorsman from Estherville. IA | April 24, 2013

Both the vehicle for the appearance and low miles: 41k. Dealer was very helpful in adding receiver hitch and mirror with temperature and direction. Front driver's wheel brake locked up with only 4k miles, dealer helped offset cost. Less than 5k later driver's side front wheel bearing went out. Dealer said it was his mechanc's problem that the wheel bearing went out. Takes bumps hard on front end, and front wheels and drive shaft noisy compared to Chevy Colorado. Gas mileage for a Dodge 6 cylinder was poor 15 to 16 miles per gallon compared to Chevy Colorado 5 cylinder with 20 - 22 miles per gallon. Chevy 5 cylinder also had more power. Added E-Con power programmer by Hypertech - gained 1 to 2 miles per gallon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


2006 Dakota

by Hooter Hunter from Burbank, OK | February 25, 2013

Purchased a 2006 Dakota 4x4 with the 4.7 V8 with about 59K miles. Overall, I am happy with the purchase although I had to replace the rack & pinion assembly a week after I bought it. It was fine when I bought it (checked under the truck for leaks) but started losing fluid after a weekend where I put about 1000 miles on the truck. Other than that, I love the truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great truck

by Crunch from Charlotte, NC | November 6, 2012

Originally purchased used with 22k miles on it. After 4 years and 64k miles, its just as reliable as new. Regular oil changes and one new battery. Fuel consumption is what I would expect from a V8. Interior is no-nonsense and straight forward. It does have power windows/locks etc, but no leather, GPS, Bluetooth etc. If thats what you want, look elsewhere. This is a truck. I've driven on 1500 mile road trips and trips around town. It always starts, the a/c always blow cold, the backseat carries friends, and the bed carries anything you want. I would recommend this truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 33 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2006 Dodge Dakota.


Featured Services for this Dodge Dakota

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.