1998 Dodge Durango

Change Vehicle

1998 Dodge Durango

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  Durango 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,125–$6,201

Estimated MPG

13 city / 17 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Excellent

by NCOR Durango from Thomasville, NC | June 13, 2014

I have owned 2 1998 Dodge Durango SLT's with the 5.9 liter engine. I loved both of these beautiful SUVs. For the fuel mileage I get awesome gas mileage as long as you keep it tuned and taken care of it will take care of you. Performance wise I installed a k&n typhoon intake on the 5.9 it only took 30 minutes to install and I get increased horsepower/Torque/and fuel mileage. Overall I am very happy with my choice one purchasing a 1998 Dodge Durango SLT

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


good large suv

by raytown tow from KC MO. | May 31, 2011

have had this suv for 7 years and it has never left me stranded.. I have towed and hauled people as well as towed people out of ditches and it still keeps running well. The only problem with a large suv is the gas mileage 13 city 18 hiway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


it's reliable

by rea from DC | May 1, 2011

I own one it's a nice vehicle to have and it wont let you down on the side of the road as others has stated. I would buy one again in a heart beat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


best suv ever

by mopar from | March 22, 2011

excellent handling,you can feel the power when you drive,low maintenance,comfortable....1 of dodge best

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Awesome car

by Make mine a 4x4 from Lindsay, CA | February 22, 2011

This has to have been the best car I have owned. It was a 4x4 and just could never get it stuck!! It has electric windows, power locks, cruise, 3-rd row seating, grey/cloth interior, back/ceiling air, loads of room for everyone and everything. This one also has a rack on top. I needed to tow, so had a good tow hitch put on with electrical for lights. For getting out and about, this was the best!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


by valentino

by nice truck from ny | January 1, 2010

this is a very good car for the money and it is great at the beach and off road use and it is only 3000 to 4500 dollars this was the best truck i ever had

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


Absolutely Horrible!

by Disappointed Durango from Maryland | August 3, 2009

Purchased my Durango in 2001 and sold it in 2007. replaced the heater core, serviced the ac 2x, replaced the computer, it ate through brakes, constantly had to get new tie rods, ball joints. Thus the tires had uneven wear and needed to be replaced constantly. Ultimately, the trans was the straw that broke the camel's back. This Durango was such a love/hate relationship. Beautiful body style, excellent for long trips and moving, and a beast when it came to hauling. V8 engine is no slouch. But the constant repairs and shoddy craftsmanship won out in the end. My experience was so bad that I dont think I will ever buy Dodge again. Hope their cars are better than their trucks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


First dodge i bought

by first dodge from canton, oh | February 18, 2008

I purchased my 98 durango used (137,000 miles). I now have 169,000 on it and had some normal expected repairs on it. Replacing the rear shocks now, which i cant complain because we have used off road and for towing. The only major down fall I am having is the transmission just starting slipping. it slips when i first take off (doesnt wanna go into second gear) but after it warms up it shifts fine. Aside from the crazy gas i have to put in it I can say i honestly love my durango. Definitly when i get rid of it will get another durango or ram! LOVE DODGE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


NLHJacob from PA

by NLHJ from PA | July 30, 2006

I bought the Durango to be safe, and my kids and I are safe. The Durango drives beautifully, very comfortable, very high up and the 4 wheel drive can handle anything! The other person who reviewed this truck said "good on gas"...NO, it is not. Very poor actually. 25 gal. tank...$3.07 per gallon...I got 244 miles on a full tank...that is NOT good. 12-13 city miles per gallon. An 8 cyl. vehicle is a lot of weight...therefore uses a lot of gas. I love my Durango, feel great driving it, but trading it in for a 21 city mile per gallon mini van. Would I recommend it, yes I would...if you can handle the gas! Great truck...will miss it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Owner

by La Ronda Murphy from California | May 18, 2006

I like the Dugango's body shape and the inside interior is nice but under the hood it's a different story. The Durango's life on a tranmission isn't long 4-5 years top and the steering isn't good at all. Sometimes I feel like the wheels are going to fall off if I hit a bump to hard. It's good on gas and it makes a lot of nose. I would never recommend a Durango to none of my family & friends

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Durango

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.