2001 Dodge Durango

Change Vehicle

2001 Dodge Durango

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2001 Dodge Durango 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,459–$7,907

Estimated MPG

13–14 city / 18–19 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Sacrifice MPG for Safety

by Team Pit-a-Full from Denver, CO | September 11, 2013

I owned a 2001 Dodge Durango for about a year. In that time, the vehicle tackled snow with ease, climbed the Rocky Mountains here in Colorado, and saved me from a triple head-on collision with a concrete center divider when I hydroplaned in a rain storm. Though the vehicle's front end was 110% totaled, the cab and its contents with untouched. Ive just purchased a new(er) Dodge Durango and know I will get the same results should tragedy strike again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


4x4 and more

by Ms Rozenut from Norwalk, CT | October 25, 2011

Excellent service!! I am very pleased with my purchase!! Customer Service helped with my credit and even got me a very low rate for my payments each month, to fit in my budget!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great vehicle...if you find a good one.

by Love my Durango but... from Illinois | March 10, 2011

1998-2000 Durangos/Dakotas had major problems...engine sludge, faulty transmissions, terrible ball joints, steering shaft issues... I've owned my 2001 Durango Sport for 2 years and have only had the issue of the intermediate steering shaft going bad. I regularly change all of the fluids...yea, that's cost me some money but the truck has been more than worth it. So why do I not recommend this vehicle to a friend...poor gas mileage and the possibility of buying a Durango and dealing with the above listed issues. Dodge never lived up to taking care of the issues that were noted by thousands of owners and therefore have lost a lot of buyers. My truck has been great but I also did a lot of searching and I've maintained the vehicle as I do with all of my vehicles. Don't get me wrong, I love my SUV and it has been great to me BUT with all of the noted failures with the 4.7 and 5.9 motors that were put in the Durangos and Dakotas, I wouldn't want anyone taking a chance on this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


'01 Durango

by Dodge Fan from Dowling, MI | January 30, 2010

I have put a lot of hard miles on my Durango, and it stood up to the test. Plenty of power from the 4.7 V8. Plenty of room for my family. Great little truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very durable, excellent snow vehicle!

by Durangogogirl from Kennewick, WA | January 12, 2010

I lived in Northern Idaho where 6' of snow is the norm in the winter. My durango powered through it like it was nothing, excellent handling and performance, even though its now 9 years old, any problems I've had with it have been very inexpensive and easy to fix. The third row seat is a dream come true for the busy mom on the go! I highly recommend the 2001 Dodge Durango SLT to anyone! I would definetly buy a Durango again!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best car i've owned

by lonnie from cuyahoga falls ,oh | November 19, 2009

I bought the car with 100,000 miles on it . I had to replace the transfer case control module and the crank triger .I drive it like a rental and have few problems .It does eat the gas though .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Not very reliable

by Timithye from Maine | April 25, 2009

Bought this for my wife used, 5 years ago. Very poor gas mileage, had mechanical troubles almost from the start, nothing very easy or inexpensive to fix. The biggest that come to mind are both rear leaf springs (within 18 months of owning) had to replace a steering knuckle in the column, front driveshaft failed, water pump and air conditioner compressor failed and the latest is a check engine 1740 code for transmission troubles. The best part of the vehicle is the comfortable ride and all the bells and whistles, but they do not make up for the issues we have experienced.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


KING ON ROAD

by THE SUV KING from Dallas TX | March 22, 2009

This is a Great SUV . Drive to feel it . Major design advantege is it is east to work on . Everything can be chaged fairly easily. Looks great like a HUMMER . Runs like a Toyota Its a Buy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Ram Happy

by DerrickC from Toronto, Canada | February 24, 2009

First Dodge I've owned and have been very happy ever since I bought it. Would definately consider buying another.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Great Vehicle

by Durango enthusiest from Fort Worth, TX | July 27, 2008

Can carry almost anything in the Durango from 6 adults very comfortably to bikes, and anything else you can think of in the back. Sometimes use this verses the truck to carry things.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Durango

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.