2006 Dodge Durango

Change Vehicle
2006 Dodge Durango

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2006 Dodge Durango 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$4,772–$13,824
Estimated MPG

14–16 city / 18–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

31 out of 36 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 36 reviews

Walked Away ...

by Alive and well from San Antonio, Texas | April 10, 2013

Owned an 04 Limited. Loved it. 165000 miles with no major issues. Driving home from work, tire blowout at 65mph. Head first into concrete divider, rolled over once. When the world stopped spinning I got out and said I survived without a scratch. Built like a tank and saved my life.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Amazing vehicle! Sad to see her go!

by nurse on the move from Tucson, AZ | June 1, 2012

My husband and I bought the 06 SLT 4x4 durango in 2011. It was love at first drive for me. I have always driven big, lifted trucks. Then I became a mother and needed something practical. This Durango made me feel like I was in a big truck and could go ANYWHERE...AND IT DID, we took this up the mountains to camp/off road it did great, Daily driving was even better, we loved that we could pack the baby, family and still have room for the luggage, groceries etc. I have a long commute to work (47 miles one way) so I am getting a sedan...but will miss my durango very much. it was a great machine! IF you treat your vehicles right, service them when you are supposed to they will reward you with lots of fun!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Trouble free for over 5 years

by Durango Owner from Phoenix, AZ | March 8, 2012

Everyone I know who has owned a Durango loved it. Purchased ours new in 2006 and have had to do only routine maintenace. It drives like a car, the turning radius is amazing. Very comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great for the price

by recent durango owner from Sheboygan, WI | January 17, 2012

For towing capacity, comfort, power, and styling it's a 5 out of 5 stars. The only down side is it is a gas hog, but if you want the horsepower you have to expect to feed the ponies. Great deal on used ones most likely because of this though.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Hemi

by osuops from kissimmee | June 29, 2011

I bought this knowing the gas mileage would be bad, I don't care I just wanted a nice big SUV for my wife and this is the one. Drives great and has plenty of room and options. Uses regular gas and gets around 15 mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very good vehicle

by Randy from Powell OH | May 11, 2011

I needed a larger truck to pull my new boat. The Durango has a 9200 lb tow capacity, with a WDH. The Durango rated fairly highly in the reviews I read, with no major problems or recalls. I bought mine used, and I was looking at the SLT & Limited pkgs, the 5.7L Hemi comes standard with the Limitied pkg. I bought the Limited due to the price I got on this one. The heated leather seats, NAV system, pwr sunroof add nice touches to a very comfortable ride. It pulls my 8700 lb boat & trailer easily. When hooked up, it squats down evenly, rather than being tail-heavy, due to the independant leveling suspension. If you're looking for great gas mileage, this is probably not the SUV for you, it does not fare well, but it is a heavy vehicle. I've only owned this vehicle 4 months, but it's been a great truck so far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


One of my best cars so far

by Sky from North Carolina | March 29, 2011

I bought this car used, and I have no regrets so far. IT comes fully loaded with DVD player, navigation system, and multi-discs cd player. It has the form of a luxury vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Nice SUV

by Gary from Philadelphia, PA | November 11, 2010

I purchased my loaded 06 durango limited new and have only had it in the shop for routine service and new brakes. Very reliable, handles great like a much smaller SUV and the suspension is great. Love the power from the Hemi. Remote start and power liftgate are great. Friends with luxury SUVs that don't have these options are always jealous. Interior design is nice, but softer materials in key areas would be appreciated. Very roomy, including the 3rd row. Feels very secure in all sorts of driving conditions. I rent lots of cars/suvs for work and not much compares. Expedition was nice and has a smooth ride, but handling can be a little cumbersome in comparision.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most powerful vehicle I've owned

by Hemi Enthusiast from Abbotsford British Columbia, Canada | September 12, 2010

I leased this 2006 Durango LTD new and I can't part with it. I love the power and the AWD kisses the road. The premium leather is very comfortable and I look forward to long road trips. The MDS has allowed me to get 25 MPG Highway but only when when grandma drives. I have test drove the new 390 hp Hem's and can't notice much difference in power. This vehicle is very fast off of the line.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


GREAT SUV

by Flash from | August 19, 2010

I bought it brand new in Nov 06 and treid out the Hemi along with the Magnum and for the money(5k Hemi) I would still take the Magnum because speed wise they are baout the same.Gas mileage was 20mpg highway driving to S.W. Florida from New Hampshire.I have had many SUVS since 1980; Blazers,Eplorers,and Pathfinders.I love the Durango better than the rest and I have kept it longer 4yrs this November than any other SUV.I highly recommend it,but they no longer make them.BIG MISTAKE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 36 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2006 Dodge Durango.


Featured Services for this Dodge Durango

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.