1998 Dodge Grand Caravan

Change Vehicle

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  Grand Caravan Base shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$48–$6,220

Estimated MPG

16–19 city / 23–26 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Solid vehicle

by Loves Caravans from Westchester NY | September 22, 2012

Owned an older Grand Caravan for 10 years. This one is smooth and solid. No rattles. Love the dashboard and controls. Easy ingress and egress. Great all around vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The Most Reliable Van I have owned

by CountryGal from Batavia,NY | September 19, 2011

This van was built in Canada, and bought here in the states. I only had to put on new tires, and ocassionally brakes , and shoes, Other than that this van owed me nothing. It has been to California and Back to Batavia, NY 6 times in the last 4 years. The van has 250,000 miles on it and is still in tip top shape, mechanically sound, but a bit of rust. I now have down sized to a PT Cruiser, and not really happy with the PT Cruiser. The Van would get 34 miles to the gallon then and now.... and I wish I hadn't sold the van...and was worth the 18000 I paid in 1998.Safe and very reliable.Great for a growing family.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I don't recommend it!

by Disappointed Minivan Driver from San Francisco, California | January 27, 2008

This car has antifreeze leaking at about 20K miles driven. It had 2 recalls in the first two years. The brakes have problems. The front window inside is falling down. I do not recommend this vehicle to anyone! It was a big mistake that I made back then.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned

by Practical car/van fanatic from Hilton Head Island, SC | December 4, 2007

I bought a fully loaded ES new in June of 1998. I went with this van instead of the Town & Country Limited because they were essentially identical and had the same options & I was able to get the Dodge for $1000. less. My wife and I have driven this van 105,000 miles and since I purchased it I have never had it back to the dealer for ANYTHING! Total repair cost in almost 10 years was $65. to replace the outside temperature sensor. I did my first tune-up at 100,000 miles, my second set of tires still have most of their tread left, and I replaced the battery once. The paint job on the van is the best I've ever owned and I've driven top of the line Oldsmobiles & Lincolns. When I pick up new golfing buddies, they often ask if the van is brand new. I wouldn't hesitate to get into this van tomorrow and drive it across the country.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Comfort and Economy in a Mini Van

by Now loving Mini Vans from Portland, OR | July 13, 2007

Although I was reluctant to buy a big white mini van, especially since I'm only 30 and don't have any children, it turns out to be the most reliable and most comfortable vehicle that I've ever owned. I've never been one to care much about appearences but if your somebody that wants a distinctive looking vehicle or something high performance then these definitely aren't right for you. However if your looking for comfort, descent fuel economy and storage space then this van comes highly recommended. Although I purchased a 1998 model which is now almost 10 years old it still runs like new and has had to have very little invested in repairs. It has an extremely spacious, comfortable interior that seats seven if you don't pull the seats out. Although it's seats don't remove as easily as some of the newer vans with the stow-and-go seating, its still possible to get them in and out in under a minute and are fully removeable which is great for storage. It's also really nice when you want to extract a seat at the beach or fireworks for comfy outdoor seating. My V6 3.3 model can exceed 25 miles to the gallon on the highway and seems to average about 20 to 25 even in city driving. Although it's definitely not a trendy vehicle and can be hard to find in parking lots because between Plymouth, Dodge and Chrysler there seems to be an overabundance of these vans in any supermarket parking lot there seems to be good reason for their popularity. The only major fault that I can find with it is it's appearance which was quickly resolved after I put an ample number of bumper stickers on it:)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Over-protective Mom

by Stay home mom from San Francisco | November 17, 2006

Beautiful van! My kids grew up with this van. Good reliability, children friendly design, and very reliable for an American built car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Reliable, good value

by some guy from somewhere out there | November 15, 2006

I own a '98 Grand Caravan and have put 178,000 miles, and counting, on it. I've had a few repairs on it which is to be expected for this many miles, but for the most part this vehicle has been very reliable, and a great value for what I originally paid for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most reliable and family friendly!!!

by Family-Man from Los Angeles | November 14, 2006

Great car! No problem for 8 years of driving. Comfort, reliable, good handling and nice styling. A great car for family.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Grand Caravan

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.