2003 Dodge Grand Caravan

Change Vehicle
2003 Dodge Grand Caravan
Available in 8 styles:  2003 Dodge Grand Caravan FWD Passenger Van shown
Asking Price Range
$1,072–$8,388
Estimated MPG

17–19 city / 23–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

This vehicle

by Lady Tee from | April 26, 2013

This vehicle is not as it appear to be. The information need to be corrected. I drove a good distance thinking the car was ok, very disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


The best mini van out there!

by phebert27 from Moundsville, WV | June 22, 2012

We own the 2003 Dodge Grand Caravan and have had absolutely the best family trips in it. It's a comfortable ride! We maintain it with oil changes every 3k mile and the other maintenance that come up, like air filter, etc. It has never let us down and we are approaching 250,000 miles. We are looking at replacing it with a newer model, sadly though AWD is no longer an option which is not good. We loved that feature, never had any trouble driving in the snows of the north. Get this van Dodge is the best!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


bad model for dodge

by Pete from | July 15, 2011

I have owned every model minivan that dodge has made. I bought a 2003 dodge grand caravan new and from the beginning I did not like the trans ( it didn't shift into overdrive smoothly). After 68,000 miles the trans suddenly stopped working and it was replaced. 15,000 miles later, the engine started nocking ( bent rod). So after 8 years of properly maintaining it and getting frequent oil changes, it dies. I am a total mopar guy, but after 2 minivans quitting on me ( this being the second) I am highly considering buying a Toyota or a Hyundai. Although I do love the new Durango, I do not want another car to fail me so quickly. If you want to purchase this model car, great! But get rid of it before 70,000 miles or pay for a whole new drivetrain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Great ride!

by Van Fan from Seattle | June 27, 2011

Super comfortable and smooth handling! It's great as a family vehicle. Would buy again in a heartbeat!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Grand Caravan

by Van Mom from | April 29, 2011

Great for hauling kids especially with the DVD! No major problems and owned one for 6 years. Not bad gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2003 grand caravan

by rich from Rancho Cordova | April 30, 2010

After 2 months its acting up on the tranee,its making a aloud banging noise when going in the low gear before coming to stop.so when i come to the stop sign i try not to apply brake from 300yards , i stop it suddenly so that tranee does not have a chance to do that.1st american car and now the peoblem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


AWD is great in snow

by Grand Caravan Owner from Clarence Center NY | January 29, 2010

Bought this used with 83,000 miles on it. Have replaced the steering rack ($1000) and serviced the transmission (a quick learn because of hard downshifting) along with other smaller repairs. The AWD is superb in the snow, too bad they don't offer it anymore!Nice van,my third Dodge Caravan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


questionable reliability and value

by automaniac from Seattle, WA | August 4, 2009

Although fully-loaded with features and an attractive used price, the 2003 Dodge Grand Caravan eX we purchased used in 2004 with 22K miles has had more than enough visits to the repair shop to guarantee this is the last Dodge/Chrysler vehicle we'll be buying. The items we needed to have repaired included an "electronic brain" that blew effectively not allowing the car to start and drive or have any other features, such as windows, etc. operate. Luckily, this was an item covered by the manufacturer's warranty! Body hardware integrity is lacking, the car rattles and shakes worse than a '89 IROC Camaro convertible crossing railroad tracks, and it recently has developed what might turn out to be the dreaded Caravan "transmission shudder of doom" (which means the transmission is likely going to tank on us)! The van only has 60-something thousand miles on it now! The spouse and I have resigned to driving this thing until it pukes, however, we both figured that'd be maybe 200,000 miles. At this rate, we may be lucky to get it to 80,000. Fuel economy in the city is laughable - sometimes gets down to 11-13 mpg! Road trips on the highway (60-70mph) nets up to 19-20mpg. We paid in the neighborhood of $23,000 for this van which had a MSRP of over $35,000. I am doubtful now whether it is worth $8,000 now, even in great operating condition. But here's the good stuff: the kids like the DVD player, my wife likes sitting up high to see over traffic, the power is enough to get us up and over hills and passes on road trips, stereo not bad for a factory stereo, folding seats offer a lot of flexibility with cargo options, the roof rack is handy, and the looks are not dated even after Chrysler redesigned the minivans a couple years ago.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Good Family Truckster

by Family_of_6 from | May 18, 2009

Hey, this minivan has done it all from pulling the pop up camper, to hauling 5 bikes on a hitch mounted bike rack to hauling: lumber; 4'x8' plywood pieces, 4'x10' drywall pieces (back door open on that one), a washer & dryer; two dishwashers. It has been to tailgating parties, across Lake Michigan in a ferry boat up into Canada for skiing and down to Washington DC all with a family of six. It has 80,000 plus miles on it and it is still going strong. I would not do any of this family travelling without that back seat DVD player, however.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


disappointed

by DisAppointedWithDODGEandChrysler from Dallas,TX | February 28, 2009

bought brand new, had to change transmission just over 60000 miles dealer did not take warranty....very disappointed will never buy dodge/chrysler

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Grand Caravan

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.