2005 Dodge Grand Caravan

Change Vehicle

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2005 Dodge Grand Caravan FWD Passenger Van shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,393–$9,985

Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 25–26 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

The Van is awesome

by Lizzy825 from Batavia, NY | July 6, 2013

I just gave up a 1998 Dodge Grand Caravan with 350,000 miles on it... and went into the new stow-n-go Grand Caravan.....and love it. Drives and handles like a car.....and hope to have it for another 6+ years. Bought it from Jack Grainy in Clarence,NY, who looked high and low for a Caravan that would meet my needs.....Love this van...with sliding doors @ a push of the fob....just great on mileage, 28 gallons highway, which is the bulk of my driving....and 18 in the city. Great caravan. :-)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Get it

by FishDude from | September 1, 2012

Its got Really great mpg, storage is great, safe.....just get it. people say they dont like vans cause of the style. Its still a great car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


dependable........... very good cond.

by runabout from michigan | June 13, 2012

this is a sxt model. stowaway seats.. good tires . this car is well maintained.. driven by the owner only.....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable for 200,000 miles

by Family of 5 from NE GA | May 8, 2012

Owned this vehicle for 7 years and put 199,954 miles on it. At 100,000 had a passenger side locking mechanism get stuck in the locked position. Dealer replaced some parts $380 and no other issues. At 145,000 had a valve spring break $1200 engine repair. At 160,000 I replaced rear shocks to regain the original smooth ride. Very roomy and comfortable for all 200,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


we've had 5 grand caravans

by hemi guy from fort myers,fla. | April 11, 2011

these are great vans with the 3.3 in the sport version. and 3.8 in the stx. they are good for at least 250,000 mi. with normal service, with no trouble at all. we're are going to buy our sixth shortly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Exellent car for the past 5 years

by David from Thousand Oaks, CA | December 8, 2010

We have had our Grand Caravan for about 5 years now and it has been very reliable and very comfortable to drive on long trips. Gets real good gas millage for all that it can do. We are a family of 6 and this car has always had enough room to meet our needs. The seats fit great and driving is a pleasure with the firm solid feel the van has. Well built car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


It Runs Well

by Forcedintoit from Stroudsburg, PA | October 12, 2010

The Good, I brought my 2005 Dodge grand Caravan SXT, used in March of 2008 with 43,000 miles on the clock As far as a road car, this thing can't be beat. It is comfortable and smooth over highway joists almost to the point of putting you to sleep or numbing you into mindless driving. The HVAC system is top notch when it works. I now have over 94,000 miles on the odometer. The Bad, So far I've replaced, the egr valve, and O2 sensor, the A/C compressor, sway bushings, a set of tires, brakes, clockspring, a couple of recalls and numerous oil changes. Now I'm getting the infamous rust on the hood edge. For a five year old vehicle, I've spent more money for repairs than any other vehicle I've owned in the same amount of time. I have the 3.8 v 6 and always wish I had a more responsive engine/trans combo. Conclusion, For comfort, it can't be beat, for performance and better reliability, look elsewhere or you'll be spending a lot of time at the dealership for "little" things.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


A good car

by Van lover from Kansas City, KS | August 27, 2010

I had previously owned a 1997 Dodge Grand Caravan and while I enjoyed the creature comforts of the vehicle there were several nagging problems with it. the windshield wipers didn't work properly, and it had a history of major repairs that often left us stranded. After doing due diligence I discovered that my best bet was another Dodge Grand Caravan. The deal maker is the drive train. no intervention engine, supposedly the transmission issues have been solved and the 3.8 engine seems to be a very solid engine. I also love the stow and go seats. In my old van I had to take seats out and then put them back in all the time. With this vehicle, a few seconds and everything is ready to go, or be restored. The downside is that they've cheapen up the interior considerably. No fabric on the doors, all plastic now, fewer functions on the overhead display and just generally cheaper. That said, if the engine in this pup holds out as long as the old one and gives the same levels of comfort, it will have been a good purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great car

by van fan from Springfield | August 12, 2010

Have owned 3 grand caravans. Only brand I will buy. If you want a van that is moderately priced, low maintenance and has a great resale value you need to buy a grand caravan. Handles great, looks great and gets great mileage for a larger vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A Good Buy for the Money

by Papadaddy from Kansas | January 22, 2010

We bought our 05 Grand Caravan SXT at 75000 miles. It now has 115000 with no problems to mention. Power steering makes a lot of noise but other than that it has been a very solid vehicle, at half the price of Toyota or Honda when buying used. The concave shape of the body makes for more room inside for our 3 boys, which is much appreciated. They took that away on the new ones, so maybe the older is better!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Grand Caravan

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.