2008 Dodge Grand Caravan

Change Vehicle
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan
Available in 3 styles:  2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger Van shown
Asking Price Range
$5,919–$15,143
Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 23–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

23 out of 36 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 36 reviews

Excellent vacation vehicle

by Traveling Mom from Charlotte, NC | August 10, 2014

This van is so comfortable for long trips. It has plenty of cup holders--a must for my family-- and outlets for all their technology. I drives so smooth. The radio with bluetooth is also great. I love the automatic doors and liftgate.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


No more chrysler products for me

by bummed out Caravan owner from Savannah Ga | June 27, 2014

Have owned a dodge van for 32 years buying some new some used. I have spent more on the 2008 Van than I did on all of may other vans together ( 6 total ). Now my AC is not working and after looking up the complaints on the internet it appears My lemon has gotten more sour. I have have every issue listed as a complaint except for transmission. Its a shame that a manufacture can have all these issues with a vehicle and nothing gets done. Stop buying Chrysler product or they will keep doing the same. Remember we are the " suckers" who got a poorly made product. I was one of those owners who had bad brakes and I paid to have them fixed and then the recall came out. I was advised to send them the bill and they would send me a check for the repairs. They called me to inform me that to get a check I would have to let them keep 50.00 dollars for pay my claim. If I said no to this I would not get paid. They have a defective product I paid to get fix and they get to keep 50.00 to send my a check to fix there problem When will the madness stop. Stop buying anything that Chrysler makes, Losing money talks to shareholders who own a company that sells inferior vehicles

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Great vehicle and great deal!

by Dodge family from Kiel, WI | March 5, 2012

This vehicle has great storage capacity and still room to fit 7 comfortably. It handles wonderfully and has many of the features our family needs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


great buy

by ghost from el paso, texas | January 16, 2012

I own the 3.3 . very comfortable ride, really appreciate the child safety features, example child car seats build in. Lots of room. lots of storage. It does not drive like a mini van , it gives the reliability of an SUV , go anywhere do anything attitude. Great on Gas, 20 mpgs plus. The fuel/flex is a great way save money, every penny helps.. I bought my GC with 50,000 miles and have no complaints. Although do suggest dvd player for kids and captain seating with the storage build in table. also towing package will come in handy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


It's a minivan

by dinkum thinkum from Texas | January 7, 2012

I have had 2008 GC SE for about 3 1/2 years. I was shopping for various brands, but eventually got Dodge because it was the best deal at the time. Initially the van, manufactured in Canada, showed multiple assembly issues, like rear bumper cover not correctly attached, falling off seat trim pieces, stripped thread on the armrest bolt, twisted seatbelt, and a factory dent on the B pillar interior. Shows that the Canadian workers can have a bad day every now and then. Fortunately, the dealer fixed everythig promptly, and I even got a loaner car. There were a few minor recalls that were also handled quickly by the dealer. Otherwise, the major thing that failed just after 3 years at about 22k miles were front and rear brakes. It was just outside 3-year warranty extension, so I had to replace them myself for about 250. At about 3 1/2 years the battery died. I was used to batteries lasting 5 to 7 years so that caught me by surprise. Anyway, it is cheap to replace. I like the rear Swiver 'n Go seats. They are very comfortable, especially compared to Stow 'n go seats. I like that I can put a 4x8 sheet on plywood inside and still slose the gate. Same for 10' long 2x4s. I have 2 kids and the interior still looks very good after all this time. At close to 25k miles the original tires are getting close to needing replacement. It is in line with my previous cars (Fords), which needed new tires after about 25k to 35k miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


DO NOT BUY A GRAND CARAVAN

by jayrodkc from Overland Park, KS | January 1, 2012

Purchased a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan for five thousand less than the Honda Odyssey I looked at and regretted it. We only had the Caravan for one year and in that time grew to thoroughly dislike it. First gripe was the breaking system. I was on the highway with my family and had to emergency stop. Instead of a normal ABS thump-thump-thump, the breaks went mushy and it felt like we had zero control. Very scary. Next was when my wife was on a long road trip and the AC quit. Then the driver-side front door lock quit working. The van feels like it is held together with duct tape and gum. Yesterday I finally got sick of it and traded it for an Odyssey. There is no comparison, the Honda is twice the vehicle the Dodge was and you can just feel how much better built it is. Better build quality, fit and finish, amenities, quieter, better resale, etc... If you are considering a Grand Caravan rather than an Odyssey because of the price, take some advice and just spend the extra five grand and get something that won't fall apart on you. I will NEVER purchase another Dodge anything!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Fourth and last Chrysler van

by Southernlefty from Camden, SC | October 26, 2011

We've had an '88 Caravan, a '93 Grand Caravan, a '99 Grand Voyager and finally the '08 piece of junk Grand Caravan SXT. The ONLY two things I liked about it are the redesign of the engine bay(Everything is easily accessible compared to how the '99's engine is halfway into the dash), and the stow and go seats are nice. The van has been in the shop for numerous stupid recalls, transmission has been serviced but still shudders, the sheet metal is like foil (a little bit of hail dinged the heck out of it), it has a constant pull to the right even after being aligned and tires rotated. The Dodge dealer said it's designed to do that. The ride is very harsh compared to our '99. The interior is cheap, cheap, cheap. I know all cars are plastic but this is junky cheap plastic. The carpet is impossible to vacuum without an industrial vacuum and a lot of time. Fortunately we got a stupid good deal on it and I was able to trade after only two years of ownership and had some good equity in it. It only had 39,000 miles when we sold it. Figured I'd better cut and run before anything happened. It was certified pre-owned and had a great warranty, but I just don't have time to drag it to the shop a lot. We still have the '99 Grand Voyager with 136,000 miles and I like it a lot better. It's been handed down from one daughter to the next. It's sad that Chrysler had a good thing going and cheaped out on it. Just read the other reviews and heed the warnings.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Worst vehicle I have ever owned

by No more Chryslers from Buffalo, NY | September 13, 2011

Complete brakes, rotors and pads, front and rear at 20k. Have to service brakes now every spring and fall so calipers do not seize. 3 recalls. Transmission leak started at 40k. Still not resolved after 8 visits to the service dept. Under warranty BUT have been without vehicle 15 days. Just replaced both front wheel bearings at 45k. Not a warranty item. Truly this is the least reliable vehicle I have ever owned with $2000 in repairs in 3 years at LOW mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


another great vehicle

by ziggy from fort myers,fl. | August 8, 2011

This is our sixth grand caravan we've owned. My wife and i each drive one.They have been trouble free, and each has gone over 150,000 mi. they out ride any car, with plenty of room to haul about anything, since they all have been stow&go seating. This van is a '08 swivel&go, with a table that you can put up between the second and rear seats. we love them!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Heard bad luck but LOVE my VAN very reliable

by Vanessasgrammy from Allentown PA | July 20, 2011

We have 36,000 on our 2008 and only problem ever had we brake pads at 22K and the Chrylser extended warranty coverage because of break deficiencies, covered all but $100 of brake job. NO problems with anything else and we get 19mpg city and 32 on expressway! Hard to beat. Daughter had problems with her Town & COuntry sliding doors and found mice ate the wires so the INSURANCE company paid for it in full! LOVE THIS CAR---we leased it new and are going to buy it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 36 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan.


Featured Services for this Dodge Grand Caravan

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.