2001 Dodge Intrepid

Change Vehicle

2001 Dodge Intrepid

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2001 Dodge Intrepid 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,288–$6,672

Estimated MPG

18–20 city / 26–29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Issues with test drive

by Buhbye2u from West Allis, WI | October 20, 2013

On 10 /19/2013 I took this Intrepid on test drive and it was making extremely loud noise coming from the rear end make sure you find out what was wrong with it before buying

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Hate the 2.7

by Schwan from | January 17, 2013

This was my first car, I bought it with 149k on it in great condition. I had it for 2 months before I was replacing the water pump which is inside of the engine itself and everything needs to be taken out in order to get to it. After a thousand dollars I got it running again for about a year and then the engine blows on me. Took it too a mechanic and a filter got clogged with slugged and the timing chain broke and bent all of the rods with it. It had a nice ride but, it is just a money pit after awhile

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


2002 Intrepid R/T's

by Mr. Intrepid from Albany, N.Y | July 13, 2012

The nickname is real... I've had 3 '02 Intrepid R/T's, a 2000 R/T, and, a 2002 ES, and 1994 Base Model Intrepid - ALL w/ 3.5l, or 3.5l H.O. (R/T's) engines. No 2.7l's. All were bought used w/ less than 30,000 1-owner miles, except the original '94, ordered (to get a 3.5l engine) new on 10/18/93 (delivered on 12/09/93), and 1 '02 R/T bought w/ 67k. Other than test drives of other cars, and work suplied vehicles, I've driven only Intrepids, by choice, since 12/93, and only R/T's, since 2/04. Maintenance can get expensive on Intrepids, because they last so long. (201k+, 113k, & 108k at accident loss, on 3, and 131k on the over heated loss, all still going strong, 'til being killed) However, the only non-maintenance item ever needed was a new engine due to rapid total coolant loss, and trying to make the next exit in 93 degree weather. (It was only another 1.3 mi., but, when I stopped her, she never ran again.) Repairmen claim the 3.5's were "pretty much bulletproof... UNLESS you really overheat them." The '02 R/T's were the epitome of the Dodge Intrepid line; all Intrepids having excellent styling, capacity and handling, esp. for their size -- the R/T's took things up a notch, w/ stiffer suspensions; wider 225/70-17 tires (vs. 225/60-16); upgraded, faster-response steering pumps; and, a 244 H.P., 250 ft/lbs of torque H.O. uprade to the 234 H.P./248 torque standard 3.5l, using short/long fuel rail technology. Any of the 3.5l engines moved the Intrepids well... the H.O. engines also did it relatively effortlessly (55 mph never reaching 1700 rpm, 65 @ about 21-2200 rpm; and on rolling type roadways, not flat), w/ better gas mileage in actual usage, than the standard 3.5's, in the ES and (upgraded) base models. Why go for the '02? They were the last of the breed (only 2000 - '02), and benefited from all earlier improvements, incl. the highest H.P. & torque, and, even gas mileage w/ continual refinements to the computers for the manumatic transmission and fuel delivery programs. Plus, while the standard equipment list was already the longest on R/T's over any other trim, starting w/ an ES, and then adding upgrades; but, most "options" that were available on '00 & '01 R/T's (not the moonroof, leather seating, CD-changer or full-size spare, but, everything else), actually became standard on the '02. Why did I have so many? During 2008-10, I was "overtaken" (the other vehicle moves into the lane you occupy, where you occupy it!), by a tractor-trailer, a huge honkin', blinged-out Escalade, an appliance delivery "box" truck, and a small (but, not a van) school bus. None were my fault, each other driver claimed to not see me there, but, each was in the process of passing me... and, Intrepids are NOT small cars!); however, I still lost a car to each accident, and, immediately set out in search of another. Intrepid R/T's were "replaced" w/ the SXT's, in the latter half of '02, continuing until "04... but, they weren't even close. SXT's started as base models, that were upgraded to better-than-ES suspensions, but not R/T's level, w/ the 3.5l H.O. engine (upped to 250/250), and no manumatic (std. on R/T), was even available, as an option. Anybody out there have a nice 2002 Intrepid R/T, they'd like to sell, now? With the way traffic is getting these days, I'm also afraid to buy anything brand new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car!

by RT Driver from Wisconsin | March 22, 2012

We bought the R/T new and have done very little maintenance on it. Handles great in snow w/good triple tread tires and rides real nice. Style is great! Only replacement of water pump and a tie rod in 142,000 miles. Other than that, just general maintenance (e.g., oil changes, belt replacements, flushes, etc.) It just started having issues w/'warm starts' - speculation is something with the sensors. As w/technology...it can't be tested unless they can run diagnostics on it when it is acting up. One could pursue this, but it may be the start to 'trickle maintenance' that may start nickel and diming us. Due to mileage on the car, we are opting to trade it in. Our only complaint is that of others...the location of the battery! One has to have it put up on hoist in order to change the battery. I saw that they are still putting the battery for the 2012 Avenger there. Sure wish they would still manufacture Intrepids. Our choice of car to replace the Intrepid R/T will be the Charger SXT (battery is under the trunk (like the spare tire). Hoping the dealer 'works w/us re:$$$ - Oh so EXPENSIVE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nicest car I have owned.

by Love My Car from Cincinnati, Ohio | December 6, 2011

The leather interior is nice. The body style is what I like the most, it is sleak! I like that it came with a 4 disc cd player!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Overall quite economical and comfortable

by Old Al from Cumming, GA | April 25, 2011

I took delivery of this vehicle as a new company fleet leased vehicle, driving it about 70,000 miles for business and then bought it off lease for $2665 upon retirement. I drove it for another 60,000 miles, just recently trading it in on a new Honda Ody. The only trouble I had with it was that the water pump needed replacement at a cost of nearly $900 since the car is hard to work on. It gave great gas mileage, averaging in the mid-20's locally and nearly 30 mph on the highway. The water pump replacement was done at about 95,000. The Intrepid was the best car I ever owned, truly exceptional for a Chrysler product. My previous 1999 Chrysler 300M was a maintenance nightmare, by comparison.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


01 Intrepid SE

by HarleyGirl from St. Louis, MO | June 21, 2010

Roomy, great ride, dependable. A great car. Only thing...the driver's side inside door handle broke once...made of plastic. Other than that...great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best all around car I've owned

by Like this Dodge from Indianapolis, IN | July 9, 2009

Very comfortable car - rides smoothly and is a great road car. Mileage on the road is 29-30 mpg and gets about 20 - 21 mpg in town. Acceleration is average - nothing to brag about. Purchased car used (rental) with 26K miles on it. Now has 120k and is going strong. Minor issues like an oil leak via the that sensor needing replaced. Car sits low which is a plus driving - low drag, etc. but as I get older a bit of an issue getting in and out. Overall it has been a very good vehicle requiring just good basic maintenance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Completely Satisfied

by Travel'n man from Sacramento, CA | December 5, 2008

My Intrepid has turned out to be a real gem! The great looks are obvious, but it has been one of the most reliable cars I have ever owned. Never had a major repair and still runs great, no issues with the engine at all. It could use a little more power with the 2.7 L V6, but with 29 MPG on the Hwy, I can live with it. No problem getting onto the freeway or passing anyone. This car has super comfortable seats in roomy cabin and a big trunk. It also has lots of premium features for a car in this price range. Definitely would reccomend this car to a friend. Everything you could want in a dependable family car with some STYLE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Lousy 2.7 engine

by GTO fan from Lebanon, PA | September 4, 2008

Great looking car, but were just told the engine needs replaced. Has 104,000 miles on it. Our mechanic told us these are notorious for that. He found metal fragments in the oil, said this isn't the first one he's encountered. It started out with a tapping sound, like the engine was low on oil, but it wasn't. Tapping would go away, but come back. Came back with a vengeance a couple weeks ago, wasn't exactly the "death knock", but might as well have been. We bought this used, wish I had known they have this problem. The body of the car is still in great shape, love the looks, the shape, just don't know if it's worth putting another motor in. Will not put another 2.7 in though. That is entirely too small for that size car. My wife loves the car and will miss it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Intrepid

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.