2008 Dodge Ram 2500

Change Vehicle
2008 Dodge Ram 2500
Available in 20 styles:  2008 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 Regular Cab 140.5" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$13,471–$39,271
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

DZELL

by DZELL from Alaska | March 19, 2012

Powerful truck for the price. No problems, love the ride and dependability. Dodge supported their product extremely well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2008 Power Wagon

by Edmonton Power wagon from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada | January 5, 2012

I have owned my PW for 2 yrs now and it's the best truck I have owned. I keep on reading reviews people wishing it had a cummins. The last thing I need is a 1300 lb engine weighing me down in the bush. The hemi is more than capable. It rides/hauls/tows and wheels like a truck should. If I want to save on fuel I'll by a smart car. If I want a truck with a cushy ride, I'll by an Impala and take the trunk lid off. Thanks Dodge for keeping an old idea going strong. No other production truck compares.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


BEST TRUCK EVER!

by Transformed Chevy Guy from Nebraska | February 7, 2011

This is by far the best truck I have owned. I have owned a Ford and a Chevy and this one tops both of them in ALL categories!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


The worst Vehicle I have ever owned Period

by TheSasks from Moose Jaw, Sk | July 6, 2010

First I had a 2004 Ram 1500 Laramie quadcab 4x4 hemi and it was a sweet ride and when we needed a truck to haul our new 34 foot travel trailer decided a 2008 Ram 2500 Megacab 4x4 would be the answer. Thats where things went bad, first this thing rides like a tank and just about knocks your filling out over bumps (why would any manufacturer spec tire pressures of 60f/70r in a truck that is rated to tow less than their own 1/2 tons)to start this 38 trips to the shop in 23 months. 3 windshield wiper motors, 3 blower motors, replaced intermediate steering shaft twice, all the steering components once and a couple twice and the truck still drives like it's on marbles and just wants to wander around, I got used to that but try that with a 34 foot trailer out back. Cruise control works only when it wants to, replaced all the doors and motors on the heater box and then had to replace the entire heater box assy and I won't even know if it works till it hits -35 this coming winter. Everything in the truck rattles or squeaks and the wind noise about makes you want to cut your ears off. The latest we are waiting for a new front wheel bearing and cruise control buttons the god only knows what will happen. The service managaer has admitted this is the worst truck he has ever seen. It is bad enough that Chrysler Canada extended the bumper to bumper from 60,000Km to the 100,000km of the power train but of course they won't replace the truck. I can't even count the number of hours of lost work taking this thing to the shop. And of couse the sales dept would gladly get me out of it for a measly 10 to 15k more for a 2008 quadcab diesel. Gotta love a truck that less than 2 years old is worth way less than half what you paid for it to trade in. This will be the last Dodge I own and I am stuck with this piece of junk for another few years till the loan gets rightside up. I fear whenthe warranty is gone in abt another month this thing will end up setting in the yard broken and I will still be paying through the nose for it and does Dodge care??? Only in your wildest dreams. I get sick to my stomach every time I get in this thing now and it is my daily driver.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Replacement truck

by Harried Harry from Las Cruces, NM | July 21, 2009

I bought my Dodge Quadcab 2500 4x4 Laramie used, with only 2400 miles. It was a demo. It has twice the power of my old '99 Chevy Silverado ext. cab with the 6.0 liter gas engine. The Dodge was purchased so I can tow my 28' fifth wheel and for travel to work (70 mile RT). I do a lot of geocaching so I needed something a little taller than my old Chevy (besides it had 154,000+ miles and I had already replaced a warped manifold). This truck has everything I want. Although the leather seats are stiff and give a rougher ride, they do wear well and are easy to clean. The extra center bins are great for storing things like maps. The DVD player in the back is great for long trips with my adult children. My two issues: 1) The GPS system is fairly old technology and requires a DVD. It can't be refreshed by PC; I need to buy a new disk for $200 from Dodge. The 2nd issue is with the particulate filter; it constantly clogs up even when I am driving at 70 for long distances (600 miles). The dealer (65 miles away) has worked on it numerous times, but it still clogs up. Other than these items, it is a great truck and the 4x4 works pretty well. Be aware that the 2500 is only a 3/4 ton, not like the Chevy 2500HD, which is a 1 ton. I miss the extra capacity, but I am making do. If I were to replace it, I would buy the 1 ton so a truck camper would fit better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Dodge Trucks Are The Very Best.

by Bucksaw-Logger from Missoula Montana | March 24, 2009

This Dodge 2500 Mega Cab,4x4,6.7 Cummins,6spd.auto, is the best of the best vehicle,I ever owned in 58 years,& I owned a bunch in my 58 years of life.I highly recommend any Dodge Truck,they are superior.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love My 2008 Ram 2500

by Diesel Driver from Sammamish, WA | December 18, 2008

I've owned this truck for a couple of months and have been very satisfied. Have logged a little over 1,800 miles without incident. Love the Cummins 6.7L diesel engine. What power! And the exhaust brake is incredible. Handling is excellent and visibility is great also. My truck is a regular cab and has a fabulous storage bin behind the seats along with extra hooks in the interior for hanging lots of items. The interior is nicely appointed. However, lots of plastic to look at. Kinda cheap looking. But all the controls are easy to reach and the cab is solid with no rattles or squeaks. Order the Popular Equipment Group which has the Infinity speaker upgrade. Well worth the purchase. The miles per gallon is so-so. Have been recording 13.5mpg around town and slightly over 16mpg on the road. This truck sits tall. So you want to order access steps. A must! There are grab handles on each door pillar. Some brands don't have them on both sides. The truck has a real rugged look which appeals to me. The ride is stiff. Slightly better with a trailer attached. I tried to order this truck with leather seating. But they don't offer it with the regular cab in the SLT. So I had the seat re-upholstered in leather. Glad I did. Much easier to clean than cloth. Is this the best truck out there? No, it's got older technology and feel to it. But for the purchase price, it's worth every penny. Besides, they've had fewer recalls than other brands in the 3/4 ton variety. I love this diesel. But it may not be for everybody. With it, you get a diesel particulate filter for the exhaust. It needs to self clean every so often and the only way to do that is to get out on the freeway and drive it hard. If you don't, you will be faced with service bills that could be in the thousands. I would think about exactly what your purpose is and select the diesel only if you will have this truck out on the freeway fairly often. This engine was not designed for grocery getting or local commutes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Ram 2500

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.